We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterview rooms - nice panorama but pretty rude and pushy staff”

Waterview Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waterview Guest House
Ranked #173 of 325 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Siegburg
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Waterview rooms - nice panorama but pretty rude and pushy staff”
Reviewed 24 March 2011

We had arranged and confirmed to have two waterview rooms for two nights - however, when we arrived, we were taken into a hostel on the other side of the road (apparently the hotel of an uncle or aunt) without further explanation and they very apparently lied to us that one of our rooms that we had originally booked had a water problem (whilst they just rented out the rooms to someone else who arrived earlier than we did despite us having confirmed our late arrival time). She promised us a waterview room (which ended up to be a room where you have to go outside on a balcony and then could kind of get a peak of the river sideways) :)

Whilst this was kind of hilarious, we were really upset with her pretending there is no big deal about this and pretending that she is giving us a great discount on the room....

However, the next day we got the best rooms that we had originally booked in the correct hotel which were really beautiful and had a great view of the river from a big balcony!!

I think staff should learn to be a lot less pushy there, they were only helpful when you wanted to book a tour with them but any other recommendations for dinner for example they didnt really care about...

I think the place has got potential but they got very complacent after having been in the Lonely Planet!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandS2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    19
    11
    6
    6
See reviews for
5
19
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2011

I stayed on 3 different occasions and each time the rooms were spotless, the rooms had everything you needed and expect TV, fridge, a/c and complementry water each day

The owner was always helpful and helped arrange tuk tuks, bus pick ups etcs .. and was forever smilling (as are the majority of Cambodians)

A good value hotel thats i a great location, take yr ear plugs as the disco over the road goes on till 2am

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CIA1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

We stayed here for a couple of days in late December 2010. It’s a good location but the rooms are small for the price plus there’s no breakfast. Small, dated ‘wet room’ bathrooms - which means everything gets wet when you shower and if you want to go in for a pee or brush your teeth later your feet get soaked – provision of a sponge, mop or even bath mat would be nice. Also you’re given tatty, thin washed out 'once white' towels. It’s seen better days but could easily be improved with a caring management. The broken shower fitting, bathroom door lock and window, letting in noise and mossies, in our room could easily be fixed but you get the impression no one cares. Its one of those places that sound OK in print but you’re disappointed with after arriving after a long, hot journey. Maybe they’re just resting on their laurels after a recommendation in Lonely Planet. After weeks of smiley, smart, super helpful staff throughout Vietnam this sour faced reception staff could do with a big dose of charm school. Also if you take a 'river view' room be prepared for a horrific view of 4 HUGE (illuminated at night - lovely) advertising billboards on the other side of the river.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RainbirdLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangeville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We arrived after traveling by bus from Phnom Penh and were a bit disappointed. Poor reception...just basically, check in and room. We then went to look for the pool which Lonely Planet had said existed as well as the website...hmmm...no longer any pool.
OK...and water view - our room has NO windows...view...Well..I think that after being there a few days, it is better not to have a window...lots of street noise and night market noise.

It is OK...very clean room. $25.00 gave us two double beds, fridge, AC, TV with a few good choices, bathroom (shower everywhere style) and you can book onward transportation easily.

Free Internet which sounds great but seldom worked properly...slow, no working...it would be better to pay a little and have it work properly.

Staff is OK when requests are made but otherwise pretty blah overall.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLAOrangeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2010

We arrived in Phnom Penh without a reservation, which was our modus operandi throughout our SE Asia trip through Thailand, Cambodia and Vietnam. We had shortlisted a few places using TripAdvisor reviews and we went to one of those places on the riverfront California 2. There was no vacancy there however and the owner recommended this place.

We got there and they had vacancy, so we checked out the rooms. The rooms were absolutely spotless, so we stayed. There was a nice, hot shower in the room, free bottled water provided, and a fast and free wi-fi network available throughout the premises. The service was extremely friendly though.

The only thing was that the hotel was a little pricey. They charged us 20 USD for a room with two double beds and air-conditioning, but no window. The no window thing really wasn't a problem for us because sunlight can be a problem in the morning when you've been up late drinking, but 20 USD is still a little pricey. We tried to bargain, but to no avail. So other than the cost, I have no complaints about this guesthouse and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again upon my next visit to Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vthuppil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2010

My husband and I arrived in Phnom Penh on the bus from Pakse with no accommodation booked. After walking around for around an hour we were having no luck with most places fully booked. We got in a tuk tuk (always get in a child safe tuk tuk) and asked him to take us somewhere nice near the river. Well the Waterview Guesthouse was it and we were not dissapointed. The lovely staff greeted us on arrival and then we were shown to a fantastic room on the top floor overlooking the river and street below, the climb to the room on the 4th floor was good exercise! The room had a Queen Size bed and spotlessly clean bathroom, along with a balcony. We were given a reduced rate which was fantstic. There are other lovely cheaper rooms some with no windows and some with windows looking out the back of the building (probably much quieter!) We loved our room, however the traffic noise below was pretty loud (we were warned) but loved the view so much we put up with it! just bring some ear plugs and you will be fine, otherwise get a quieter room at the back. There is an area downstairs with computers but when we were there they were not working, it seems that they have 1 computer with a web cam to use Skype which would have been useful considering the difficulties finding a decent internet cafe in the area. The wifi connection is excellent and available anywhere in the building, no need to ask for the password, it is all detailed near your phone in your room. There are many eateries surrounding the Guesthouse, but our reccomendation would be The Vicious Cycle Cafe a few strets away where you will get outstanding food and coffee, they also can arrange cycle tours. We found other food in the area bad quality and over priced. The touts and tuk tuk drivers along the riverfont are excessive and in your face constantly, it is best to cross the crazy road (be careful) and walk on the river side of the road if you are over touts and tuk tuk drivers for the day! There are also many beggars and this can be emotionally exhasting, always try and buy books or post cards (if you have room in your bag) from the guys in the wheelchairs, they work so hard and this is so much more dignifying for them than having to beg for an income.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daveandvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

Our tuk tuk driver from the airport failed to bring me the address I asked which I was quite annoyed about. Instead he brought me to a different hotel which was fully booked. So we set off on foot along the riverbank to find somewhere ourselves. Being totally exhausted from being in the airport all night we did not want to travel far. The first place we came to was the Waterview. It is fair to say that the reception and hallway don't really do the place justice but when we were shown the room we were won over.

The rooms were very clean and modern and they had lots of little conveniences for guests such as free drinking water daily, slippers, toothbrush. They also had cable tv and free wifi. We opted for the more expensive option with the balcony. This is because we had come from Malaysia were standards are much lower and rooms rarely have windows so this was a lovely change to have some natural light.

The staff at reception were also exceptionally friendly and really made you fell welcome. The location was also in walking distance to lots of great bars and restaurants. The only slight draw back was some of the noise from outside at nighttime, but we were so exhausted it never bothered us once.

We organised our trip to Siem Reap through the hotel and they receommended the New Riverside. We ended up staying here too as it was a fab hotel with a great free breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_with_Tina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 267 in Phnom Penh
2,463 reviews
0.0 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 267 in Phnom Penh
786 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#52 of 267 in Phnom Penh
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterview Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterview Guest House

Property: Waterview Guest House
Address: 151 Eo, St. Preah Sisowath | Sangkat Wat Phnom, Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 325 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Waterview Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Waterview Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing