We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay in Phnom Penh”

Waterview Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waterview Guest House
Ranked #168 of 322 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“My stay in Phnom Penh”
Reviewed 6 February 2013 via mobile

Location of the guesthouse was very good, facing the river. The room was clean, there was hot water, air conditioning, cable tv and wifi. The owner (a lady) was very accommodating, even assisted me in getting me a bus ticket to siem reap. Best part was, the pickup point for the bus was only 2 stops away.

Overall my experience and stay there was very good even though my room had no window.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfeanaeria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    19
    11
    6
    6
See reviews for
5
19
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chiswick, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

On paper the Waterview Guesthouse seems the perfect choice to make for you temporary residence in Phnom Penh. However, err on the side of caution. The room my girlfriend and I rented was mouldy and plagued by small flies and other six legged insects. During our 4 months travelling, insects have become an acceptable part of the travel experience but when paying a higher rate I don't expect the room to come with a blizzard of flies. The clear win for the room was its view of the river.

However, your appreciation for the river view will be drowned out by thumping techno beats from the bar a few doors down.

Concerning the staff, the reception from them on the first day was cordial at best, becoming frostier as the days wore on despite numerous attempts to strike up friendly conversation (our host spoke good english). By the 3rd day I'd given up and simply ignored them as they did us as it became apparent that, to them, we were just a means to an end. My girlfriend was completely ignored as she gave thanks upon our departure, our host simply turned her back on her and struck up a conversation with her family member or friend.
Until now I've not resented paying money that's due to any of the guesthouses, lodges, hotels, resorts and beach houses that I've stayed at; but as I handed over my $109 to the Waterview Guesthouse I resented it with every fibre of my being.

Like Johny Rotten once stated to his audience: "Do you ever feel like you've been cheated?"

Room Tip: Not all rooms have windows, but this might help with the noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheGordoAbides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
91 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Stayed here for three nights. Had one of the smaller room without windows, but this did not help regarding noise from the streets and nightlubs in the area. Heard loud music from downstairs until late at night, so get some earplugs. Room was clean, but with mold coming through the paint in places, and there were cracks and gaps in the bathroom walls.

The staff was very helpful in regards to booking tours, laundry and setting up transport to the airport.

Would probably stay here again, as location and staff were excellent, but they could do with some paint.

Room Tip: Just bring earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cerios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Our room here was nice and roomy with a good air con. We had a gorgeous balcony and a "river view" but only if you lean awkwardly to the left. Like most places in South East Asia, the shower is very close to the loo but this place had pink toilet paper! If you are getting off the Mekong River you will not need a $2 tuk tuk ride - don't be fooled - it's only a 2 min walk down the road despite what the drivers say! We were happy staying here but not pleased with the staff. Friendly enough but difficult to understand and communicate with. Breakfast wasn't included but there is a $2.75 buffet breakfast place just down the road.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZBrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

The location of this guesthouse can't be any better, right in front of the river and near to bars, restaurants and shops.

The staff is very friendly and the rooms are comfortable. The only problem is the poor WIFI in the rooms and the lack of breakfast but otherwise a great guesthouse. They also offer visa and ticket services which is very convenient. I left my big suitcase there for a week at no cost. Will stay here again

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfquintero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2012

It's hard to find a budget room with a window in this town but this place makes up for it with friendly family service. They will help with all kinds of info, book tours and busses like our hotel pick up to Kampot tomoz. Laundry service, wifi, waterfront, next to night markets, cafes, bars...I dare ya to find a fault.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Learnlovelive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

I stayed here in January 2011 and thought it was great. It couldn't be in a better location and the price was really cheap for our room. It was small and had no window but I certainly wasn't complaining for the price. The walls are paper thin but it wasn't too noisy during the night. The big plus was the staff. People generally tend to be laid back in Cambodia and these no nonsense staff were highly efficient and did everything we asked of them, This was a breath of fresh air after some hotels we have stayed in. I have seen some bad reviews of the higher rate rooms. I think the key here is to get a cheap room, don't expect the Ritz and enjoy a level of service unusual for this country. Would go back at the drop of a hat.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SPS30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#9 of 267 in Phnom Penh
2,440 reviews
0.0 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 267 in Phnom Penh
771 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#44 of 267 in Phnom Penh
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterview Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterview Guest House

Property: Waterview Guest House
Address: 151 Eo, St. Preah Sisowath | Sangkat Wat Phnom, Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 322 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Waterview Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Waterview Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing