We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterview Guest House

Waterview Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waterview Guest House
Ranked #182 of 333 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“OK?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2011

We stayed here for a couple of days in late December 2010. It’s a good location but the rooms are small for the price plus there’s no breakfast. Small, dated ‘wet room’ bathrooms - which means everything gets wet when you shower and if you want to go in for a pee or brush your teeth later your feet get soaked – provision of a sponge, mop or even bath mat would be nice. Also you’re given tatty, thin washed out 'once white' towels. It’s seen better days but could easily be improved with a caring management. The broken shower fitting, bathroom door lock and window, letting in noise and mossies, in our room could easily be fixed but you get the impression no one cares. Its one of those places that sound OK in print but you’re disappointed with after arriving after a long, hot journey. Maybe they’re just resting on their laurels after a recommendation in Lonely Planet. After weeks of smiley, smart, super helpful staff throughout Vietnam this sour faced reception staff could do with a big dose of charm school. Also if you take a 'river view' room be prepared for a horrific view of 4 HUGE (illuminated at night - lovely) advertising billboards on the other side of the river.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RainbirdLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    19
    11
    6
    6
See reviews for
5
19
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
329 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

We arrived after traveling by bus from Phnom Penh and were a bit disappointed. Poor reception...just basically, check in and room. We then went to look for the pool which Lonely Planet had said existed as well as the website...hmmm...no longer any pool.
OK...and water view - our room has NO windows...view...Well..I think that after being there a few days, it is better not to have a window...lots of street noise and night market noise.

It is OK...very clean room. $25.00 gave us two double beds, fridge, AC, TV with a few good choices, bathroom (shower everywhere style) and you can book onward transportation easily.

Free Internet which sounds great but seldom worked properly...slow, no working...it would be better to pay a little and have it work properly.

Staff is OK when requests are made but otherwise pretty blah overall.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TLAOrangeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2010

We arrived in Phnom Penh without a reservation, which was our modus operandi throughout our SE Asia trip through Thailand, Cambodia and Vietnam. We had shortlisted a few places using TripAdvisor reviews and we went to one of those places on the riverfront California 2. There was no vacancy there however and the owner recommended this place.

We got there and they had vacancy, so we checked out the rooms. The rooms were absolutely spotless, so we stayed. There was a nice, hot shower in the room, free bottled water provided, and a fast and free wi-fi network available throughout the premises. The service was extremely friendly though.

The only thing was that the hotel was a little pricey. They charged us 20 USD for a room with two double beds and air-conditioning, but no window. The no window thing really wasn't a problem for us because sunlight can be a problem in the morning when you've been up late drinking, but 20 USD is still a little pricey. We tried to bargain, but to no avail. So other than the cost, I have no complaints about this guesthouse and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again upon my next visit to Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vthuppil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

My husband and I arrived in Phnom Penh on the bus from Pakse with no accommodation booked. After walking around for around an hour we were having no luck with most places fully booked. We got in a tuk tuk (always get in a child safe tuk tuk) and asked him to take us somewhere nice near the river. Well the Waterview Guesthouse was it and we were not dissapointed. The lovely staff greeted us on arrival and then we were shown to a fantastic room on the top floor overlooking the river and street below, the climb to the room on the 4th floor was good exercise! The room had a Queen Size bed and spotlessly clean bathroom, along with a balcony. We were given a reduced rate which was fantstic. There are other lovely cheaper rooms some with no windows and some with windows looking out the back of the building (probably much quieter!) We loved our room, however the traffic noise below was pretty loud (we were warned) but loved the view so much we put up with it! just bring some ear plugs and you will be fine, otherwise get a quieter room at the back. There is an area downstairs with computers but when we were there they were not working, it seems that they have 1 computer with a web cam to use Skype which would have been useful considering the difficulties finding a decent internet cafe in the area. The wifi connection is excellent and available anywhere in the building, no need to ask for the password, it is all detailed near your phone in your room. There are many eateries surrounding the Guesthouse, but our reccomendation would be The Vicious Cycle Cafe a few strets away where you will get outstanding food and coffee, they also can arrange cycle tours. We found other food in the area bad quality and over priced. The touts and tuk tuk drivers along the riverfont are excessive and in your face constantly, it is best to cross the crazy road (be careful) and walk on the river side of the road if you are over touts and tuk tuk drivers for the day! There are also many beggars and this can be emotionally exhasting, always try and buy books or post cards (if you have room in your bag) from the guys in the wheelchairs, they work so hard and this is so much more dignifying for them than having to beg for an income.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daveandvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

Our tuk tuk driver from the airport failed to bring me the address I asked which I was quite annoyed about. Instead he brought me to a different hotel which was fully booked. So we set off on foot along the riverbank to find somewhere ourselves. Being totally exhausted from being in the airport all night we did not want to travel far. The first place we came to was the Waterview. It is fair to say that the reception and hallway don't really do the place justice but when we were shown the room we were won over.

The rooms were very clean and modern and they had lots of little conveniences for guests such as free drinking water daily, slippers, toothbrush. They also had cable tv and free wifi. We opted for the more expensive option with the balcony. This is because we had come from Malaysia were standards are much lower and rooms rarely have windows so this was a lovely change to have some natural light.

The staff at reception were also exceptionally friendly and really made you fell welcome. The location was also in walking distance to lots of great bars and restaurants. The only slight draw back was some of the noise from outside at nighttime, but we were so exhausted it never bothered us once.

We organised our trip to Siem Reap through the hotel and they receommended the New Riverside. We ended up staying here too as it was a fab hotel with a great free breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_with_Tina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2010

The rooms in this hotel were very clean and had everything you needed and expect for $15 a night (TV, fridge, a/c)

The lady owner was very helpful and always had a smile, she booked our buses for the remainder of our trip in cambodia and was always helpful when we asked any questions.

A good value hotel that does the job in a good central location.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nelly289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2010

We had nowhere booked arriving into phnom penh and we had read a review in Lonely Planet about this guest house, so we thought we'd check it out. We booked a taxi at the airport and asked to be dropped off at the central market, as we had heard that the taxis want to take you to their own guest houses and this turned out to be the case, however, this is not always a bad thing as some of the guest houses we have been taken to in this way have turned out to be ok too. Always make sure you ask the price of the room and check it out before you agree to stay, that way you will not end up in a room you are not satisfied with. We stuck to our plans this time though and got out of the taxi and with our Lonely Planet map we found the Waterside Guest House. It looks very simple from outside, a true backpackers type place, but the people on reception were very welcoming. There is free wi fi downstairs. Breakfast is not included. Our room was on the second floor and it had no windows, but it was clean and the bathroom was brand new and spotless. There was a TV and a big fridge and air con and for 15$ a night we thought it was excellent value. In fact as it can get quite noisy outside,. having no windows had the advantage of a good sleep as there was no noise. There is no lift and so you do have to contend with the stairs, but stairs are something you get used to in Cambodia. We booked our trip from here to the Killing Fields and it was reasonably priced. The location of the hotel was excellent. 2 mins walk from the night market and about 10 - 15 mins from the central market. Walking distance from the palace and bars and restaurants all nearby. We were heading to Siem Reap a couple of days later and booked our bus with the hotel. The bus ticket was 9$ and the hotel arranged for a minibus to the station at no extra cost. The lady at reception said that somebody would be waiting for us at Siem Reap to show us their hotels in that location, but there was no obligation to stay in them. As we had had a good stay we decided to take them up on this and were met by a tuk tuk driver called Met. (it's about 20 mins into the centre and he didn't ask for any money.)The first place he took us to was not suitable for us as we wanted to be nearer the bars and restaurants, but the second one he took us to was the Riverside. It was superb value for money at 15$ a night including simple breakfast (banana pancake - omelettes) and this place was brand new with the stickers still on the toilets.

If you are on a very tight budget, you will find rooms slightly cheaper, but we thought 15$ was excellent value for money in both.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madtours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,334 reviews
0.0 mi away
PRASATs Boutique Hotel
PRASATs Boutique Hotel
#37 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.0 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#2 of 274 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#19 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#34 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterview Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterview Guest House

Property: Waterview Guest House
Address: 151 Eo, St. Preah Sisowath | Sangkat Wat Phnom, Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 333 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Waterview Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Waterview Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing