We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Neighborhood, Average Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blue Dog Guesthouse
Ranked #36 of 327 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Neighborhood, Average Room”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I spent two nights at this hostel with my husband. It's located in a bit of an upscale local neighborhood that was a lot of fun to explore. There's a fitness center right a cross the street called "The Place" where you regularly see luxury vehicles parked. Because of its location, there is an increased level of security in the area.

The rooms themselves are pretty average. We had a small room with 3/4 height walls and this made it difficult to sleep at night with late nighters. If you book here, make sure you don't stay in room #2. We had a shared bathroom which worked as well as could be expected from a sharing standpoint and we did have hot water.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't stay in room #2 or specifically ask for a room with floor to ceiling walls!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CilantroAndSpice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    29
    28
    14
    13
See reviews for
2
35
52
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
George Town, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

I booked for a triple room at Blue Dog but we were sent to Heartwood Guesthouse (sister guesthouse) when we arrived.The room was clean, with AC, 1 ceiling fan, 1 stand fan, bathroom attached, hot shower and towels provided. Triple room is the only room on ground floor, near to living room and kitchen. Two computers available at the living room, free and fast internet connection. No free water but you can buy clean mineral water from the guesthouse, two big bottles for $1. No free pick up. $4 charged for a person from the airport to the guesthouse (I think it's a reasonable fee because the guesthouse located pretty far from the airport).
The tuk-tuk driver (Kok) speaks good English and he can speak Thai too. He brought us to some good local food/street food stalls since he knows that we're big fans of street food. We also took a tour for $20 (a group) to Killing Fields and S.21 Genocide Museum which include the entrance fees, breakfast/lunch and tuk-tuk fees. $9 charged for a day for Kok to bring us around Phnom Penh city in his tuk tuk. It's way more cheaper compared to other tuk tuk outside the guesthouse.
It's a 15 mins walking distance from the guesthouse to Independence Monument and 30+mins to riverside. Not a problem for us since we like to walk around and stop by some street food stalls along the way. There are quite a lot of fancy restaurants near to the guesthouse too.
Would come back again.

Room Tip: You can smell whatever they are cooking in the kitchen for triple room on ground floor. It comes thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brownpotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Its a truly new experience staying in a guest house for me,especially in cambodia where i cant speak the local language. we get a triple room for usd18 for 2 nights. air con, fan,toilet attached, hot shower and tower provided.

We booked blue dog but we were allocated at woodheart guest house, i guess it would just under the same owner?

We got the ,car&tut2 driver (Kok). He can speak English very well. We got no communication problem with him.

We asked him to bring us around and tried the local food.

Overall, it was a great experience staying in the blue dog/woodheart guest house.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leehoong86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Terrible. The 'manager' is a little kid that practically took the mick as soon as we walked through the door. For a room with two single beds, that was cockroach infested and where we had to ask for things such as pillows and towels (which should already be taken care of), we were completely ripped off. Dealing with a child was the worst thing. I asked for a single room and was told i would be charged $10 a night. Absolutely ridiculous. The sister guesthouse seemed to be more pleasant but unfortunately, they didnt have any rooms availible! Only staying one night. Refuse to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M-Cemal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Had a wonderful stay at Blue Dog, felt as comfortable as a home-stay. The cleanliness is well-maintained, due to the combined efforts of both the staff and guests.

Guests are considerate and quieten down during the night. The owner Rithy was very friendly and brought me and other guests to dinner and several other places. He even treated me to dinner when I was cash-strapped! There is also a long-term guest who has been there since February, his name is Arth, great company!

Recently, the owner opened a new guesthouse nearby(less than a minute away) that boasts design, cleanliness, quiet surrounding, and cheap rates!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Marcos, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

I stayed at the Blue Dog for over a month and I enjoyed every minute of it. It is a BUDGET hostel, so if you are looking for 5 star accommodations, look somewhere else. However, f you are looking for a clean, friendly, and homey atmosphere the Blue Dog is the place for you.

Rithy, the owner and his family live on the first floor and the guest's rooms are on the second. This makes the place safe and secure because you practically have to walk through the family's living space to get to the rooms, and the 10 ft entrance gate closes at 11pm promptly ( they give you a key to the padlock for the late night owls). Upstairs, the community living room makes for a nice lounging spot and a great place to meet friends. There are two computers w/ internet. It can be a little slow sometimes, but just be patient and it will work. The T.V. has more channels than you could watch in year and there is a decent dvd collection as well.

The food that Rithy cooks is great and cheaper than the surrounding restaurants, but not as cheap (or good) as street food. The bathrooms are clean, and have electric water heaters. Laundry is provided at a rate of $1.50/kilo. The rooms are nice and simple.

The location is what is best about this place. It is right in the middle of BKK1, the expat neighborhood. There are several nice, western oriented bars/ restaurants just a couple blocks away on 278 street. The guesthouses and bars ( top bannana and elsewhere) on that street are fun to drink at, but get very loud at night. Which is why I loved to go back to the peace and quite of the Blue Dog after a night out.

Some of the rooms ( the two $5 a night rooms in front) do share a wall with the living room and if there is a group of loud guests hanging out there, it can get a bit noisy. However, a simple "please keep it down" should solve that problem.

Just to reiterate, I loved the Blue Dog. Rithy, the owner, and his family are really nice and friendly. The Blue Dog's taxi driver, Kok, is one of a kind and can show you the best places in Phnom Penh. He knows the cheapest and best street food vendors in town. Take him out for lunch sometime, you will not regret it. Try the spicy noodle soup, or the fried noodle place (the one with the smoothies). He can also take you to any place you want to go in his car for almost tuk-tuk prices.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ag1524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed in the 3 bed loft room which has air conditioning and 2 fans plus a small bathroom. Tall people beware that this particular room has quite a low ceiling! It was perfect for what we needed. Service was good. Lovely family who are friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.8 mi away
Good Morning Guesthouse
Good Morning Guesthouse
#20 of 327 in Phnom Penh
153 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lazy Gecko Guesthouse
Lazy Gecko Guesthouse
#15 of 327 in Phnom Penh
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nawin Guesthouse
Nawin Guesthouse
#29 of 327 in Phnom Penh
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Number 9 Hotel
Number 9 Hotel
#33 of 327 in Phnom Penh
373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Home Chic Hotel
Home Chic Hotel
#8 of 327 in Phnom Penh
104 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sundance Riverside Hotel
Sundance Riverside Hotel
#51 of 327 in Phnom Penh
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Dog Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dog Guesthouse

Property: Blue Dog Guesthouse
Address: #13, Street 51 | Beung Keng Kang 1, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 327 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Dog hostel/guesthouse is right in the centre of Phnom Penh's famous Boeung Keng Kang district. That means when you stay with us, you're only minutes from all of the capital's best sights. Ten minutes' walk east and you'll find the Independence Monument, the Royal Palace and the riverside, head a kilometre south and you'll find the Genocide Museum and BKK market. For clean, affordable accommodation, we've 4 private rooms and 3 mixed and 1 female only dorms that back onto a common chill out area and balcony for a lazy afternoon. Our staff speak great English, (even the western ones!) and will always be willing to help you out with a smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HostelWorld so you can book your Blue Dog Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Dog Guesthouse Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing