We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lot of potential but not yet there!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Dog Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Dog Guesthouse
Ranked #45 of 333 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lot of potential but not yet there!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

this is the second time iv stayed here now. The last time was in november 2012. I liked the place alot the first time around and thats why i came back. Its in a really good location and the prices are very fair for what they offer. They have a nice bar down stairs which is full of people so a great place to meet people as i was by myself. Overall a nice place to stay but i would avoid staying there for at least a few months as they are doing some major building works and it wasnt great waking up at 6/7am every day to walls coming down!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank george a abraha... a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    28
    28
    13
    13
See reviews for
2
34
50
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

The place was ok...the staff were really friendly and helpful. There is a pub downstairs, so get your room here if you'll be in there a lot or simply be prepared to hear the noise and inhale the cigarette smoke.

Ask each day to have the room refreshed. The internet was pretty reliable.

Room Tip: Perhaps going up further past the receptionist desk, and up the stairs, will help with the noise and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LatoyaBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

I stayed at a five different places while I was in Phnom Penh. Some were more expensive, some were cheaper, and Blue Dog Guesthouse was by far the best of them all (I stayed 7 nights). The rooms are fine, the price is right, but its the STAFF that make this place the best. they were all consistently the friendliest, most engaging, and helpful guesthouse staff I've encountered anywhere. Both in the bar/restaurant downstairs and in the guesthouse upstairs, everyone was really lovely and accomodating at every point. I'm totally into this place.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 2 which had the added bonus of being a room with a padlock, so I felt totally comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

15$ for a room. The beds were so old you could see the springs coming out of them. The windows weren't even sealed so we got eaten alive by mossies all night. You could see the bar through the floors downstairs. They would stop and play the music so loud all night. We ate dinner there, was pretty good. Had breakfast the next morning, paid almost 3$ for 1 single bagel with cream cheese, and the WORST coffee I've ever tasted... It was thick and gritty. Overall not a good experience, and not worth the money at all.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle8001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

My brother and I are traveling through Southeast Asia, and when arriving to Phnom Penh, we took trip advisors 'advice' and chose blue dog to spend the only night we had in the city. Great choice. Perfect, clean, spacious and comfy room! Price for a dorm was 5usd each, or usd10 for a private. We choose the last option, and we were extremely happy with everything. The girl working there helped us with everything, she had a constant smile and perfect attention for what we needed! And if this wasn't enough, we went to the bar and the bartender was also really nice, gave us a free shot for the new year! And we chilled a lil' bit as the at atmosphere was perfect for it. DEFINITELY the place to stay in Phnom Penh!
Good work everybody!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

I arrived here 2 weeks ago thanks to a friend who recommended me to stay in this place. Unfortunately, I lost all my belonging on the road, including my passport, my money, etc. 5 days after my arrival.. However, all the staff have been awesome with me.

Knowing I had money issue until I got a new passport, Rose, one of the manager, paid me lunches many times as well as other staff people and helped me a lot. I've even been invited to the maid's family at the countryside to celebrate the new Cambodian year. It was amazing!

I slept for free on a bed reserved to staff for few days and thanks to the bar downstairs (where I spent incredible time there), I met someone who offered me to stay at his place for free.. "Sharing is Caring" is what he said and that's definitively the motto of Cambodia soul.

Basically, I lost everything, but I get a family.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathieu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

Really good find this. Surprised it's not higher up the rankings in Phnom Penh (was #50 at time of writing this)

I headed down to this part of town, initially hoping to stay at 'Top Banana' which is just around the corner. They didn't have any room, so suggested Mini Banana and here to us.

I really wouldn't waste your time with Mini Banana, it was a dump, this place is much better.

Paid $10 a night for a private room with double bed and fan. Room was clean and pretty quiet.

There is a really good bar downstairs with a free pool table and wifi. The owners and staff and really friendly and helpful.

The hostel is rough walking distances from the following:

Sisowath Quay: 15 mins
Grand Palace/Silver Pagoda: 10min
Indpendence Monument: 5mins

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
2.9 mi away
Good Morning Guesthouse
Good Morning Guesthouse
#17 of 333 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.6 mi away
Homeland Guesthouse
Homeland Guesthouse
#71 of 333 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Grey Guesthouse
The Grey Guesthouse
#88 of 333 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mini Banana Guesthouse
Mini Banana Guesthouse
#37 of 333 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
1.7 mi away
139 Guest House
139 Guest House
#84 of 333 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.1 mi away
Top Banana Guesthouse
Top Banana Guesthouse
#8 of 210 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Dog Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dog Guesthouse

Property: Blue Dog Guesthouse
Address: #13, Street 51 | Beung Keng Kang 1, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 333 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Dog hostel/guesthouse is right in the centre of Phnom Penh's famous Boeung Keng Kang district. That means when you stay with us, you're only minutes from all of the capital's best sights. Ten minutes' walk east and you'll find the Independence Monument, the Royal Palace and the riverside, head a kilometre south and you'll find the Genocide Museum and BKK market. For clean, affordable accommodation, we've 4 private rooms and 3 mixed and 1 female only dorms that back onto a common chill out area and balcony for a lazy afternoon. Our staff speak great English, (even the western ones!) and will always be willing to help you out with a smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Dog Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Dog Guesthouse Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing