We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Alibi Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alibi Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 318 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

This is a really good place if you want to stay in Phnom Penh; very much accessible to all the attractions like the Silver Pagoda, Royal Palace, Silver Pagoda & Sisowath Quay. It is not located near the main thoroughfare, you still need to walk in a dodgy alley but it's not really a problem. I personally love the garden, it's clean & well-maintained, and sure a lovely place to have breakfast. I so love it! The place is so clean & I love the antique staircase. We stayed in the 3rd storey wherein you need to climb a steep steel staircase. They have CCTV cameras on all storey so you can rest assure of the order & safety in the guesthouse. We stayed at room 10, the bed is comfy, has desk & table, fridge, TV, wardrobe & safety deposit box. The bathroom is okay & complete toiletries are provided. Every storey has its own verandah & common area which is very nice--it will make you feel comfortable unlike other hotel wherein you can only see long corridors.

On our first day of stay, breakfast wasn't completely served because we need to leave early for Siem Reap. On the next day, we finally had a complete breakfast--it was awesome & the coffee is good! :) The 2 cleaning ladies were always smiling & the boy who opens the gate is nice though he can't really speak english well. The lady receptionist speaks good english, she is friendly but she needs to be warm to her guest. When we asked if we can have breakfast early because we need to leave really early for Ho Chi Minh, she responded in a not so nice way. It seems like it's our fault that we're leaving early that's why we can't have our breakfast. She need not to say that or better she could have said it in a nicer way. Later she offered to cook our breakfast in advanced & just get it before we leave in the morning. It was a good gesture though, but her initial response left a bad impression to me. Christian, the manager is nice.

Overall, I will still recommend this guesthouse!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasper H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    127
    24
    8
    4
See reviews for
26
152
60
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed in Alibi guesthouse for only one night. The staff was polite. They organized our boat trip to siem reap. We had a standard double room which might be a little bit small for a longer stay, but was ok for us. The rooms are clean. The bathroom was very tiny (the toilet is wet after showering). Our room was located in the third floor and the last stairs are a little bit difficult to climb. Breakfast is good (especially the coffee). The location was very good - close to the silver pagoda and king palace.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dielidia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angola, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Nice quite Guesthouse-a Good place to start if you have just arrived in phnom penh.
I arrrived very lat at nite
and thy were very acomodatinG.
A hidden gem-lots of fabulous plants-and well hidden from the ratrace.
recommend-altho you could find cheaper-this place is a cut above!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimholden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Hi stayed here for a couple of nights. Initial cool reception from french manager but warmed to him later. Cambodian staff were charming and helpful. Stayed in 2 rooms, the first spacious with garish paint work and slightly tired but working fixtures. The second a much cheaper smaller room with a cold shower but clean and comfortable.
Apart from the staff the real selling point is the sheltered patio area for breakfast. Tuk tuk drivers may have trouble finding it as it's down a small alley.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanc878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Up a lane way then behind these big gates is a oasis, was a lovely spot. Well priced, nothing fancy, very basic, lots of outside space to sit. The staff are lovely and helpful. The location was excellent, close to lots of things, good eating places around and heaps of Happy Hour bars. If you want a quiet hideaway, this is perfect.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JenBow0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

I found the location of this guest house to be great for getting to all the attractions which interested me. The old villa is a beautiful house, the rooms are well set up, and breakfast is served in the garden, also a beautiful setting. The staff are helpful, pleasant and I can find no fault with their service. It is every bit as good as I had expected after reading the other reviews.
So, no hesitation in suggesting this place for a comfortable stay in Phnom Penh. Yes, the stairs are steep to the third floor where I was, but I knew that in advance, and there was help to carry my bag up the steep stairs. It is only the third floor with steep stairs - the lower two floors have a great wide wooden staircase of beauty and ease in climbing. Breakfast was good, and the coffee great - not always easy to get a coffee that is similar to that which I am accustomed to.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gwenifer_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle UK
Level Contributor
118 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Pleasant, decent, quiet hotel with lots of relaxing seating areas in a good location next to Royal Palace, Wat Botum Park, several small restaurants, cafes and bars and less than 10 minutes walk to the riverfront.

Our en-suite room was small, neat and clean with four poster bed & mosquito net, AC, fridge, free water and safety deposit box. Breakfast was included in the room rate and taken in the lovely palm filled courtyard garden.

We didn't receive any hassle from the Tuk Tuk drivers mentioned in previous posts apart from the occasional 'Tuk Tuk?' and used one of the guys to visit Choeung Ek. If you have mobility problems avoid the top floor which is up a steep and narrow metal staircase. We'd definitely stay here again if in Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GHNCLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,375 reviews
0.7 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#34 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Rose Suites
La Rose Suites
#1 of 265 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alibi Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alibi Guesthouse

Property: Alibi Guesthouse
Address: Sothearos Blvd. | Behind Motor cafe, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 318 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Alibi Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally-located villa-style guesthouse in a garden setting in a pleasantly quiet area.Easy walking distance to the Royal palace and riverfront area.Well furnished rooms with each their own decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Asiatravel.com Holdings, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alibi Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alibi Guesthouse Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing