We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local bar” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Tongue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Tongue Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Local bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed in this hotel for two days and the stuff was great, but the accomodation was not as we expected. During night we heard a lot of other customers comming back drunk to their rooms and from street we heard strong music from near bar whole night. So next time in Phnom Penh we going to try other hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vasek V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    115
    44
    12
    5
See reviews for
17
73
67
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

the blue Tongue is in a good hotel the room is nice and big
the staff do a good good

for me i would like a safe in the room
every think else is spot on

the room rate is low for what you get in the room
will be back in November

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbo d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

This is a great little hotel that is very customer focused with nice rooms.
Our only two problems were that the standard room had an ancient CRT television that needed degaussing and that there was some noise pollution even up on level 4. The rooms themselves have good noise insulation on the windows etc but the stairwell has gaps out into the open air and this is where the noise gets in. If they insulated the stairwell from noise they would be onto a winner I reckon. It didn't really stop us from sleeping and it wouldn't stop me from staying again.

They are "guest friendly" which means that many of their customers are single western men who are 40+ years old. As a travelling couple we had no problems with it. It's a great hotel and this just meant a lot of the people at breakfast were men sitting at the table quietly eating breakfast alone or sometimes with their "guest". It really isn't a big deal.

Breakfast was not free, but you could order any meal from their menu at half price - a good deal. I was having a great steak sandwich each morning in the end. Latte was extra and a little expensive at $2 but we love our latte so paid it :-)

Overall, a great hotel with nice staff who organised our onwards giant ibis bus to Siem Reap with little fuss. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

One tip - his hotel is extremely close to the Romdeng training restaurant which was #7 on tripadvisor when I wrote this. Given that it is so close you would be crazy not to walk over and check it out.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank muzzamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

I stayed at the Blue Tongue Cafe in late december 2013 over nye. the hotel was very cheap which was great. The room itself was massive, extremely clean, very modern and had a cute little balcony. The bathroom was also huge and very clean. The hotel staff were very nice and looked after our valuables in the lockers downstairs behind reception everyday.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angie_b_shaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Just got back after a trip to Cambodia. Kicked off with Blue Tongue for five nights at a very modest amount. We were really impressed with the room - large and airy (Deluxe on 2nd floor). The bed was large and comfortable with a small balcony. The bathroom was excellent - clean, with lots of hot water and towels. The location is brilliant - walking distance to riverfront, with lots of bars (Zepplin Bar anyone?) just around the corner. Across the road is a fantastic training restaurant: Romdeng - do visit - the food is fantastic and you feel you are making a contribution to the future of the country by helping the youngsters. One night we got woken by people outside but we didn't find our room particularly noisy.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chine
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Well located hotel beside "Walkabout" close to Street 51 night spots. Staff is friendly, reception competent and helpful. Housekeeping (young boys) not motivated at all, (who would be at 100 USD/month wages). Best rooms are in 4th floor with balcony at an overpriced rate. I paid after negotiations USD 39/night. BKF is nothing special.
A/C is silent and worked well. Fridge is OK. Hot and cold water 24 hours. During my January 2014 stay Wi-Fi didn't work. Safety boxes are consolidated on the reception. Hotel is owned by the same owner as "Walkabout" institution. Hotel is guest friendly. Difficult to rest during the night as bars and clubs around are running till 5.00 am. I could find cheaper hotel at the level within the same area.
For fitness and sport lovers like I am, there is at the end of street 51 a spot called "THE PLACE" it cost USD 15/day with high end equipment of 2 floors, sauna, and external swimming pool.

Room Tip: Not recommaded if you want to rest during the night.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asiana55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Designed by an Aussie and his sister, this hotel is very well located for nightlife and city exploring. Being a tall chap, I also appreciate that all the fittings, shower head included, suit a tall person. Everything was perfect, including internet. Going back for my fourth stay in 3 years.

Room Tip: Had all good rooms, first floor best for me as don't need to use the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Zing
Hotel Zing
#96 of 273 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bolina Palace Hotel
Bolina Palace Hotel
#161 of 273 in Phnom Penh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kambuja Inn
Kambuja Inn
#93 of 333 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Richly Boutique Hotel
Richly Boutique Hotel
#59 of 333 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.1 mi away
SLA Boutique Hostel
SLA Boutique Hostel
#4 of 210 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vacation Boutique Hotel
Vacation Boutique Hotel
#3 of 333 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Tongue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Tongue Hotel

Property: Blue Tongue Hotel
Address: 174 #39 Street, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 210 Speciality Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Tongue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique 36 room hotel. Situated within 200m of central market and Sorya Mall. Walk around the corner to The Strip, Phnom Penh's nightlife area. 10 min walk, 2 min moto ride to the Tonle Sap river via National Museum, Silver Pagoda and Royal Palace. Cafe restaurant open 24hrs a day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Tongue Cafe Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing