We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasent but kicked out early!!”
Review of Blue Tongue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Tongue Hotel
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Pleasent but kicked out early!!”
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Nice modern hotel , superclean and friendly enough staff.

Check out is midday , yet i was napping at 1110am and was woken by staff banging on the door and asking me to leave early because they have a custoner who wanted to check in at 12. Why have check in and out times the same!!! Dont bother booking this hotel becuse of the breakfast. Woken at 9am daily by the staff shouting in the corrider, Cold showers depsite asking the staff to fix it every day of my stay

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank todgermassive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    114
    44
    12
    5
See reviews for
17
73
66
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2011

Great location, next to the Walkabout in central Phnom Penh. About a 15-20 minute walk to the Riverside area. Most moto and tuk tuk drivers know the Walkabout as a reference point! Allow up to $1/person for tuk tuk rides in the central area.

The hotel is fine, clean and modern. The bed was very comfortable and the room was kept spotlessly clean. The room included a fridge and aircon, with free wi-fi and cable TV. Valuables are stored in individual lockers by Reception staff. Staff were friendly and helpful and spoke good English.

Negatives were minor: no information in the room about the hotel, or local activities, and no kettle. Couldn't open the windows, so had to rely on aircon. The Reception area is huge, but much darker than indicated on the website (high cost of electricity in Cambodia?). Also, breakfasts were limited...would have been nice to have more than one choice (e.g. you only get coffee or juice etc.) - but food is so cheap it really isn't an issue.

We found that Cambodian hotels are tiled throughout, so are noisier than average.

BTW - the Walkabout attracts a lot of local girls...

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThirdMan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mssunshine12
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

Overall, we had a pleasant stay here. Just a few little touches would transform this hotel from 'ok' to 'amazing'.

Having recently opened, it is probably just finding its feet and through time will hopefully have the potential to develop further.

We stayed 3 nights here. At first, our taxi driver had trouble finding it but it is actually very well located and near to central market. No problems hailing a tuk tuk to take us round the city.

The rooms are new, clean and fairly sizeable. Only slight issue was the small drain for the shower meant that water flowed everywhere as there is no separation between the shower and the rest of the bathroom.

If they included a phone and some hotel/city info in each room it would be really helpful.

Breakfast was pretty basic and choices were limited. Nevertheless for the price you pay, its pretty good value and a worthy place to stop for a few nights.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mssunshine12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

the hotel is new, clean & modern, but, the Australian manager is very cold, rude and not helpful, the staff are not as bad but with poor English understanding ability, and the one Supposed to help me connect to wifi in my roomwas as helpless as i was. So, i had to sit in the cafe whenever i want to use internet. A la carte breakfast is very stingy since i order an omelette, i am not allowed to have any butter nor jam to go with the baguette anymore. Allover all not a bad hotel, but, pretty poor cold service.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank conniejjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2011

This hotel is almost fantastic but still needs a few extra touches to be also one of the best places in town. It's in a very good location, close to the museum and palace as well as bars and shopping areas. Was impressed with the foyer and general entry areas which are very sleek and stylish. Standard room was sparse (no safe in room as they are behind front desk, no hairdryer in bathroom) with a small high window so little natural light. Ensuite was clean but the shower is in the centre of the space and water goes everywhere (so keep all your clothes outside the bathroom!). Breakfast choice could definitely be better. Staff are friendly and very helpful. Very close to being a great hotel if they paid a little more attention to detail.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glampergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
208 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

After most hotels we wanted were booked we found this hotel to be useful. Also in a price range more attractive to us ! From the outside it s nice. Rooms are simple, large and modern. No real decoration but clean. The bed is awesome. For the rest it is simply good value for money !

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fgoblet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

We came across this hotel after a few others were booked out so we weren't sure what to expect but we were pleasantly surprised. It is set in a nice quiet area of town and while it is about 10mins walk away from the waterfront it is easy enough to get around - we walked most places but there were plenty of tuk tuks and motor bikes around. We stayed in one of the rooms with a balcony which was very nice and allowed lots of light in. All in all we were happy with our stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheekymonkeyBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
Bolina Palace Hotel
Bolina Palace Hotel
#160 of 267 in Phnom Penh
16 reviews
0.2 mi away
Circuit Hotel
Circuit Hotel
#184 of 267 in Phnom Penh
34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Cyclo
Le Cyclo
#112 of 267 in Phnom Penh
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kambuja Inn
Kambuja Inn
#97 of 322 in Phnom Penh
77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richly Boutique Hotel
Richly Boutique Hotel
#108 of 322 in Phnom Penh
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Town View Hotel Khan Daun Penh
Town View Hotel Khan Daun Penh
#80 of 233 in Phnom Penh
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Tongue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Tongue Hotel

Property: Blue Tongue Hotel
Address: 174 #39 Street, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 233 Speciality Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Tongue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique 36 room hotel. Situated within 200m of central market and Sorya Mall. Walk around the corner to The Strip, Phnom Penh's nightlife area. 10 min walk, 2 min moto ride to the Tonle Sap river via National Museum, Silver Pagoda and Royal Palace. Cafe restaurant open 24hrs a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Blue Tongue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Tongue Cafe Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing