We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hungry at breakfast”
Review of Blue Tongue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Tongue Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hungry at breakfast”
Reviewed 1 February 2011

At a bussy time of the year after our first choices fully booked, I read comments on this hotel, not the best we can find so I thaught that it shoyld give me the opportunity to have rooms available, bingo!
Its a cool hotel, occidental design and helpfully not too expensive.

To bad they make it short at breakfast. Its included but a tea two toasts and jam does not fill up my stomach especially when on the menu there is a breakfast menu with no price to it that includes a real breakfast. Trying to save on customers? Not the best way to do it.

We where lucky to have a room with a large window, other rooms only have a long and thin window at 2m height just to have sky light to pass through. One layer window, two layer would reduce town noise and save on aircon.

Wifi needed additional settings to work on pc laptop, difficult to connect in the evening, routers a very busy, no lines available.

Soaps are thrown away each day, a waist except if the staff keeps it for himself...

Bars arround gives a loud music until late night to early morning.


They do not provid bus tickets at present, hope it will change in a near future.

Can improve on details, and details will make the difference to be a great spot.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    114
    44
    12
    5
See reviews for
17
73
66
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

This is a nice-sized and clean hotel.
Our room had a balcony to the front side and was a very generously-sized double.

The staff were very friendly ahd helpful in answering questions about the area.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vietbodia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Apart from having several e-mails confirming room were told on arrival (at 22:00) that are were not booked in. The manager resolved the confusion as we had actually been bumped up to a deluxe room - a nice surprise! Generally service was good and breakfast (included) had some of the most choice for Cambodia, proper coffee too. Mr Smith's tuk tuk was good and definitely one to stick with.
Rooms were very well designed although wetroom meant that the bathroom floor was always covered with water - not really a major concern (maybe for kids?). We actually returned to Phnom Penh at the end of our trip which proved that the device and rooms were consistent.
Location is alright, not fantastic but a tuk tuk is worth taking to the FCC for happy hour 5-7pm) a truly great location to watch Cambodian city life pass you by while sipping a cocktail.
All in all the accommodation contributed to a much better visit to Phnom Penh than we had anticipated...will go back again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianinsaigon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Nice modern hotel , superclean and friendly enough staff.

Check out is midday , yet i was napping at 1110am and was woken by staff banging on the door and asking me to leave early because they have a custoner who wanted to check in at 12. Why have check in and out times the same!!! Dont bother booking this hotel becuse of the breakfast. Woken at 9am daily by the staff shouting in the corrider, Cold showers depsite asking the staff to fix it every day of my stay

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank todgermassive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2011

Great location, next to the Walkabout in central Phnom Penh. About a 15-20 minute walk to the Riverside area. Most moto and tuk tuk drivers know the Walkabout as a reference point! Allow up to $1/person for tuk tuk rides in the central area.

The hotel is fine, clean and modern. The bed was very comfortable and the room was kept spotlessly clean. The room included a fridge and aircon, with free wi-fi and cable TV. Valuables are stored in individual lockers by Reception staff. Staff were friendly and helpful and spoke good English.

Negatives were minor: no information in the room about the hotel, or local activities, and no kettle. Couldn't open the windows, so had to rely on aircon. The Reception area is huge, but much darker than indicated on the website (high cost of electricity in Cambodia?). Also, breakfasts were limited...would have been nice to have more than one choice (e.g. you only get coffee or juice etc.) - but food is so cheap it really isn't an issue.

We found that Cambodian hotels are tiled throughout, so are noisier than average.

BTW - the Walkabout attracts a lot of local girls...

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThirdMan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mssunshine12
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

Overall, we had a pleasant stay here. Just a few little touches would transform this hotel from 'ok' to 'amazing'.

Having recently opened, it is probably just finding its feet and through time will hopefully have the potential to develop further.

We stayed 3 nights here. At first, our taxi driver had trouble finding it but it is actually very well located and near to central market. No problems hailing a tuk tuk to take us round the city.

The rooms are new, clean and fairly sizeable. Only slight issue was the small drain for the shower meant that water flowed everywhere as there is no separation between the shower and the rest of the bathroom.

If they included a phone and some hotel/city info in each room it would be really helpful.

Breakfast was pretty basic and choices were limited. Nevertheless for the price you pay, its pretty good value and a worthy place to stop for a few nights.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mssunshine12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

the hotel is new, clean & modern, but, the Australian manager is very cold, rude and not helpful, the staff are not as bad but with poor English understanding ability, and the one Supposed to help me connect to wifi in my roomwas as helpless as i was. So, i had to sit in the cafe whenever i want to use internet. A la carte breakfast is very stingy since i order an omelette, i am not allowed to have any butter nor jam to go with the baguette anymore. Allover all not a bad hotel, but, pretty poor cold service.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank conniejjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Grand Palais Boutique Hotel
Le Grand Palais Boutique Hotel
#53 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Circuit Hotel
Circuit Hotel
#186 of 269 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bolina Palace Hotel
Bolina Palace Hotel
#166 of 269 in Phnom Penh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mondulkiri Boutique Hotel
Mondulkiri Boutique Hotel
#57 of 317 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richly Boutique Hotel
Richly Boutique Hotel
#47 of 317 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kambuja Inn
Kambuja Inn
#90 of 317 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Tongue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Tongue Hotel

Property: Blue Tongue Hotel
Address: 174 #39 Street, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 226 Speciality Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Tongue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique 36 room hotel. Situated within 200m of central market and Sorya Mall. Walk around the corner to The Strip, Phnom Penh's nightlife area. 10 min walk, 2 min moto ride to the Tonle Sap river via National Museum, Silver Pagoda and Royal Palace. Cafe restaurant open 24hrs a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Blue Tongue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Tongue Cafe Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing