We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff made this Hotel quite exceptional.”
Review of the 252

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
the 252
Ranked #12 of 270 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The staff made this Hotel quite exceptional.”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed at this hotel on three separate occasions in April this year for a total of eight nights. We would be more than happy to stay here again on our next visit.
The rooms ,pool,restaurant/bar were very comfortable and always kept exceptionally clean.

What raised this hotel to the next level was the efficiency, helpfulness and attitude of the staff. Because they were so friendly and positive we feel we got to know them quite well. Sophea in reception was quite outstanding. Davy, Boona, Kim and Dara could not have been more helpful and efficient.

We would highly recommend this hotel to everyone

Room Tip: First floor rooms with balcony were very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank CarolsAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the252, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, 23 June 2011
Many thanks for your review. We were happy to have you with us and are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Your compliments have been forwarded to our staffs who remember you very well ;-)
We hope to have you with us during your next stay in Phnom Penh.

All the best,
The 252 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    800
    341
    79
    22
    6
See reviews for
209
518
133
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I can't imagine a better place to escape the heat, dust and bustle of Phnom Penh. Coming through the gate from the street, it was bliss to see the swimming pool, surrounding lounge areas, the bar & lush planting... really special. We looked forward to happy hour - great pina coladas, great way to wind down and relax.

Our room was large, spacious, cool and well appointed. Especially like the ipod dock/speakers, and good wi-fi. Really nice fabrics and colours used throughout.

The staff were friendly and helpful. Making it a perfect place to stay. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Andrea1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, 15 April 2016
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here at the 252 and we hope to have you back with us next time you visit Cambodia.
Best regards,
Stéphane and the 252 team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Clean modern and secure. Great pool to cool off in. Lovely staff who are so helpful and kind for all our needs. We stayed here at the beginning and end of our stay and we left a bag with them for a week with no problems. Food and drinks yummy. Thankyou

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Sahse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, 15 April 2016
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here at the 252 and we hope to have you back with us next time you visit Cambodia.
Best regards,
Stéphane and the 252 team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the 252. It was in a good location..only a short walk to restaurants, bars and shops. The room was very comfortable and we made use of the pool daily and they served an excellent G&T in the bar. The only complaint was that we had no water in our room in the early mornings making showers etc a bit of a pain.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank candy321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Stunning hidden gem, with a lovely courtyard and leafy pool. Centrally situated and beautifully furnished. Restaurant food lives up to the colonial french atmosphere. Laundry service is incredibly over-priced though.

Room Tip: Luxury rooms with pool view are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Gullivers_Scrabbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the252, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, 23 June 2011
Many thanks for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the 252. Even though the prices for the laundry service are a bit higher as the shops in the streets, we don’t think that it is incredibly over-priced (50 cents per shirt, 1 $ per long pants or dress, etc).

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Never had such a cold welcome in a hotel in Cambodia. Owned by a nervous european who keeps on smoking and stressing staff and customers. Accomodation is very basic, decoration is poor, building is not so nice. Expensive food, you have to wait for a long time before getting even just an orange juice!!

We had an early departure the next morning, as it is often the case in Cambodia. The staff gave us perished fruits and weird smelly sandwiches, we had to throw it away. What a pity, in a country where some people are starving! The swimming pool is small and overcrowded, with insects in it.

It is really overpriced and over rated. You end up in a hotel full of europeans eating spaghetti. It might be good if you are not used to traveling and want to spend some time in a european-like context. But if you want a real Cambodian experience, just go for another option. Some much better hotels with warm welcome and more charm than this one.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kouala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the252, Propriétaire at the 252, responded to this review, 5 June 2011
In order to constantly improve our services, we appreciate guests’ reviews on TripAdvisor. Unfortunately it is hard to comment on this review as it does not reflect the truth. The owner of the hotel is non-smoker and respectful towards the employees which are all Cambodian, the pool is with 13 x 5 meters one of the biggest in boutique hotels in Phnom Penh and the restaurant serves several Khmer dishes.

The rooms cost around 50 US$ and include breakfast, taxes and free internet access. The price of a menu is at an average of 5 US$. As we decided have all dishes prepared from fresh food only, it might take a bit longer.

For guests with an early departure, our cook prepares a take-away breakfast the night before which is kept in the fridge over night and handed out to the guests in the morning. We apologize if the sandwiches were not at our liking.

We receive guests from all over the world who very often like to sit in the restaurant to chat together and share their experiences. We have several guests from Australia, the US and Asia, and are not at all a “exclusive-European” hotel.

We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations, but are of the opinion that your review is not correct and unfair.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Having stayed at a number of hotels in Phnom Penh over recent years, this one is the best by far. With hotels in Cambodia it is always a matter of you get what you pay for. At $50 it's pretty steep for a local hotel, but the next step up from this is probably a $200 a night 5 star western chain.
We are travelling with a 5 month old who needs to adjust to the heat and this hotel was perfect. It is one of the few hotels we have stayed at in P.P. that has a pleasant outdoor common area. It has been a godsend being able to get out of the room regularly and to sit outside in the shade surrounded by a lovley garden and pool
Yes, there is construction noise next door but Phnom Penh is a city with massive building projects everywhere and I think you would be hard pressed to find a hotel that doesn't have either building noise or traffic noise (no traffic noise at this hotel though!). Be a wise traveler and invest in a few pairs of quality ear plugs.
Hard beds are another Asian thing - every hotel has the same type of hard bed so get used to it! Rooms are modern and clean.
I took a massage by the pool. It is twice the price of other massage shops around the area, but I have been hit on by every male masusse I have had in Asia, so I'm prepared to spend more for a pleasant experience.
The bland 80's/90's romantic wuss rock ballads playing through the pool area leave something to be desired but at least are not offensive. The only possible area for improvements to be included in the room would be a notepad, menu and a phone to call for general requests.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank shazzam123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, 15 April 2016
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here at the 252 and we hope to have you back with us next time you visit Cambodia.
Best regards,
Stéphane and the 252 team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.6 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 270 in Phnom Penh
2,492 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#8 of 270 in Phnom Penh
1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 270 in Phnom Penh
810 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 270 in Phnom Penh
1,639 reviews
0.2 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 270 in Phnom Penh
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the 252? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the 252

Property: the 252
Address: Street 252 #19, Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#13 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — the 252 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Phnom Penh and the 252, the boutique hotel in the heart of Phnom Penh, the Pearl of Asia – step in, lean back and relax. With 19 spacious and stylish rooms decorated by Tendance Khmère©, the swimming pool surrounded by a leafy tropical garden, the bar and restaurant, we aim to make your stay extraordinary and unforgettable. The 252 is conveniently located in a quiet area close to the striking Independence Monument and within walking distance to the popular Street 278 with its shops, restaurants and bars. The Quay Sisowath, the Royal Palace, the Central Market and the National Museum are within 5 minutes drive by tuk tuk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your the 252 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 252 Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing