We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of the 252

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
the 252
Ranked #12 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

This boutique hotel in downtown Phnom Penh offers clean though simple rooms. The staff is very customer-oriented and the pool pretty nice in such an urban setting. Don't expect anything fancy but prices are really attractive for westerners.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ly-Antho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    770
    329
    74
    22
    6
See reviews for
201
498
132
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

There isn't much to say about The 252 except bravo! When we first turned down the street, I was a bit hesitant as the street didn't look like much, but once we pulled up and they opened the wooden door, we were in an oasis. You enter a courtyard facing a pool with an outdoor bar/dining area on one side and cabanas on the other.

The rooms are very spacious and well equipped. The furniture is entirely concrete which is fine by me. I admit the beds were a little hard, but after asking us about our sleep the next day and mentioning our minor discomfort, the front desk offered to switch out our mattresses! That was completely unexpected! I have to say the entire staff were gracious and helpful from advice on what to see to making reservations at restaurants.

Food is very good at the hotel as well. We ate there our first night b/c we were exhausted and I have to say I loved the carbonara! They have a daily happy hour as well...very nice to relax pool side with a cold beverage. And breakfast (which is complementary) was always delicious.

Pool was a perfect place to relax after a long day of siteseeing and I loved the cabana on the days we decided to just relax. Though I recommend using a towel in the cabana as I got bitten a few times by ants to go with my mosquito bites...haha. Just chalk it up to the active bug life in Cambodia.

The location is perfect. It's close to everything ($2 to nearly everything) and you will find a tuk tuk easily right outside the door.

One bit of advice, if you are leaving very early before the front desk staff get in, be sure to check out the night before. We had a 5am departure and through no fault of the hotel, the only person available had to call his supervisor to verify it would be okay to charge my credit card and email me a copy of my final bill.

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs (there is no elevator), there are 2 deluxe pool view rooms on the groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Soo_Han
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed here on 2nd Jan and can't fault it, even before we arrived the staff were helpful with any questions we had, Nicole the manager even found us 2 recommendations for my husband who's back was playing up.... really kind!
The room was really large (room 1 on ground floor) and had everything you need, lots of storage space which was handy. The pool area is great and we had some fab cocktails by it! The reception staff booked our bus tickets to Siem Reap and collection from hotel to the bus which was not 252 as we had booked a different one for our second night..... wish we hadn't now, the 252 is much better!!!! (we stayed at Blue Lime which is still a nice place with really nice pool area but the bar shut at 10 so only mini bar option for a nightcap when home after dinner and from our room... 11 on top floor we could hear club music, not so relaxing!).

We were lucky enough to find Mr Ny outside the 252 on our first night as our tuk tuk driver and he was lovely, very safe and warm natured and helpful and always waited for us so he could take us home and find us the next day..... not in a push way though and he charged as per the hotel recommended. If you see him (his tuk tuk has Mr Ny on the back!) Grab him or ask the hotel staff to point him out. We were sad to say goodbye and he even rang his friend in Siem Reap who is a tuk tuk driver so we would have a good one there too!

All in all we would highly recommend the 252, we did a lot of research and even booked another similar looking hotel for our second night as we could not decide but now we have done both we know the 252 is best!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank louisa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night of our two week holiday in Cambodia. 25s is a great hotel in the capital, lovely pool area to sit and relax, basic but comfortable and very clean rooms, nice food that is resonably priced. Lots of tuktuks outside to take you to the main area.
I would like to mention the incredible helpfulness of the staff, before we arrived I emailed them several times to ask them the best way to get to Siam Reap and asked then asked me to reserve me a space of the boat from PP to SIam Reap, at the last minute I changed my mind and decided to fly, they arranged all of this for me so I literally didn;t have to do anything and they didn't charge me.
Very impressed.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BelB1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

I loved this place - the rooms are huge and very stylishly decorated, with everything you could need (no lift though which might put some people off). Staff are friendly and helpful, and the courtyard pool is a haven of peace and quiet - they've done a lot with a small space. Breakfast was excellent. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank mabie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

NIce room, good breakfast, nice pool but location a little off the beaten track. Owners friendly. I could have done with a blanket on the bed but this is just nit picking and I didn't ask if they had one. Overall a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeliBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our hotel is located in a quiet area only a few minutes’ walk from Street 240 and Street 278 with shops, bars and restaurants, and a 5 minute ride by tuk tuk to the riverfront. And yes, we have blankets available upon request, please just let us know next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
réaumur, France
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stayed only 1 night,but all was perfect.véry good room,clean and with a balconery.staff was always ready to help.
Not very far from main attractions ,more or less 15min.thé atmosphère was very quiet too which is precious in an asian town center.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Denis85_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.6 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#11 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,332 reviews
1.1 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 274 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#6 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
0.2 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#19 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the 252? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the 252

Property: the 252
Address: Street 252 #19, Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#8 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#14 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#25 Best Value Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — the 252 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Phnom Penh and the 252, the boutique hotel in the heart of Phnom Penh, the Pearl of Asia – step in, lean back and relax. With 19 spacious and stylish rooms decorated by Tendance Khmère©, the swimming pool surrounded by a leafy tropical garden, the bar and restaurant, we aim to make your stay extraordinary and unforgettable. The 252 is conveniently located in a quiet area close to the striking Independence Monument and within walking distance to the popular Street 278 with its shops, restaurants and bars. The Quay Sisowath, the Royal Palace, the Central Market and the National Museum are within 5 minutes drive by tuk tuk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your the 252 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 252 Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing