We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”
Review of the 252

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
the 252
Ranked #11 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2012

A nice spot, centrally located in Phnom Penh, within walking distance of most sights. Food is good and reasonably priced. Always transport available, tuk tuks or taxis. Lovely relaxing pool area, nice rooms, makes a change from the 'chain' hotels. Very good value and very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the pool with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

521 - 527 of 1,263 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2012

Booked 2 rooms for 1 night > 1st cool room with "Cement Render" @ 1st Floor. 2nd classic room with "Timber Finishes" @ Upper Floor. Great pool area but "Timber Finishes Room" are dusty, smell of sewer gas in bathroom, "flimsy sheet" as blanket and the dustbin was not cleared from the previous occupant. All night did not get a good night sleep, very disappointed!! Hygiene standards must be improved...

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chiam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

We are sorry to hear that you did not like your stay at our hotel. We apologize for the bin that was not cleared, this should indeed not happen! We request all of our guests to let us know right away if something is not ok so that we can act immediately. Also, we have thicker blankets available upon request. We checked all the rooms on the third floor and could not find any bad smell in the bathrooms. Nevertheless, we added air fresheners in every room.
Kind regards,
Stéphane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We stayed 3 nights in October 2012 in the 252 & thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the very friendly, very clean 252 Hotel. The staff were exceptionally friendly & helpful. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel & would definitely stay at the hotel again should we visit Phnom Penh. We had an amazing holiday in Cambodia & staying at the 252 Hotel added to our pleasure. Many thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My mom and I had a great time at the 252, service was always with a smile! We appreciated the fact that someone at the desk was able to provide us some advise on what to do whilst in the Cambodian capital. Also, the pool was lovely and oh-so-inviting... definitely something to look forward to after a sticky day out on the city. Rooms were beautifu, ultra modern/minimalist and comfortable at the same time- which is a balance I thought would be close to impossible to achieve; and was proved wrong.

Only downside is the exorbitant tuktuk "hotel" rates offered outside the hotel by tuktuk drivers- barter down to almost half the price!

Room Tip: get a room round the back of the hotel as construction is still underway at the front of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aveena86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We loved our stay at The 252 in October 2012. The hotel was clean, modernly furnished and the staff were amazing. The pool is gorgeous and the pool-side cabanas offered a relaxing spot after a day of sight seeing. Our room was lovely - we stayed on the third floor. There was 3 of us and we had an extra bed put in. Even with the extra bed our room was spacious. The bathroom was gorgeous too. The breakfasts are great but I recommend the lok lak on their dinner menu. Margarhitas are pretty good too! I look forward to returning to The 252.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor rooms as they don't have a patio and just open on to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

The hotel is in a great location in Phnom Penh. Lots of tuk tuks when you step out, minutes away from the Grand Palace, nice Embassy row, etc. And my room is quiet.

You have to set your expectations correctly though. This is a basic hotel which is sufficient for most purposes. This is not a boutique designer hotel. You can see the wear and tear on the stairs, tables, etc. The wooden floors in the room are a bit dusty, so it felt a bit weird walking barefoot. But for me this is not that significant.

What deters me from booking again is the air conditioning. For European standards, this is probably sufficient - around 25 degrees. For me, it's called room temp. I specifically asked the manager Nicole when I booked months ago what is the temperature in the room because Im particular about it, she said it's 21 degrees. 21 degrees is ok, 25 is not.

The service from staff varies. Some have sufficient English and are very courteous. The girl at the night desk and early morning seem like she was forced labor. When I pointed out the air con problem, she just said I dont know and walked away. There is no Manager on the floor, which I understand for a hotel this size may not be economical, but there should be a contingency number to call if there is a problem, which in may case, there is.

And the water in the shower, and the water heater, are sporadic. So the water spurts and goes away, and when water is out, water becomes hot and cold. Temperature is not a big problem in a tropical country, but it still is a glitch.

Owner Stephane is sincerely apologetic for what happened, and offered a USD 15 rebate. I appreciate that he acknowledges the problem and tries to compensate.

Once these are fixed though, it's an okay hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back where it's quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bankergirl1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

Thank you for your review. As discussed while you were at our hotel, we apologize for the issue with the A/C. Upon your email back in July, we checked the exact temperature in the room and it went down to 21°C. As in most hotels that care about the environment the A/C are cut while the guests are out, so it might take a bit of time until the room is cooled down, which was pointed to you by our front desk officer. Your comment regarding the wear and tear of the stairs, you might understand that it easy to repaint the staircase (which is done twice a year, such as all of our rooms), but not very easy for the stairs themselves. We have a high occupancy rate which goes along with a “constant traffic” in the staircase. Anyhow, even if the paint is gone at some points, the stairs are clean and we will repaint as soon as possible. The wooden floor in the rooms on the top floor is cleaned every day and there is no reason not to walk barefooted.
We would like to point out that our managers are on duty from 6:30am to 7:30pm, and we as owner spend most of our day at the 252. If we are not present, we are always reachable, one just need to ask to speak to us.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I had a business stay here for 5 nights at the end of September. That meant I was out after breakfast and back just before dark. I can say the breakfast, including warm fresh mini-baguettes with jam and cafe were a great start to the day. Relaxing by the pool at the end of the day was a great way to unwind. The staff were friendly and polite. The room and bathroom was clean and functional. Internet was good. And it is a great location to visit restaurants and cafes around the area. All in all I can definitely recommend this hotel. My only complaint is that it is very popular - I have tried to book there again but often it is booked out. But that must be a good thing, right?

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mister7Star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.6 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 274 in Phnom Penh
2,535 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
0.4 mi away
G Mekong Hotel
G Mekong Hotel
#3 of 274 in Phnom Penh
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 274 in Phnom Penh
840 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#8 of 274 in Phnom Penh
2,001 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#22 of 274 in Phnom Penh
1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the 252? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the 252

Address: Street 252 #19, Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#7 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#13 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: £30 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — the 252 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Phnom Penh and the 252, the boutique hotel in the heart of Phnom Penh, the Pearl of Asia – step in, lean back and relax. With 19 spacious and stylish rooms decorated by Tendance Khmère©, the swimming pool surrounded by a leafy tropical garden, the bar and restaurant, we aim to make your stay extraordinary and unforgettable. The 252 is conveniently located in a quiet area close to the striking Independence Monument and within walking distance to the popular Street 278 with its shops, restaurants and bars. The Quay Sisowath, the Royal Palace, the Central Market and the National Museum are within 5 minutes drive by tuk tuk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your the 252 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 252 Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing