We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good choice”
Review of the 252

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
the 252
Ranked #13 of 277 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2012

The 252 is a nice hotel, nice interior, comfortable bed, good pool. They might improve with the food which is not bad but not really good. They also might improve with the background music at the pool which is kind of old fashioned rock music from the 70/80s, but it is not loud and not annoying.

Room Tip: get a room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephanhoyndorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

522 - 528 of 1,271 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2012

We stayed five nights at the 252. We loved our deluxe room, it was well decorated, large, and comfortable. The only minor problem was the air conditioning was not that strong, but honestly it did the trick and if you like freezing cold air then many Cambodia is not for you. The pool area is beautiful with private cabanas that always seemed to be available. The location is pretty good, 5-10 minute walk to lots of restaurants, but if you want choice right outside your door then maybe this location would not be ideal for you. We usually went in for a swim before breakfast, then headed out to see some of the sights, and then back to the pool for a lazy afternoon, before heading out to dinner.

My only complaint would be the breakfast, while it was tasty there were only two options, both western. And when you are staying for 5 nights like we did, it did get a bit repetitive. Also, the tuk-tuk drivers right out front, while not employees of the hotel, charged more then if you just walked a few feet down the road. I guess this is for the convenience and they did seem to know more English, but if you want a better price then just walk around the corner.

Overall, we would come back to the 252 if they added a few more options for breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Courtney W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the 252. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us.
Regarding the tuk tuk drivers, even though they are not employees of the 252, we fixed reasonable prices for the most popular rides in and around the city. The prices are shown at our front desk and should one of the drivers not adhere to them, please give us your feedback so that we can react immediately.
For the breakfast, we have either the continental breakfast with eggs and toast, baguette with butter and jam, and a plate of fresh fruits, or the Swiss breakfast with cereals, yogurt and a fresh fruit salad, and baguette with butter and jam. As we are a small hotel with only 19 rooms, we decided to keep the choice of breakfast down to two with good quality then to offer several different kinds of breakfast and loose on quality.
We are looking forward to welcoming back during your next stay in Phnom Penh.
Kind regards,
Stephane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Went this summer to Cambodia and booked a triple with an extra bed (we were 2 adults and 2 kids) at the 252 based on the reviews I had read in tripadvisor. It was the first time in Cambodia and the first hotel we stayed in and I remember I was a bit disappointed. I was expecting something more. The hotel is basic, nicely decorated, clean but basic and I think that a bit expensive for the country and for what you get, but I have not got anything to compare to in Phnom Penh. Did not really need an extra bed as the double bed was big enough for me and the kids and besides the side bed looked extremely uncomfortable, so try to negotiate it if you go with kids. Staff were nice, the hotel haa tuk tuk drivers who were very helpful. We booked one for the day ($25) to avoid haggling everytime we had to take a tuk tuk from one place to another and a full day was enough to see the city. In my review of my trip to Cambodia, I said that for a first timer I would have preferred to stay by the riverside and I stand by that comment. I know it may be busier and noisier but it is a great place to observe daily life as at the end of the day the river promenade is full of people doing aerobics, families picnicking and the area is full of bars and restaurants. In summary nothing wrong with the hotel which is quite basic and we stayed in other hotels that were cheaper and offered a better service like Terres Rouges or La Niche d'Angkor in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank victorialad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

Thank you for your review. Our room rates are in the average of hotels with pool in Phnom Penh. Our triple room is with 65$ at the same rate as the one you had in Siem Reap. The charge for one more person in the room is for the extra bed and for the additional breakfast. So far we did not have any complaints on our extra beds being uncomfortable. Unfortunately we cannot comment more on your review as we don’t really know what you were missing during your stay.
Kind regards,
Stéphane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

Great hotel serving lovely food. Only stayed one night but would definitely go back! Room was really well decorated and lovely and clean and the pool area is nice too. The team are helpful and booked our bus tickets for Sinoukville for us.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claire_devon1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Phnom Penh.
Kind regards,
Stéphane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

A very good location in this amazing exotic city. Good pool and poolside area, including an excellent restaurant where a good breakfast is served. Only problem was daily power cuts, 3 in 3 days in the early evening, which seemed to affect the whole block so i guess cannot be blamed on the hotel. I also got badly bitten by insects at night, never did get to the bottom of it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eastcoastdave199Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us. The power cuts are usually not that frequent, but it was just before the ASEAN Summit and the city stored some electricity for this venue. Regarding the mosquitoes, our housekeeping sprays all rooms every day so that our guests are not bothered by them. You should have told us during your stay.
We are looking forward to welcome you back during your next visit to Cambodia
Kind regards,
Stéphane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

A nice spot, centrally located in Phnom Penh, within walking distance of most sights. Food is good and reasonably priced. Always transport available, tuk tuks or taxis. Lovely relaxing pool area, nice rooms, makes a change from the 'chain' hotels. Very good value and very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the pool with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Booked 2 rooms for 1 night > 1st cool room with "Cement Render" @ 1st Floor. 2nd classic room with "Timber Finishes" @ Upper Floor. Great pool area but "Timber Finishes Room" are dusty, smell of sewer gas in bathroom, "flimsy sheet" as blanket and the dustbin was not cleared from the previous occupant. All night did not get a good night sleep, very disappointed!! Hygiene standards must be improved...

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chiam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

We are sorry to hear that you did not like your stay at our hotel. We apologize for the bin that was not cleared, this should indeed not happen! We request all of our guests to let us know right away if something is not ok so that we can act immediately. Also, we have thicker blankets available upon request. We checked all the rooms on the third floor and could not find any bad smell in the bathrooms. Nevertheless, we added air fresheners in every room.
Kind regards,
Stéphane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.6 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 277 in Phnom Penh
2,590 reviews
0.4 mi away
G Mekong Hotel
G Mekong Hotel
#8 of 277 in Phnom Penh
269 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 277 in Phnom Penh
889 reviews
0.2 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#16 of 277 in Phnom Penh
1,210 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 277 in Phnom Penh
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the 252? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the 252

Address: Street 252 #19, Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#13 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: £47 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — the 252 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Phnom Penh and the 252, the boutique hotel in the heart of Phnom Penh, the Pearl of Asia – step in, lean back and relax. With 19 spacious and stylish rooms decorated by Tendance Khmère©, the swimming pool surrounded by a leafy tropical garden, the bar and restaurant, we aim to make your stay extraordinary and unforgettable. The 252 is conveniently located in a quiet area close to the striking Independence Monument and within walking distance to the popular Street 278 with its shops, restaurants and bars. The Quay Sisowath, the Royal Palace, the Central Market and the National Museum are within 5 minutes drive by tuk tuk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your the 252 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 252 Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing