We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis hidden in dusty city”
Review of the 252

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
the 252
Ranked #12 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Spent 3 nights at this oasis in an otherwise dusty, chaotic city. The staff were extremely friendly and willing to help any time. Room was clean, comfortable and suprisingly modern (ipod speakers!). The bed was firm, but this seems to be the normal for Cambodia.
The pool was relaxing and the cabanas surrounding the pool were even more chill.

We stayed in the deluxe room with a pool view, which had a view of the pool but also construction (read: toilet bowls and other supplies) to the right. The patio was nice and we were able to dry our clothing, so even though we paid $10 extra for a pool view, we really paid the extra to dry our clothing :)

Overall a very good hotel, felt comfortable the entire time, would stay here again and encourage other travelers to as well.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtanney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Dear Mtanney,
Thank you for your positive review on TripAdvisor. It is fantastic to hear that you loved staying with us and that we could provide a relaxing retreat for you after your visits around town. We do apologize for the view on the construction next door. Phnom Penh is a fast growing city and there are constructions all over. We are fortunate because the ones in our neighborhood are no longer noisy. We are looking forward to have you back with us.
Best regards,
Stéphane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

508 - 514 of 1,261 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2012

I think they have the habit of putting guests in the rooms on the upper most floors first and working their way down; and there is no elevator, only stairs. Once checked in we found the room sparsely equipped and a bathroom counter down near our knees rather than waist high where it is needed. But the largest disappointment was the bed. It was stone hard. I highly suspect it was nothing more than a box spring without the mattress on top. This had to be the worst nights sleep we have had in decades. The air-conditioner was only 1 hp which is not large enough for the room size, we were sweating most of our time in the room.

Room Tip: Bypass this hotel completely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benz_M_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2012

We are always happy to receive feedback on our hotel and the services.
Your review is quite interesting as we are open since over two years and you are the first one who realized that we don’t have any mattresses, but just a box spring! Also, if you look at the pictures posted by our customers, you will see that the bathroom counters are not down to your knees (unless you are very tall). As you live in Phnom Penh, I guess you wanted to spend some time away from your daily routine. Next time you should made the effort and visit the hotel before making a reservation!
Stéphane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012 via mobile

The rooms were good. Well decorated. Simple and cosy. Adequate facilities. Good staff - courteous. The management is very efficient and quick to respond. Reasonable breakfast. Convenient location. Quite rooms in the busy part of the town

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TiniKluang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Dear TiniKluang,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward to welcoming you back here with us.
Best regards,
Stéphane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

The 252 is an excellent choice for someone who wants to escape after a long day touring the city. The pool/lounge area is very delightful and well suited for couples or groups of friends who want to chill out and relax after visiting the Killing Fields and prison. Reasonable prices, good breakfasts and a very personable group of tuk tuk drivers make this a great place to stay. Good location and truly is a bit of paradise hidden within the city.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank franniez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

The rooms are clean, spacious and have good aircon. It's a bit removed from the riverfront, but is a couple of dollar tuk tuk ride to anywhere you want to go. The pool and the villas are fantastic, relaxing and make it easy to meet people. The breakfast and other meals were very good. Great value for money.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
3  Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

This hotel was quiet and peaceful,hidden behind a high front wall, subsequently no traffic noise to interrupt sleep, but just have to look a little harder to find it.The room we had was very spacious, in fact a lot of excess space.Bed comfortable , and shower good. We ate at the restaurant poolside and found the meals to be reasonably priced, as well as choices of the Khymer Cuisine available.My grandson found the pool to be a welcome relief after a day out and around in the humid weather we had on our visit,so really a bonus to find at a hotel with this facility, and in this price range.The reception staff were OK, but not really friendly and welcoming, as we found the people in Vietnamese hotels to be.All in all,we were happy with our time spent at The 252.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OzGreyNomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012 via mobile

Had a very nice stay except stairs in a quiet street really central easy to get round you have to watch out for bag and jewelery snatchers not much of holiday destination but really interesting Diem Reap is worth a vist

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.6 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 274 in Phnom Penh
2,534 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
0.4 mi away
G Mekong Hotel
G Mekong Hotel
#3 of 274 in Phnom Penh
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 274 in Phnom Penh
836 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#8 of 274 in Phnom Penh
1,998 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#22 of 274 in Phnom Penh
1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the 252? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the 252

Address: Street 252 #19, Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#7 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#13 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: £30 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — the 252 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Phnom Penh and the 252, the boutique hotel in the heart of Phnom Penh, the Pearl of Asia – step in, lean back and relax. With 19 spacious and stylish rooms decorated by Tendance Khmère©, the swimming pool surrounded by a leafy tropical garden, the bar and restaurant, we aim to make your stay extraordinary and unforgettable. The 252 is conveniently located in a quiet area close to the striking Independence Monument and within walking distance to the popular Street 278 with its shops, restaurants and bars. The Quay Sisowath, the Royal Palace, the Central Market and the National Museum are within 5 minutes drive by tuk tuk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your the 252 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 252 Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing