We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It ticks the boxes.”
Review of the 252

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
the 252
Ranked #12 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“It ticks the boxes.”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

This is a very well thought out establishment in a good location in Phnom Pen. The accomodation is backed up with a very good pool. The pool has 5 x Bure's along the side where you can spend the day if you so desire. A nice poolside restaurant with wandering staff to keep your drink filled.
The rooms are roomy and adequate,hot water always with a very good concrete wardrobe that works well.
We stayed in the Balcony room which was a nice addition and situated above the pool.
Drawbacks?
1.Pool is open to visitors for a charge although this caused very little angst as it is well policed.
2.The street noise is definitely there but not too bad.
3.The rooms can be noisy especially from the pool later at night.
The area behind the Bure's is smelly and I suspect that this is from the cats that are in plentiful supply.
All in all though I give it high marks and the hosts are tireless in maintaining the standard

Room Tip: Balcony Room is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear Muruk,
Thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. As mentioned by you, we have some Phnom Penh based customers coming to enjoy lunch or dinner at our restaurant. We are always limiting the number of outside customers in order that our guests do not feel disturbed. Thank you for your comment regarding the smell behind the pavilions, we have instructed our staff to put more attention on this. We hope to have you back with us next time you visit Cambodia.
Best regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    796
    336
    78
    22
    6
See reviews for
207
513
133
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

I truly am amazed at the level of service and the types of rooms we received compared to the cost of the room, which was relatively cheap all things considered. But of all the hotels we stayed at during our tour of South-East Asia, the 252 was the best by far.

The pictures say it all because this is one of the most picturesque little hotels I've stayed at, right in the middle of the city too so it's close to everything. Great service from all of the front desk staff as well.

I would stay at this hotel again tomorrow if given the opportunity.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear CrushHigh,
Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have you with us during your next visit in Phnom Penh.
Best regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at the 252 we loved the pool area and the restaurant served some really nice dishes but we were quite disappointed with our room. We stayed on the top floor (We didn't mind the stairs). Our bed was really hard and we only had a sheet. Now I understand that Cambodia is a hot place but all the 4 star hotels I have stayed at had a quilt which is the way I prefer so when it gets cool at night from the aircon you can use it. The absence of the quilt isn't really a problem I just found the bed to be quite rigid. The room was decorated nicely but there were problems with the shower such as the water going cold and cutting off. All the staff were extremely friendly and breakfast was great, I just think the rooms need to be improved slightly.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahel9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear Sarahel9,
Thank you for your review. We are glad to read that you enjoyed the pool area and the food at our restaurant. With regard to the bedding, we have chosen to use firm mattresses to which we can add a soft mattress on top. Soft mattresses as well as blankets are available to our guests upon request. We have added the option of requesting the soft mattress to the booking process on our website. So please do not hesitate to check the box during your next booking.
It is true that we had some issues with the water pressure because the city has lowered their pressure during some hours of the day. We have added a pump to resolve this issue.
Best regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Our family of 4 recently spent 4 nights in The 252. Our daughters (12 & 14) were in room 16 and we had the adjoining room 17. The rooms were lovely and very spacious, ours had a view over the pool.

The staff were fantastic and gave really great advice on where to eat, visit and how much it should cost for a tuk tuk driver.

We especially loved spending time in the gazebo's by the pool. It was very relaxing after a day exploring Phnom Penh.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BernShaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear BernShaz,
Thank you for your positive review on TripAdvisor. It was a great pleasure to have you with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you again here at the 252.
Best regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We were 2 families including grand parents and kids. We really enjoyed our stay.
The Hotel is conveniently located, the rooms are spacious, nicely decorated and comfortable. The food is good and the staff is very nice and helpful.
The pool is the perfect size for this hotel and the small canopies around create a nice surrounding.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faubaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Dear Faubaniac,
Thank you for having taken the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at the 252. It was a great pleasure to have you and your family with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon again.
Best regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koh Chang
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

The hotel is an oasis of peace with its pool and pavilions to chill after a day of sightseeing.
The rooms are very big with all one needs. We especially appreciated the warm welcome of the staff, we’ve never met people like them, always looking after us!
The food at the restaurant is delicious, we loved their Khmer set menu as well as the 252 special “the crying tiger”.
We will recommend this place to all our friends and we are sure to be back next time we visit Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stefan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Dear Stefan,
Thank you for your positive review. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at the 252 and that we could provide a relaxing retreat for you after a day of sightseeing. We are looking forward to have you back with us during your next visit in Phnom Penh.
Best regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

252 is really exactly what you hope for when you're booking a boutique hotel. It's intimate, beautifully designed, staffed by really personable and sincere staff - and it's near to some excellent little streets (like 240). The pool is just the right size - which lends itself perfectly to a life of part tourism, part lounging. I'd sooner stay here than in any 5 star chain.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barneyinkaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Dear Barneyinkaz,
Thank you for your positive review on TripAdvisor. We are happy to read that you found exactly what you were looking for. We would like to thank you for staying with us, we all look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Phnom Penh.
Best regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.6 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 267 in Phnom Penh
2,464 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
1.1 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 267 in Phnom Penh
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,624 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#8 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,936 reviews
0.2 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the 252? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the 252

Property: the 252
Address: Street 252 #19, Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#13 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — the 252 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Phnom Penh and the 252, the boutique hotel in the heart of Phnom Penh, the Pearl of Asia – step in, lean back and relax. With 19 spacious and stylish rooms decorated by Tendance Khmère©, the swimming pool surrounded by a leafy tropical garden, the bar and restaurant, we aim to make your stay extraordinary and unforgettable. The 252 is conveniently located in a quiet area close to the striking Independence Monument and within walking distance to the popular Street 278 with its shops, restaurants and bars. The Quay Sisowath, the Royal Palace, the Central Market and the National Museum are within 5 minutes drive by tuk tuk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your the 252 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 252 Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing