We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis in the city!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of the 252

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
the 252
Ranked #12 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Oasis in the city!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

After our 4 hour drive, the chaos of the city traffic, sights, noises & smells we were rather concerned when the taxi due up on this small, dusty side street that didn't, at first glance, seem to have much going on expect a building site. There was little confusion about where the hotel actually was but we were thrilled to discover the big metal sliding gate which opened to reveal an oasis!

We spent a very lovely 3 nights at The 252, travelling with 2 youngish children meant that we had found the right balance of city madness & pool relaxation. Our room was big and divided by a concrete screen, so our girls had their own area and was at the back of the building, so meant it was very quite though the view wasn't all that - but the room was very clean, spacious, beautifully, but simply styled and as we were only there to change or sleep in the view wasn't an issue. The rooms in the front looked over the pool & had balconies, if you prefer a view (though watch out for the mozzies if you leave the doors open!)

The owner and/or his girlfriend were always present at the hotel during the day and evening, which is aways a good sign in my book, plus they were very friendly, helpful and laid back, as were their staff - who were exceptional. Really enjoyed the food and loved the individual lounging/sitting/bed/cabana areas that ran down one side of the pool, great to 'hang out' enjoying an afternoon drink or 2 after a hot sticky morning of city exploration while the girls played in the pool and either read quietly or chat to others about their Cambodian adventures.

As for not being at the water front, well anytime you pulled back the big gate to reveal the world, there was always a tuk tuk waiting to whisk you off to your chosen destination and the building site, didn't even notice it.

Phnom Penh is a fantastic city, probably my favourite in Asia and when we go again it will be the 252 that we will stay in, as long as they have a room free.

Room Tip: Back for the quiet & I think the bigger rooms, front for balconies & pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelbub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience here at the 252. We were happy to have you and your family with us and we will share your compliments with our employees. We all look forward to welcome you again next time you are in Phnom Penh, the pearl of Asia.
Best regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    771
    329
    74
    22
    6
See reviews for
201
498
132
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

I stayed at the 252 for about 4 days with my parents and my 2 year old. The 252 was able to help me with babysitting at no extra charge (they just asked me to tip the staff they assigned to us). And Sina from housekeeping helped us to take care of my daughter in the city and also at the hotel. This was really great because I was pregnant and not able to run after my boisterous little one. We spent a lot of time at the lovely pool reading and getting massages in the little cabanas in the shade. The coconut shakes are also divine. The management was so helpful and lovely, and on New Year's Eve they threw a party in the hotel and invited all the guests and all their own staff. It was lovely. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ameliabraga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear Amelia,
Thank you for your positive review. We are happy that you and your parents enjoyed your time with us. It is a tradition at the 252 to spend the New Year’s Eve with our employees to thank them for all their hard work during the year. And all our guests are welcomed to join.
We hope to have you and your family back with us next time you visit Cambodia.
Best regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

We stayed at the beginning and the end of our Cambodia trip at the 252. We enjoyed both times, with the nicely decorated rooms, the spacious bathrooms and the view over the pool.

The staff is very helpful and will help you with anything to make your stay pleasant. Our kids loved the pool, and the location is great, away from the craziness of Phnom Penh, but still close to everything, with Tuk Tuk's right outside the hotel.

We will be back next time we are in Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kcirtapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for having shared your experience here at the 252. We are looking forward to welcome you and your family back with us.
Best regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

Stayed for a week. Pleasant and very reasonable in cost with breakfast thrown in. Quiet street. Two doors away there is a high rise being build. Close to banks, supermarket and is relatively convenient with tuk tuk drivers just outside the hotel. The pool gives respite after a hot day in the city.
Clean and owner and staff are very friendly and made you feel quite at home.Rooms are also very spacious.
Keep up the good work Stefan, and to all the smiling and courteous staff - Buna Sim, Thyda, Davy, Somaly and Bunneath - thank you.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool and the front of the hotel has a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JbhC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you your positive review here on TripAdvisor. We are happy to read that you enjoyed staying with us and have forwarded your thank you to our employees. We all hope to see you again when you next visit Cambodia.
Best regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karratha
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013 via mobile

The capital of Cambodia is mindblowing. To open the gate and finding this lovely hotel was pure relief. Staff were great, rooms were simply decorated but very nice. Gorgeous bathroom. We ate a couple of times in the restaurant and it was nice. crepe suzette was amazing! All in all, I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Raymor72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear Raychelle,
Thank you for your review. We are glad to read that you found here a place to relax from the busy city. We are looking forward to welcoming you back here with us.
Best regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

An oasis in the heart of Phnom Penh.

Exceptionally clean, well lit and modern designed rooms ( Tendence Khmere ) set in a delightful little garden with cafe, pool, and little pool cabanas. Breakfast is delightful by the pool and restaurant serves food all day by the pool. Do not miss this little oasis - a splash in the pool and a refreshing cocktail make your stay here even more memorable.

Staff are kind and always smiling and willing to help. Swiss run - clean, efficient, and courteous.
Stayed here for more than 10 nights total and loved it every time.
Walking distance to Independence Monument.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Antoine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your positive review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your room and the design by Tendance Khmere as well as the pool area. We hope to welcome you back here at the 252 next time you are in Phnom Penh.
Best regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

This is a very well thought out establishment in a good location in Phnom Pen. The accomodation is backed up with a very good pool. The pool has 5 x Bure's along the side where you can spend the day if you so desire. A nice poolside restaurant with wandering staff to keep your drink filled.
The rooms are roomy and adequate,hot water always with a very good concrete wardrobe that works well.
We stayed in the Balcony room which was a nice addition and situated above the pool.
Drawbacks?
1.Pool is open to visitors for a charge although this caused very little angst as it is well policed.
2.The street noise is definitely there but not too bad.
3.The rooms can be noisy especially from the pool later at night.
The area behind the Bure's is smelly and I suspect that this is from the cats that are in plentiful supply.
All in all though I give it high marks and the hosts are tireless in maintaining the standard

Room Tip: Balcony Room is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Muruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear Muruk,
Thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. As mentioned by you, we have some Phnom Penh based customers coming to enjoy lunch or dinner at our restaurant. We are always limiting the number of outside customers in order that our guests do not feel disturbed. Thank you for your comment regarding the smell behind the pavilions, we have instructed our staff to put more attention on this. We hope to have you back with us next time you visit Cambodia.
Best regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.6 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,333 reviews
1.1 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#2 of 274 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#6 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,845 reviews
0.2 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#19 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the 252? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the 252

Property: the 252
Address: Street 252 #19, Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#8 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#14 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#27 Best Value Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — the 252 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Phnom Penh and the 252, the boutique hotel in the heart of Phnom Penh, the Pearl of Asia – step in, lean back and relax. With 19 spacious and stylish rooms decorated by Tendance Khmère©, the swimming pool surrounded by a leafy tropical garden, the bar and restaurant, we aim to make your stay extraordinary and unforgettable. The 252 is conveniently located in a quiet area close to the striking Independence Monument and within walking distance to the popular Street 278 with its shops, restaurants and bars. The Quay Sisowath, the Royal Palace, the Central Market and the National Museum are within 5 minutes drive by tuk tuk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your the 252 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 252 Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing