We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Calm behind a Gate” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of the 252

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
the 252
Ranked #12 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Calm behind a Gate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay here! It was such a great escape from the heat, hustle and bustle that is Phnom Penh. Swimming pool and cabanas were the best spot for relaxing and having a drink. Food was great - maybe a little over priced compared to other restaurants. Crying Tiger dish worth trying. The breakfasts are fresh and fine. Ask for a soft mattress and blanket if you want one. Staff could not be more helpful and accommodating. Really felt at home here. Let the tuk tuk driver Ravi show you around. He was lovely. Thanks to all!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    772
    331
    74
    22
    6
See reviews for
201
500
132
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

So I stayed here 1 night in between Siem Reap and Snooky. It's located a little bit out of the way but it's a nice enough hotel. Staff were friendly and booked our trip down to snooky with a good driver. For anyone who has issues with stairs, not for you. There is no lift here. For us this was not a problem. I hate using this word but the 252 is kind of like an oasis. It's like your own little world in the middle of a crazy city. Very cut off, even the entrance is a sliding gate that you would have to know about. All in all I would stay again, good value, the rooms are some what modern and the staff are friendly. Maybe not your ideal location for exploring Siem Reap though. Also for any of you guys who are thinking about maybe exploring the local nightlife ......... don't expect to bring your new love home :) Family friendly is not really words I warm to but actually I liked this place and long may it continue.

Room Tip: Pool view I guess is really as good as it gets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

I recently stayed at the 252 hotel in Phnom Penh.
To make a long story short : its a jewel.
If I had a boutik hotel I would like it to be the 253!
Yes it has a style of its own some will say concrete.
My reply is : stylish, comfortable and efficient.
Rooms are bright, elegant, sober including all the necessary amenities.

The hosts, a fresh young couple will please you in every possible way, from finding you a seat in the next plane if you missed yours to adding a soft mattress in your bed if you feel so.
On top you feel lonely tonight ? they will take you for a drink in a fancy bar.
The hotel is runned by a team of young khmers.
I tell you they are efficient in every way.
Its really a pro business where you fell like at home.
This is so pleasant in such a bustling city as Phnom Penh.
Of course the large and regularly cleaned pool ends up the day as in heaven.
Now the food: tasty and generous it is, as the fresh mint mojito.
Feeling hungry go for the latest add on : The crying Tiger a mouthwatering sauteed beef.
Breakfast is Nicole business, the host.
She knows a lot about muesli and black coffee to wake to you up.

All of this centrally located , close to the main attractions and nightlife areas.
Definitely in todays hotel jungle in Phnom Penh, the 252 shines above .
Will be back for sure.
Marvin Bkf

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marvin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

We stayed here for a night for my birthday as a treat. Very impressed by the pool area and quality of the rooms - all very pretty and also good service. BUT when it came to the evening we both had the worst sleep we have had for a long time. The bed is extremely hard (made out of concrete) and there is just a sheet, no blanket. One of the pluses of staying in a nice hotel is getting to sleep with air con under a blanket (quite exotic for those of us who live in Cambodia). We told the reception the next day who informed us that we could have requested a softer mattress - but how are you supposed to know that the bed is so uncomfortable until you are trying to get to sleep?! I find it quite baffling - why not just have a soft mattress in all the rooms as the default? I would not go back or recommend this hotel despite it having so much potential until they sort out the bed situation (that is the main point of hotels - to provide a comfortable nights sleep!).

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennyhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Propriétaire at the 252, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Dear Jenny,
Thank you for your review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the pool area, the rooms and the good service. Please note that we did not change the bedding since your last stay in July 2011. We have decided to use rather firm mattresses as most of the guests prefer this, but we can provide soft mattress if wished. We mention this during check-in so that our guests can tell us before night time. With regard to the blankets, those are available at the front desk 24 hours. Please do not hesitate to ask next time you stay with us.
Kind regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lille, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

We ended our trip at Phnom Penh and this is the best experience we had. Staff was very welcoming, first class service, always pleasant and ready to help. After meeting with the owner you will understand why all this works so perfectly, he did not only professionally trained his team but also created a real working team spirit. I like the minimalist design of rooms, efficient and good bedding. Food was surprisingly ahead of my expectations, I've been talking with people who were just coming for good lunch in a quiet place. Give a try to the "Crying Tiger", the hotel specialty, I will die for it! The poolside is really relax, once you're in, difficult to leave! Difficult to find better for that price with a pool downtown.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alain D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taichung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

We just stay in this hotel for one night due to we have the morning flight back home. Upon we arrived at the hotel, its main door amazed me. The door of the hotel just like the garage door, we saw the sign for the hotel but we did not see any door bell, upon we PULL the door with doubtful thought, there is the pool and bar pop up front of our eyes. Amazing opening for our first impression. Amazing night view with pool and bar and its environment, clean, simple with outstanding design. The staff there, very helpful with great English, and if you speak French, they might be okay I guess due to they also has French version introduction and menu. If you go for vacation or just back from Angkor Wat, the 252 might be a great choice for you to stay for couple nights.

Room Tip: Might need ask for blanket from staff due to the bed sheet is very thin though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank victorshue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed twice at the 252 while in PP. When the taxi stopped at the big sliding door we weren't sure where we were, but once slid across you find yourself faced with the poolside atmosphere. The rooms are fully concrete - interesting but it works, they remain cool through the day. Great showers in the rooms and you can ask for a softer mattress. We enjoyed spending afternoons swimming and relaxing in the little cabanas beside the pool. Great place for lunch and dinner with friendly staff to assist with where to go, how to get there etc. They even helped us with visas and tickets for onward travel. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ippygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.6 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,334 reviews
1.1 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#2 of 274 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#5 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,847 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
0.2 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#19 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the 252? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the 252

Property: the 252
Address: Street 252 #19, Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#13 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#25 Best Value Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — the 252 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Phnom Penh and the 252, the boutique hotel in the heart of Phnom Penh, the Pearl of Asia – step in, lean back and relax. With 19 spacious and stylish rooms decorated by Tendance Khmère©, the swimming pool surrounded by a leafy tropical garden, the bar and restaurant, we aim to make your stay extraordinary and unforgettable. The 252 is conveniently located in a quiet area close to the striking Independence Monument and within walking distance to the popular Street 278 with its shops, restaurants and bars. The Quay Sisowath, the Royal Palace, the Central Market and the National Museum are within 5 minutes drive by tuk tuk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your the 252 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 252 Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing