We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very, very nice”
Review of the 252

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
the 252
Ranked #13 of 281 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Excellent staff, friendly and helpful. Really nice rooms. Great pool, Good food. Definitely go for balcony room with view of the pool. Can't say enough, wish I stayed longer than 2 nights, Best price option in Phnom Penh. 100 times better than the Plantation. Less expensive than Raffles.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travlermb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for your nice review on TripAdvisor and we hope to have you back with us next time you are in Phnom Penh.
Best regards,
Stéphane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

402 - 408 of 1,290 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

Lovely pool and great cocktails wih happy hour too. Breakfast was lovely - proper coffee. Very nice, friendly and helpful staff especially as I had made 2 bookings instead of 1. The lady on reception was very helpful and contacted the manager and agoda for me. We had a small balcony that overlooked the pool which when you look at other places in this area for this price it was good value for money. Quiet too at night time.
The bed and bathroom were very clean.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Hannah,
Thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us and hope to see you again next time you are in Cambodia.
Best regards,
Stéphane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Fantastic little find in the heart of the City. Beautiful pool area, great breakfast options and lovely staff. The room was massive newly painted and had all the necessary amenities needed. The hard mattress might not suit all but request a soft one at booking stage if you prefer.

Room Tip: Request a pool facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twinnielynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Lynne,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed staying with us. Indeed, our staff puts a lot of efforts in order to keep everything clean and we paint our rooms twice a year. We hope to have you back with us next time you are in Phnom Penh.
Best regards,
Stéphane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We got this place half price on agoda in a flash deal, and from the moment we arrived we knew it was special! It's a chic hotel, with great staff and a beautiful pool area with 5 private cabana areas for lounging. On instant arrival someone was on hand to take our bags out of the tuk tuk and took them to our room. Really efficient service! We were upgraded as otherwise we would of had to change rooms throughout our stay, and they presumed this would be hassle without us even mentioning it! Perfect! The rooms are modern, and decorated well with great spacious bathrooms and a huge mirror! The food here is outstanding, and we ate in the bar area every day! The spaghetti Bolognese was a favourite of mine, and my boyfriend loved the steak and chicken with a blue cheese sauce! It was reassuring to know that whatever you ordered would be lovely as I'm quite a fussy eater! The evening servers make the best piña colada I've ever had, and the evening happy hour makes it a perfect excuse to indulge! The ladies in the morning for breakfast are an asset to the hotel, and so friendly and welcoming! This place is 5 star through and through and I wouldn't hesitate to urge others looking for a little bit of luxury on their travels to stay! We enjoyed it so much we extended our stay!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Tom,
Thank you for having taken the time to write on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you fully enjoyed your time here with us. And you are right, our best asset is our staff! Most of them are here since the opening in June 2010 which makes our place run very smoothly. We hope to see you again next time you visit Cambodia.
Best regards,
Stéphane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Our room was on the top floor and there is NO Telephone in the room. So if you need to enquire something or if there is a problem you have to go three floors down to get some help.

Otherwise it's a beautiful and well decorated hotel with a lovely swimming pool.

Did not get that great service and warm welcome from both the ladies at the reception.

Perfect location and tuk tuk drivers easily accessible just outside the hotel. All in all if they can fix the telephone problem and give slightly better service - it's a winner!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19AS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you were bothered by the fact of not having a phone in your room. We decided to do so as we don’t want to disturb the guests so that they can fully enjoy their stay. Nevertheless, I can understand that if you have a request, it might be uncomfortable to go downstairs to the front desk. But we are happy to read that you enjoyed staying with us and we hope to have you back next time you are in Phnom Penh.
Best regards,
Stéphane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This hotel really is an oasis in the middle of Phnom Pehn.

The pool area is wonderful, with 5 great separate cabana areas surrounding the pool. There is really nice vegetation and it is fabulous to spend an afternoon pool side, being relaxed and cool.

The restaurant area is adjacent to the pool, and they can also serve you food and drinks right to the cabanas on the other side of the pool. There is a decent menu for a small hotel, and the food is good, fresh and great value. We ate there most of the time. The breakfast is good, with a choice between an American breakfast and a yoghurt/fruit type breakfast. The servers are efficient and fun.

The rooms are large, with really unique decoration, mostly concrete, ie, the wardrobe, desk etc. The bathroom is large and well laid out. Water pressure can be sporadic, so try to take your showers outside peak times, ie, shower before 7.00 am and after 9.00 am. The mattresses can be very hard, so request a soft mattress upon booking.

The staff are really great, most with a very good command of English. They are efficient and friendly. Management is always on hand if there are problems.

The only problem with the hotel is that they let in non guests to use the pool (for a fee). This practice is wide spread throughout Phnom Pehn. This hotel tries not to allow groups into the pool area and the cabanas are reserved for hotel guests, however, the pool fee paying clientele can block walkways as they lie trying to catch the sun. The management will ask the pool guests to leave if they misbehave so have no hesitation to tell the manager if they non hotel guests bother you.

I would have given this hotel 4 to 4.5 stars if the practice of allowing people to use the pool was not in place.

I will definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a soft mattress when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyandLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Wendy and Lyn,
Thank you for having taken the time to write a comment on TripAdvisor. We are happy to have you with us again and that you appreciate our menu. Indeed, all our dishes are freshly prepared. As you mentioned, it is a widely used practice here in Phnom Penh to accept outside guests using the pool. We have several former hotel guests who now live in Phnom Penh and come every now and then back for lunch and a swim. We have several measures in place in order that our hotel guests are not disturbed. You are right by mentioning that if there is a problem we might not have picked up, one should speak to us. With regard to the water pressure, we have installed a pump a few months ago and therefore, if the pressure is weak, it only comes from the city supply. There is nothing we can do about it, but fortunately it does not happen very often. We are looking forward to have you back here at the 252 soon.
Best regards,
Stéphane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We got a very good price ($50 incl. taxes) at the last minute via agoda.com and wondered if there was a catch. Not so. We arrived in the dark and immediately felt comfortable when we entered. It has a pretty garden, pool, bar and dining area. We were too tired to explore the neighbourhood so ate in. I'm not normally one for hotel food but it was very good. The rooms are more modern than traditional (check out the TA photos). Ours was on the ground floor near reception but i wasn't disturbed. If I'd been staying longer I would have preferred a room with more natural light but for the one night it was fine. The staff were helpful in phoning the bus and taxi companies for our trip to Sihanoukville, and we left feeling we'd struck very lucky. It was excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Ground floor room on right hand side does not have much natural light but otherwise very comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iuncus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Emm,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear that you felt comfortable here at the 252. While booking through Agoda, we are unable to contact the guests and therefore unable to discuss the room. Next time you plan to visit Phnom Penh, please contact us directly through our website. The rooms are at the same rate but with the advantage that you can choose the floor you would like to be on. Nevertheless, we have several returning guests who explicitly want to stay in our ground floor rooms. With regard to our restaurant, it is very important to us that everything is prepared freshly. I guess that makes the difference with several other hotel restaurants. We hope to have you back next time you visit Cambodia.
Best regards,
Stéphane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.6 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
0.8 mi away
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
#4 of 281 in Phnom Penh
684 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 281 in Phnom Penh
2,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
G Mekong Hotel
G Mekong Hotel
#11 of 281 in Phnom Penh
314 reviews
0.2 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#16 of 281 in Phnom Penh
1,255 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#21 of 281 in Phnom Penh
1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the 252? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the 252

Address: Street 252 #19, Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#13 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: £36 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — the 252 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Phnom Penh and the 252, the boutique hotel in the heart of Phnom Penh, the Pearl of Asia – step in, lean back and relax. With 19 spacious and stylish rooms decorated by Tendance Khmère©, the swimming pool surrounded by a leafy tropical garden, the bar and restaurant, we aim to make your stay extraordinary and unforgettable. The 252 is conveniently located in a quiet area close to the striking Independence Monument and within walking distance to the popular Street 278 with its shops, restaurants and bars. The Quay Sisowath, the Royal Palace, the Central Market and the National Museum are within 5 minutes drive by tuk tuk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your the 252 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 252 Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing