We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just as good second time around” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of the 252

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
the 252
Ranked #12 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Just as good second time around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

My second stay at the Hotel 252, sadly for only one night.

We were on the third floor, so lots of steps but after eating all that delicious food at the restaurant we needed them! Simple room with wooden floors, had everything we needed. I love the bathrooms here as they have a seperate shower recess! Great Aircon.

Breakfast is terrific and plenty of options to keep even the fussy eaters happy!

The pool!! This was one of the reason why we stayed this trip, we were on our way to Kampot after arriving from Nepal and wanted a chill out day! It did not disapoint.

Staff are very friendly, helpful and appoachable.

It is a fair way out from riverside, another plus in my eye's! But only a $2 Tuk tuk ride to get there or to most other places. As we are repeat visitors, riverside does not interest us at all.

A terrific stay and it will most likely be our PP home, l highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnG62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Ann,
Even if it was for one night only, we were happy to have you back with us. And thank you for having written again on TripAdvisor. We hope that you will have a bit more time when you next come to Phnom Penh.
Best regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    772
    331
    74
    22
    6
See reviews for
201
500
132
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

This hotel is well located (25-minute walk or 10-minute tuk-tuk ride to the Royal Palace. Also, it is a quick walk to the BBK1 district and the Independence Monument). We stayed four nights in total and found it to be a very comfortable and well-fitted small hotel. Service is professional and polite albeit a bit distant for a hotel of this size. Breakfast is adequate - either swiss or continental breakfast. I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo_R554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Leo,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us. To be located in the heart of BKK1 is a big plus as it is a safe area close to many place of interest. We hope to have you back at the 252 next time you visit Phnom Penh.
Best regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We spent a week at The 252, and I always looked forward to coming back to the hotel! As soon as you stepped through the heavy wooden gate you were in a little piece of paradise. The lovely pool, and the cool and green environment as you walked in, not to mention the lovely staff who were always welcoming, was a real delight and a break from the noisy, dusty and chaotic streets of Phnom Penh. The restaurant served a great range of food for a tiny little kitchen, both local and western offerings, although the small kitchen and variety of dishes sometimes meant you had a fairly long wait. So order in advance, and give yourself time to enjoy a refreshing smoothy or cocktail around the pool while you wait!

Probably the only downside to this hotel was that there was no lift, so lots of stairs if you were staying on the second or third floor. Definitely request one of the ground floor rooms if this is a problem for you.

The rooms were simple and clean, the beds were hard but that was soon fixed when I requested a softer mattress topper.

While this is not the most luxurious hotel in Phnom Penh, it felt like the perfect level for me. Clean and comfy with everything you need, without being too over the top like some hotels I saw. When you are visiting people during the day who have almost nothing, you did not feel like you were being too extravagant while staying in this hotel. And the haven like atmosphere provided the perfect environment to wind down and comtemplate all the amazing sights you had seen in Phnom Penh that day!

I look forward to returning to The 252 one day!

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor or first floor room if you have trouble with stairs. Ask for a room overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Tina,
Thank you for having taken the time to write on TripAdvisor. We were happy to have you and your friends with us. Indeed, our garden area with the pool and the cabanas is a peaceful retreat from the busy city. Our restaurant serves Asian and Western dishes, all made from fresh ingredients, the reason for which it might take a bit longer, especially if you are group and order at the same time. But as you mention, one can sip a cool cocktail. We are looking forward to have you back here with us soon.
Best regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed two nights in Phnom Penh at The 252 and really liked the hotel. Rooms were stunning, with the best shower we found on our trip, really nice modern design and clean. Breakfast was delicious, especially the juices. Hotel has a great pool with outdoor seating/lounge area. Staff were friendly and very helpful too.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckieLouise87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear BeckieLouise,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed the design of the rooms and your stay here at the 252. It is true that our walk-in shower are very much appreciated by our guests.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Cambodia.

Best regards,
Stépane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maleny, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

So lovely to walk through that wooden door from the hot street to find this gem! Great ambience and friendly lovely staff who couldn't do enough for us. My 15 year old spent some time alone there whenever he was tired of sightseeing and was well looked after. Meals good with plenty of variety, plenty of choice from the bar. Pool clean, pool seating areas kept clean and tidy. As it is not too big, the hotel was an area of quiet calm in a fantastically crazy city. Our first room on 2nd floor was a bit better than the next one on the 3rd floor which had a tired looking wood floor. The location was perfect, a short tuk tuk ride to most sights. Enjoyed our time there very much.

Room Tip: Balcony room might be nicer next time, although the back rooms were very cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 000feebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear guests,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you all enjoyed your stay with us, especially that your son could spend some time around the pool when he was not fancy on sightseeing. Regarding the rooms on the third floor, unfortunately you stayed with us just before we renovated the rooms! We changed all the furniture and the rooms are now shining in new splendor. We hope to have you all back here at the 252 next time you are in Cambodia.
Best regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

I really liked the 252, a very modern little hotel, clean spacious rooms, good breakfast (although not buffet, but still great) and even a great pool, wonderful to unwind at after an exhausting day of sighseeing. The only downside would be that there is no elevator and our room was on the last floor, so it was quite the climb after the said exhausting days and a little hard with the bags. Location is average, having to take a 10 minute taxi/tuk tuk ride to city centre. I would recommend it for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sfslg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you mentioned, it takes about 10 minutes tuktuk ride to the riverfront, but the hotel is located at walking distance of the Monument of Independence and the popular Street 278 with its restaurants, bars and shops. We are looking forward to have you back here at the 252 during your next visit to Cambodia.
Best regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at the 252 over New Year's Eve for two nights. We arrived as guests and left feeling like family! Stephane and co. at the 252 did everything in their power to make our stay as amazing as possible, from the warm hospitality to the exceptional amenities at the hotel itself.

Walking through the front door from Phnom Penh's hot, busy and noisy streets after a day of sightseeing, you'll feel like you're in an oasis that's isolated from the outside world. From the pool and lounge, bar and restaurant areas, to the lovely, clean and wonderful rooms, we were impressed with every single thing during our stay. It was our first trip away from our toddler, and it delivered beyond our expectations.

We can't give enough praise for Stephane and the 252 family for the amazing hospitality, and meeting (and anticipating) our every need while we were there. This includes the amazing New Year's Eve company - we ended up cancelling our night out on the town to stay in the hotel with other guests and hotel staff (who were also included in the celebrations), by the pool with wonderful food and drinks and even better company, and the local knowledge and suggestions of places to eat, and things to do and see.

All in all, highly recommended. This is my first TripAdvisor review, although I've used it many times, I've never been that impressed to warrant writing a review. So here it is! We'll definitely be staying here on our next trip to Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear Tanah,
We are very pleased that your first TripAdvisor review goes to the 252, thank you very much. And thank you for having spent the New Year's eve with the 252 team, it is always a very special for all of us. We hope to have you soon back here at the 252.
Best regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.6 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,334 reviews
1.1 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#2 of 274 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#5 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,847 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
0.2 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#19 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the 252? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the 252

Property: the 252
Address: Street 252 #19, Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#13 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#25 Best Value Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — the 252 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Phnom Penh and the 252, the boutique hotel in the heart of Phnom Penh, the Pearl of Asia – step in, lean back and relax. With 19 spacious and stylish rooms decorated by Tendance Khmère©, the swimming pool surrounded by a leafy tropical garden, the bar and restaurant, we aim to make your stay extraordinary and unforgettable. The 252 is conveniently located in a quiet area close to the striking Independence Monument and within walking distance to the popular Street 278 with its shops, restaurants and bars. The Quay Sisowath, the Royal Palace, the Central Market and the National Museum are within 5 minutes drive by tuk tuk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your the 252 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 252 Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing