We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money”
Review of the 252

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
the 252
Ranked #12 of 272 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The rooms are a good sizes and clean, however its location leave a lot to be desired. at least 15 minutes from town and restaurant. The breakfast was a bit short on choice compare to other hotels we stayed at on oue trip.

Room Tip: value for money, look around you might find better
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuck1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for your review. The hotel is located in Boeung Keng Kang 1 which actually is the city center. Street 278 is within 5 minutes walk and offers a range of restaurants and shops. With regard to our breakfast, we serve either the traditional continental breakfast with eggs and toast, mini-baguette with butter and jam, and some fresh fruits, or the healthy Swiss breakfast with yogurt, cereals and fruit salad, and mini-baguette with butter and jam.
We hope to welcome you again next time you are visiting Cambodia.
Best regards,
Stéphane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,255)
There are newer reviews for the 252
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

352 - 358 of 1,255 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

We were asked on check-in if we would prefer a mattress topper, and I would recommend this for a softer bed. After a brief wait whilst they organised this, we were shown to our ground floor poolside room. My husband initially had some reservations about being poolside, as he thought noise and privacy would be an issue, but we had no problems with either. In fact by the end of our 3 night stay we were pleased to have had this room for it's convenience.

The room was nice and I liked the fact that the room had a ceiling fan plus an air con unit. The walk in shower was a great size, water pressure good.

The pool area is small but really nice - you had to move around to catch the sun as there were quite a few shady areas. The cabanas are nice but can get busy, particularly at the weekend.

Breakfast options were continental swiss or a cooked breakfast, eggs cooked to order, and was very good. Coffee was the best out of the places we'd stayed in Cambodia, you get a little cafetiere per person.

We didn't use the tuk tuks stationed outside the gate, instead we walked around the corner to the petrol station where there was always one waiting which would negotiate a fair price. There's a well stocked supermarket just around the corner - turn right when leaving the gate, left at the corner past the petrol station, left again and a short walk later, you'll see the Lucky Supermarket across the road. There are also a few nice bars and restaurants in the lower end of streets 278 & 288, behind the supermarket, which are a little quieter and cheaper than those in the main bar areas of the city. All in walking distance.

Tip: If using a local laundry service be careful not to include any items of clothing you would be upset to lose. One of my husband's t-shirts went missing when using a laundry around the corner - they checked out the back, couldn't find it so just shrugged their shoulders. Not a great deal you can do. Perhaps we should have used the hotel laundry service instead - lesson learned!

All in all we enjoyed our stay at the 252 and I would definitely recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LargoGarbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for having taken the time to share your experiences here at the 252. We are happy that you were pleased with the ground floor room, it is true that these rooms are very convenient. Our garden/pool area has been arranged in order to preserve the existing trees and the greenery offers a cool shaded spot in the bustling hot city. With regard to the tuk tuks outside the gate, fair prices have been discussed with them and are displayed at the front desk.
Thank you for recommending our hotel to our friends and we hope to have you back with us next time you visit Cambodia
Best regards,
Stéphane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Our plan was to spend only one night in this hotel and we were there for five at the end. The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean and the pool area is a nice addition. If you like to walk, you can easily reach the town center and if not than you will always have a tuk tuk near by. Breakfast is good. The lunch/dinner menu is not extensive however you can get to a resaurant easily in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 205GlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We were happy to have you with us for longer than only one night. Phnom Penh, once known as the "Pearl of Asia", offers plenty of things to do and one can easily spend several days in the bustling capital. With regard to our menu, we have a variety of Asian and Western food, as well as Cambodian specialties to meet everyone's taste. It is important to us that all dishes are prepared from fresh ingredients and for this reason the menu might not be as extensive as you wished.
We hope to welcome you back here next time you visit Cambodia.
Best regards,
Stéphane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed two nights at the 252 in the first week of our S.E Asia trip. Though one of the most expensive hotels of our holiday, we were very happy with our choice: this is an extremely clean, comfortable and well-run set-up, with lovely bedrooms, a fantastic pool area, and excellent staff. Great touches include ever-refreshed supply of pool towels, as well as goggles, iPod speakers in the bedroom, happy hour cocktails, luxurious pool booths, DELICIOUS smoothies, and supply of tuk-tuk drivers right outside the door. The staff were also extremely helpful organising our onward travel to Siem Reap. We had one minor glitch with hot water supply but otherwise this place is very hard to fault. I suppose the only absence we might have felt ever so slightly was that particular extra spark of character or charm that you might anticipate of a boutique hotel, but that's easier to say than to pinnpoint (or to create!). Generally, a great and thoroughly recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Girlin177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to read that you fully enjoyed your stay here at the 252. Please apologize the issue with the hot water supply, we have checked the hot water tank that supplied your room and resolved the issue.
We hope to welcome you next time you are in Phnom Penh.
Best regards,
Stéphane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We really liked to stay there! Clean, friendly reception, wonderful swimming pool. Great breakfast and free wifi! The employers are very helpful and very friendly!they let us take a shower before we left and offer free drinks when u arrive, also help with anything if you will ask. I highly recommend to stay there!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Diana,
Thank you for your kind review here on TripAdvisor. Your compliments have been forwarded to our staff.
We hope to see you next time you visit Cambodia.
Best regards,
Stéphane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

we spend 4 week between Myanmar and Cambodia and this is for sure the best Quality/price hotel that we have.
For 60$ per night what can you awaiting more as a smily staff from the morning to evening and really helpfull! The location is perfect while not close from the very touristic river front, but really central you are in a few tuk tuk minutes in all the interresting city place. My wife get a really good body massage here.
The owner was always present to help and advice for tips for us last destination in Siem reap.
The cabanas around the pool are a perfect place to make a rest after a city visit and to enjoy some delicious cocktail.
All together the lonely planet are right a terrific values for money.
we have just a regret that to leave after 3 nights....

Room Tip: take a deluxe room 10$ more for a nice view are ok
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear James,
Thank you for your nice review on TripAdvisor. We are happy to read that you fully enjoyed your stay here at the 252 and we hope to have you back next time you visit Phnom Penh.
Best regards,
Stéphane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

i'll start with telling you how awful Pnom Penh is; it's scummy, gross and full of dodgy bars. the 252 is not. it's nice clean and secure. the location is average, the pool is nice, staff is friendly and the food is average. i'd go back if i was forced to stay a night in that city.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huskey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear guest,
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy Phnom Penh! Should you be forced to come back, we would be happy to tell you more about where to go and what to see as we believe that the city, even though very busy, has plenty of interesting spots.
Best regards,
Stéphane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.6 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 272 in Phnom Penh
2,508 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
1.1 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 272 in Phnom Penh
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#22 of 272 in Phnom Penh
1,647 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#8 of 272 in Phnom Penh
1,984 reviews
0.2 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 272 in Phnom Penh
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the 252? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the 252

Address: Street 252 #19, Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#13 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: £32 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — the 252 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Phnom Penh and the 252, the boutique hotel in the heart of Phnom Penh, the Pearl of Asia – step in, lean back and relax. With 19 spacious and stylish rooms decorated by Tendance Khmère©, the swimming pool surrounded by a leafy tropical garden, the bar and restaurant, we aim to make your stay extraordinary and unforgettable. The 252 is conveniently located in a quiet area close to the striking Independence Monument and within walking distance to the popular Street 278 with its shops, restaurants and bars. The Quay Sisowath, the Royal Palace, the Central Market and the National Museum are within 5 minutes drive by tuk tuk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your the 252 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 252 Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing