We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis of paradise in the bustling city of Phnom Penh” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of the 252

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
the 252
Ranked #12 of 273 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“An oasis of paradise in the bustling city of Phnom Penh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

A wonderful 2 day stay at the 252 where we were treated with great attention and the wonderful cheerful spirit of Cambodia. The rooms were wonderful, poolside and bar relaxing and highly pleasing to the eye. It also happened to be my birthday and the staff very happily worked with my wife in running out of the hotel, buying a cake and keeping it all a surprise from me. The staff were also very happy to arrange an extension to our check-out as we had a later flight. Would most definitely stay at The 252 again as this has indeed been a wonderful experience! 5 STARS!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sachith_Nair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Sachith,
Thank you for the 5 stars review. It was a great pleasure to have you and your wife with us during. We are happy that you enjoyed your birthday here with us and we are looking forward to have you back soon.
Best regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    774
    331
    74
    22
    6
See reviews for
201
502
132
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Couldn't have asked for more, always helpful at the front desk and the bar, nothing was too much. Felt Very safe and away from the noise whilst still in a perfect location. Big bed, massive room. Tours organized through the front desk always delivered. Would highly recommend to all.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lissy1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Lissy,
Thank you for your kind review here on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you had a perfect stay here at the 252 and we hope to have you back with us next time you visit Cambodia.
Best regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

A good place to spend a couple of days with very friendly and helpful staff.
Nice atmosphere a good combination of vegetation and swimming pool.
Nothing out of the ordinary but also nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Qugulet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the atmosphere. We hope to welcome you again.
Best regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

booked the hotel after reading the recos @ tripadvisor. Trust me really worth every penny. Rooms are all very clean. The hotel location just a stone's throw from all the main attraction & 2$ by tuktuk.Staff was very helpful. Value for money !!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anand2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Anand,
Thank you for your nice review here on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to have you back with us next time you are in Phnom Penh.
Best regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

The moment we checked in and realised that my husband had left his passport on a desk in Phnom Penh airport we were in a panic, the hotel manager and receptionist were on hand to reassure us and take control, they got straight on the phone to a taxi driver requesting that he check with the desk for our passport, he did, it was there, he picked it up for us and kept it safe until the next time he was dropping off at the 252 when he passed it to reception (how great is that!). We found the service extremely good, all of the staff friendly and helpful. The bar staff funny & charming.

The rooms are basic in terms of decoration however they have everything you need, they’re comfortable and spotlessly clean, good aircon and good tv reception. My only comment would be that there is no mirror in the bedroom so (ladies) when you’re getting ready you have to do it in the bathroom which is warmer and if you’ve had a shower it is a bit steamy, a small mirror on a stand on the desk in the bedroom would be great.

The food isnice, reasonably priced (cheap actually) as were the drinks. Breakfast was good, nice eggs! The hotel is well located, with most things a short tuk tuk drive away. Tuk Tuks!! What an experience, we used Nin, he’s one of the guys who appears to be associated with the hotel, he wears a straw hat. He was the best driver and tour guide for us, a very lovely man who made sure we were safe and looked after for the entire stay in Phon Penh.

The pool area is lovely and the pool is exceptionally clean, the whole place is exceptionally clean. There isn’t much space to sunbath by the pool as the setup is to provide shade unless you’re in the water, this didn’t matter to us it’s too hot in the direct sun anyway.

Without a doubt good value for money, I would recommend this hotel to anyone. They also provided one of the best massages throughout our trip to Cambodia and Vietnam.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor, it was pretty quiet... I don't think you can completly get away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chezzer_chez_chez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Stephy,
Thank you for having taken the time to comment here on TripAdvisor. We were very glad that we could help by bringing back the passport of your husband so that you could fully enjoy your stay here in Phnom Penh. Thank you for your comment regarding the mirror, we are currently checking for the best solution. We hope to have you back with us next time you visit Cambodia.
Best regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

My family stayed here for two nights in May & thoroughly enjoyed our stay - we didn't want to leave!!

We arrived much earlier than anticipated (5:30 am) after getting absolutely no sleep on the night bus. I thought it very unreasonable to be allowed to use our room so early but was hoping to leave our luggage and then explore until usual check in hour (2pm). We were greeted warmly at the front gate and assisted with our luggage to reception where, after the usual formalities, we were given our room keys. I could have cried with happiness at this point. It had been a very long night and with two children it was shaping up to be an extremely long day. All three of us were asleep in minutes!!

We stayed in room 2 - on the ground floor to the right of reception and it was perfect for us. The kids had easy access to the pool, the room was cool and dark, the beds were perfect and the size of the room was appreciated.

All the staff that we had dealings with were polite, efficient, courteous and friendly. They helped us with arranging private transfers to Sihanoukville. We ate at the restaurant and I enjoyed a cocktail (or two!!) from the pool bar which were delicious.

I wouldn't hesitate in recommending the 252 to my family and/or friends & I would definitely book again if/when I return to PP.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Returning to the 252 was a joy. The staff are still wonderful and the new management have made an impact on what was already a good hotel. This little gem should not be missed if you are staying in Phnom Penh.
Thank you to Sophea, Davy, both Daras, Somali and all the staff that looked after us so well.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolsAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Carol,
Thank you for your kind review on TripAdvisor. It was a great pleasure to have you back with us here at the 252 and hope to see you soon again.
Best regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.6 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 273 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,338 reviews
1.1 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#2 of 273 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#6 of 273 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,850 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#22 of 273 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
0.2 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 273 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the 252? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the 252

Property: the 252
Address: Street 252 #19, Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#13 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#25 Best Value Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — the 252 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Phnom Penh and the 252, the boutique hotel in the heart of Phnom Penh, the Pearl of Asia – step in, lean back and relax. With 19 spacious and stylish rooms decorated by Tendance Khmère©, the swimming pool surrounded by a leafy tropical garden, the bar and restaurant, we aim to make your stay extraordinary and unforgettable. The 252 is conveniently located in a quiet area close to the striking Independence Monument and within walking distance to the popular Street 278 with its shops, restaurants and bars. The Quay Sisowath, the Royal Palace, the Central Market and the National Museum are within 5 minutes drive by tuk tuk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your the 252 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 252 Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing