We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service lovely, rooms a bit haphazard”
Review of the 252

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
the 252
Ranked #13 of 281 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We only had one night in Phnom Penh on this occasion, so it is hard for me to comment on the location of this hotel - but I think fairly central. Plenty of convenience stores nearby. The pool and outdoor bar / restaurant are lovely, and it certainly feels like an oasis in a busy city. You would never guess it was behind the wall, but as soon as you enter it is peaceful. The staff are lovely and we were allowed an early check in.

Really the only issue we had was with the rooms - and just general stuff like doors locking etc. They are a little tired (third floor more so than the others - and also the third floor had shared balconies which is not ideal), but definitely quite a groovy design. For this price range, I can see that this place is a good option. Unfortunately the door in our first option would not lock. Next room (ground floor) was musty. So we upgraded to a deluxe room (ie, balcony), but the door to the balcony would not lock. Eventually we got the 4th room which was fine, just a bit musty in the bathroom, which we think was the drains. We didn't think the air conditioning would be strong enough to genuinely cool the room - but were proven wrong (and bought the staff a drink to admit it!). Had a nice meal by the pool, and great sleep. The very helpful people there booked our bus ticket for the next day.

So - in summary - just check all the stuff in your room works, and be ready for a nice place that is just a tad tired. But life by the pool is lovely. And the people even better. After all - this is Cambodia!

Room Tip: Ideally 1st or 2nd floor. Tiled floors and less stairs to negotiate. And individual balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJMCD67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us even you had the issue with the locks. Even though we check the rooms on a regular basis, we are always more than happy to have the feedback of our guests should something not work properly. With regard to the air conditioning, it is true that it needs a few minutes to cool down the room temperature, especially during the hot season.
We hope to have you back here at the 252 next time you visit Cambodia.
Best regards,
Stéphane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

336 - 342 of 1,289 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

The 252 was a bit of a treat for us in Cambodia whilst on honeymoon. Whilst more expensive than regular hotels in the city, we chose the 252 for its pool and large, comfortable and stylish rooms. We didn't regret it, this is a great place to stay. When you're in the courtyard you don't feel like you're in the city but with a short tuk tuk ride you can easily reach the main city attractions and others like the killing fields are also accessible in about 35 minutes on tuk tuk too. We had a duluxe double which had a large bathroom with big walk in shower, perfect to freshen up after a hot day of sightseeing. The pool area is great for cocktails and to enjoy the nice inclusive breakfast too. The staff here made us feel very welcome and I'd definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K82London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Honeymooner,
Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience while staying with us. We are happy to read that you did not regret to have chosen to stay at the 252 and that you fully enjoyed your time with us. We hope to have you back next time you are in Cambodia.
Best regards,
Stéphane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed at the 252 for 3 months and can definitely recommend it to future travellers.
First of all, the location is ideal, right at the intersection of Phnom Penh's 2 main streets and just a short tuktuk ride away from all the important sites. Amenities are great, with a gorgeous pool surrounded by cosy couches and coffee tables where you can enjoy the delicious food and cocktails or just take a nap. I was there for the whole summer and it never felt crowded, there was always a spot for me to chill out near the pool.
The rooms are spacious, as advertised, and have a really cool modern concrete look, with matching colours on the pillows and curtains (I think the top floor has wood instead of concrete). Everything was very clean and the bathroom and shower were AWESOME.
The best has to be the service and staff, who did a great job throughout my stay, always super friendly, accommodating and with a smile. I arrived before checkin and they gave me a room in the meantime so I could shower and relax. Service at the restaurant and pool (you can order anything from the restaurant to the couches) was fast and courteous. Same goes for the hotel's tuktuk drivers (and there's even an airport pickup service!).
Overall an awesome stay. Will definitely book again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 260,405,538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for your great review here on TripAdvisor. We are all happy to read that you fully enjoyed your stay here at the 252. It was a pleasure for us to have you with us and all of us are looking forward to have back soon.
Best regards,
Stéphane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is a nice small hotel. They have a lovely pool and outdoor lounge area and the restaurant serves nice meals, if with a somewhat limited menu. The rooms are comfortable. When I stayed there a few longer term expats were frequenting the public areas. A nice oasis from the surrounding teeming city. One drawback, it is not located near the palace and river, but in a back street some miles away. But a short tuk-tuk ride gets you where you need to be.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool is better than the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Steve,
Thank you for your review. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay here at the 252 and we are looking forward to welcome you next time you visit Cambodia.
Best regards,
Stéphane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Phnom Pehn is a big noisy and dusty awesome city. The 252 was a lovely oasis amidst the noise of the City. The food was some of the best hotel food I,ve ever had (and we travel lots). The pool is awesome! It's so hot in that city so a pool is a must. And this pool has great little chill out spots all around it. The staff were really great. Very very helpful and would go out of their way to make us comfortable. I highly recommend this boutique hotel. We are in our mid 30's and did a lot of back packing in our 20's but we're over that now and just want nice clean hotels with good design and service. The 252 is perfect for our needs. Plus it's good value for money if you want comfort and good service. We had a good stay here that we are returning next week for a few nights when we're back in Phmon Penh :)

Room Tip: The rooms on the front of the hotel look over the pool and have a verandah; a nice place to sit and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Rachel,
Thank you for your nice review here on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you fully enjoyed your stay with us and we passed your compliments to our kitchen as well as to all other employees. We hope to have you back with us next time you are in town.
Best regards,
Stéphane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in the heart of Pnomh Penh and could have stayed longer. The pool is lovely and the staff (now I know that this is nothing special for Cambodia) very friendly and charming. The rooms are quiet large and clean! Yes clean!
However for my taste there were too many children in this hotel and therefore the atmosphere was also quiet loud. But this was probably an exception. The happy hour cocktails are amazing :-) cheap and refreshing. This place is warmly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Stéphanie,
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and sipping a cool cocktail close to the pool. We apologize for the noisy children, this happens occasionally only and we always try to keep the acoustic level reasonable. We hope to welcome you back next time you visit Cambodia.
Best regards,
Stéphane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

When we arrived at The 252 and one of the staff members pulled back the large gate from the hustle from the busy streets. I thought wow. This looks super

We were taken through to reception and greeted with a welcome drink whilst we checked in.
We were handed our room key and shown to our room. We had the downstairs room next to the bar area. At first I thought oh no this could be noisy. How wrong was I. I opened the door to a very spacious clean and cooled room.
I was very happy with the size of the bathroom and the water pressure.

The first morning we had breakfast and headed out. We arrived back mid afternoon and found it very easy to get a little booth by the pool.
We also ate in there in the evening and had an array of freshly cooked food which was hard to fault.

The pool was very clean at all times. One of the cleanest I have seen.
All the staff were amazing and very tentative to your needs.

Overall the hotel was the best I have stopped in, in Cambodia and at a very affordable price to all buffet or high end

I have already recommended you to others.

Keep up the good work. Definitely would go back again

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alex N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Alex,
Thank you for your nice review here on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed your room and your time here with us. Indeed, our staff does an amazing job day by day and we are very thankful to have them as they make the difference. We are all looking forward to welcome you back next time you visit Phnom Penh.
Best regards,
Stéphane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.6 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
0.8 mi away
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
#4 of 281 in Phnom Penh
684 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 281 in Phnom Penh
2,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
G Mekong Hotel
G Mekong Hotel
#11 of 281 in Phnom Penh
313 reviews
0.2 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#16 of 281 in Phnom Penh
1,253 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#22 of 281 in Phnom Penh
1,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the 252? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the 252

Address: Street 252 #19, Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#13 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: £36 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — the 252 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Phnom Penh and the 252, the boutique hotel in the heart of Phnom Penh, the Pearl of Asia – step in, lean back and relax. With 19 spacious and stylish rooms decorated by Tendance Khmère©, the swimming pool surrounded by a leafy tropical garden, the bar and restaurant, we aim to make your stay extraordinary and unforgettable. The 252 is conveniently located in a quiet area close to the striking Independence Monument and within walking distance to the popular Street 278 with its shops, restaurants and bars. The Quay Sisowath, the Royal Palace, the Central Market and the National Museum are within 5 minutes drive by tuk tuk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your the 252 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 252 Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing