We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but a little unusual”
Review of the 252

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
the 252
Ranked #11 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice but a little unusual”
Reviewed 6 September 2010

I booked this hotel, as maybe many others have, given its1 of all hotels in Phnom Penh rating. It has many plus points, the staff, its true are very nice, and guy on the desk, Stephane is helpful and very pleasant, always ready to give you his advice on where to go, how much a tuk tuk should cost etc. Its clean, modern and has a nice boutique feel about it. However I found the rooms a little strange. I like minimalist interiors, but this is perhaps a bit too much. True, there is a Flat screen TV, fridge, safe, nice bathroom in black slate, but it lacks something. It is basically concrete, the bed is concrete, the wardrobe is concrete, and of course the walls and floor are concrete. Resulting in loud corridor noise, and a strange cell like feel to the rooms. They have been specially designed but I just feel some modern art on the walls, maybe an oval rug to take the coldness out of the floor would all enhance the experience.
That said, the breakfast was great. By the pool, no choice which suited me fine. Eggs, Bacon, Toast good coffee (in a cafetiere), juice and rolls with jam and butter - come on guys what more do you want for breakfast. All incl at $50 per night for a twin room.
Its a little out of the action, we took four tuk tuks back and none of them knew where it was. The fact the name is the same as the street helps. Take a card from reception when you go out with the address in Khmer.
Above all else, do take their taxi service from the airport. For $12 its a steal, and do use their driver to take you round. he is a lovely guy. His name is Theary Leab, he speaks good English and there is nothing rip off about him at all. No carpet shops, diamond factories, brothers garment store tours here. He took us to all the sights, temples, killing fields etc, over a 6 hour period for 35 bucks. Not once did he suggest somewhere where he might make some money and we did not wish to go. 100% recommended. A really nice guy who enhanced our stay at the 252. Do use his service and ask for him by name at reception, you will not be disappointed.
All in all, a fine stay, I hope the hotel does well, its unusual, but great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are happy to read that even though the design of the rooms did not fully meet your taste, you fully enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have you back next time you are in Phnom Penh.
Best regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    783
    333
    75
    22
    6
See reviews for
202
508
132
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sandvika, Norway
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

I stayed for two nights early September. My room was overlooking the pool and had a balcony. Besidee the pool was the cafe/restaurant. This was the place to gather to chat with the owner and staff about the day and plans for the next day. The mojitos made by Kim were excellent.

I took up the offer of using Jean-Pierre as a guide for a 5 hour walking tour through the city ($35). It was very interesting and can be recommended.

The room was very nice and clean. The shower didn't have any shampoo though and as i arrived through the airport (no liquids over 100 ml on board) I had to do without. Free internet that worked well. All in all a very pleasant stay. I will definitely stay here next time I visit.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Milk-Sheikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the252, Manager at the 252, responded to this review, 9 September 2010
Thank you for your positive review.
We are currently looking at a selection of bath products available to our guests. (In the meantime, we have a limited selection of items available at the reception for emergencies.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
261 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2010

The hotel room was very nice and they gave me a discount for being a solo traveler which was nice of them. Room and bathroom were clean and spacious.

One thing that could be improved were the curtains, they are very thin and let a lot of light in. I had the room on ground floor, the window looks out at the building behind it and this building keeps a light on all night shining straight onto the bed.

The pool is very nice, especially after a hot day of site seeing.

Breakfast is a bit limited but tastes good and was fine for me and it's nice it doesn't end at a certain time.

Location is a bit further out than other similar hotels and because it's new the tuk tuks and motos have some trouble finding it.

Wifi worked great too.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaNLCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the252, Manager at the 252, responded to this review, 9 September 2010
Thank you for your positive review.
The thin curtains are mainly for decoration purposes, each window has additional opaque curtains (which you might have missed).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We stayed for a couple of nights in August and we certainly loved it. We stayed in about 7 different hotels during our trip in Cambodia and the 252 was hands down the most memorable one (and we stayed in a lot more expensive ones too). First of all the managers, Stephane and Jerome, were really so nice, kind and professional, always there and making sure that you were fine. It's a brand new hotel and you couldn't tell, as it's run very smoothly.

We travelled with 2 young children, and although the crowd were certainly more young couples (though there were also a few more families) we never felt ackward or not welcome to be there with kids. Indeed they offered to charge only one of the 2 extra beds, but at the end as we only used one they didn't really charge us more, which was very kind of them.

The rooms were quite spacious and very funky. The toilets very modern and trendy. The whole place is so well decorated, you can see how every single detail has been carefully planned with such flair and good taste.

The breakfast was outstanding, not only how tasty the food was, but also the presentation was amazing. I certainly can't understand how some other reviewers have complained about it. It was really great that it was not served as a buffet and that there wasn't even a deadline, you could ask for your breakfast whenever you woke up (apparently the record stands at 1pm!) So much better than some 5 star hotel breakfasts.

My only criticism (and being really picky) would be the location, as the road was not a very nice one and there was nothing nice around . But to be honest, I think that's the way Phnom Pehn is: I didn't see nice areas, but every road is quite ecclectic and you have a great villa and then some horrible slum like places right beside it. And there was always a tuk tuk outside if you need one.

All in all, a lovely hotel, probably one of the few nice things about Phnom Pehn and an oasis to come back to after all the chaos, noise and mess that this city is.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jujuhaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for having taken the time to write on TripAdvisor. We were happy to have you and your family with us. Should you have the chance to come back to Phnom Penh, we would be very happy to welcome you again. You will see that the city has changed a lot and the area we are in has improved a lot since you have been here. What has not changed is our staff, which is still running our hotel with so much care.
Best regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

This newly opened hotel left us with big disappointments. We spend 3 days here and every morning we woke up at around 7 am because of the noise of 4 close by construction sites.
Lets talk about the rooms. They are all certainly very well designed as the whole hotel but they lack a lot of small things that one could expect of a hotel in that class. First of all sometimes design seems to be higher rated than function - our room did not have a bathroom door. You could sit on the toilet and talk to your friend on the bed - an intimacy not everybody might like. The bathroom ammentities did only consist of two small bars of cheap soap - we got much more in hotels here that cost not even a third of this one. Also not convenient: there is no telephone in the room to call reception - you have to walk down to them if you want something. And you better do not forget to ask reception for switching on your A/C (which is turned off while you are out) because they will not do it automatically once you asked for the room keys and since there is no phone you walk all the way back down. Also there is no "Do not disturb" sign - I have never experiences this before. The rooms have a balcony and some small vent holes in the walls - none of which has screens. Therefore we needed a mosquito net - we were happy we brought one with us. But for beeing the most expensive hotel we stayed at in Cambodia, we would not have thought we need a mosquito net there.
The breakfast was the next disappointing thing: a bun and one toast, bit of jam and butter, eggs for the ones who do not look at cholesterol. So bread and jam it was for us - no fruits no joghurt nothing. Only the coffee was good.
The pool - to which we had been looking for - was not usable upon arrival. The color was unhealthyly green and they had clearly a problem with keeping it at the right balance. After adding some chemicals they promised that we could use it in a few hours. Which some guests did but still the color did not look too good.
The hotel manager who is always around approaches guests to ask for their well beeing but you get nothing except an appology for the inconvenience - I mean come on they have a bar, offering guests a drink on the hotel to make up for the noise and the unusable pool can`t cost them that much.
Another inconviniences, was a very badly communicated room change. At the end of our breakfest we were informed, that we have to change our room, all of a sudden. We got help moving our stuff, but nevertheless it was a bit annoying.
All in all really not worth the 55 Dollar. We stayed in Cambodian hotels for 18 Dollar a night that offered much much more.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Toggi303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the252, Manager at the 252, responded to this review, 31 August 2010
Thank you for your comment. We appreciate your feedback which gives us valuable information to continue to improve service at the 252. Unfortunately there is nothing we can do about the construction work in the neighborhood. This situation is transient but we are sorry that it bothered you during your stay.

For reservations made through certain online agencies, we do not receive any contact details of the guests and therefore we just can communicate any changes upon guests’ arrival. The door of the bathroom had broken, this information was given to you during your check-in, and we urged to fix it – the reason for which you had to change your room.

The 252 cares about environmental protection. For this reason A/C are always turned off while our guests are not in their room. We usually switch it back on when the guests are back in the hotel. We apologize if we missed to do so and you had to walk down to the reception.

Our breakfast consists of bread and toast with butter and jam, a fruit juice and a bowl of fresh fruits. For any guests enjoying a more copious breakfast, eggs and bacon is included. We would encourage you to communicate any disappointment right away so that we can make your stay and especially your start into the day more enjoyable.

We fully understand your disappointment with the pool. Believe us, it is quite a challenge to find the right balance and to keep the ph value stable during the rainy season! Since the opening of the 252 two months ago, we encountered this problem once. We do our best to become experts and to overcome such instabilities in future – bear with us.

We take your comments regarding the missing room amenities into account in order to fully satisfy our guests in future.

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

This place is beautiful and only a few months old. Lovely big rooms with cool bathrooms. The pool area is great, with fantastic little pavilions you can curl up and read a book. The owners are knowledgable about the local area and make you feel very welcome. Prices are really good value. Good restaurant and free wifi.
Only downsides are that there is building work going on next door that ruins the tranquility - however, this seems to be the case across Phnom Penh! Also, it was hard getting tuk tuk drivers to find the place, partly because its new but also I think because there is much confusion that the hotel has the same name as the street!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pimlico2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. By the way, we are very lucky today not having any construction works in the neighborhood (which is an exception for Phnom Penh). We hope to have you back with us next time you visit Cambodia.
Best regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Rochelle, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

I definitely recommend this hotel where we have had a great stay! The hotel localization is perfect, the staff is helpful and friendly, bedrooms spacious and relaxing...
What else could we say? We have had so nice holidays thanks to everybody!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Voyageuse73-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your nice review. We are looking forward to have you back with us here at the 252.
Best regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.6 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#9 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,406 reviews
1.1 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 269 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#6 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#22 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
0.2 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the 252? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the 252

Property: the 252
Address: Street 252 #19, Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#13 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — the 252 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Phnom Penh and the 252, the boutique hotel in the heart of Phnom Penh, the Pearl of Asia – step in, lean back and relax. With 19 spacious and stylish rooms decorated by Tendance Khmère©, the swimming pool surrounded by a leafy tropical garden, the bar and restaurant, we aim to make your stay extraordinary and unforgettable. The 252 is conveniently located in a quiet area close to the striking Independence Monument and within walking distance to the popular Street 278 with its shops, restaurants and bars. The Quay Sisowath, the Royal Palace, the Central Market and the National Museum are within 5 minutes drive by tuk tuk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your the 252 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 252 Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing