We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of the 252

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
the 252
Ranked #11 of 265 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

The hotel is centrally located but at the same time a real oasis of calm and relaxation in busy Phnom Penh. Thw swimming pool is absolutely great and, unlike many of the other chic boutique hotels in PP, kids are allowed (and welcome). The restaurant is very good but the menu is rather small (but the manager will help you order in if you exhaust the menu). The manager, Stephane, was really welcoming and gave us some really good advice on what to do and where to go, plus many insights on life in PP and Cambodia in general. The rest of the staff was really nice as well and made us feel welcome. The triple rooms are larger but do not have a view so if you can choose the deluxe double for a pool side view. They also organized a taxi for Siem Reap at a very reasonable price ($55 I think). The atmosphere is definitively European and boutique, but at the same time it's not pretentious, we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank alainjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your kind review on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you again here at the 252.
Best regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    780
    333
    75
    22
    6
See reviews for
201
507
132
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

The 252 is a great home away from home. The hotel is beautifully designed and detailed. Rooms are spacious and comfortable, each with its own character, complemented by local textiles. The pool and dining area is a relaxing urban oasis –set among beautiful tropical plants. The hotel location is ideal for those wanting to be on the periphery of the tourist area – close enough to the sites that they can be reached by a short tuk-tuk ride, but far enough away that hotel guests can experience a slice of local life. A short walk from the hotel entrance you will find local food spots and cafes, and a few steps beyond that, more western-oriented restaurants, internet cafes, spas, and clothing and souvenir shops. The owner and manager, who are very knowledgeable about Phnom Penh, go out of their way to help guests orient themselves to the city, and provide suggestions for things to do, places to eat, culture to encounter… Within the hotel they create a warm, friendly atmosphere. They truly go above and beyond the call of duty to make sure guests enjoy their time in Phnom Penh. The scale of the hotel is perfect; small enough to get personalized attention and large enough to provide a variety of services and to make for a pleasing social environment. Recommended unequivocally.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank aegolius1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for having taken the time to share your thoughts here on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is true that the hotel is conveniently located not only for sightseeing but also to experience the local life. We hope to welcome you back next time you are in Phnom Penh.
Best regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2010

Hard to find if you are walking on the street, but a taxi or tuk-tuk driver will probably know the way. You enter into a beautiful little oasis garden with a pool, a poolside cafe/restaurant and little private lounging tables on wither side of the pool. The rooms are amazing, minimalist elegance and a fun colour palate. Very friendly French/Swiss owners and managers can help you arrange tours around the city, but don't pressure you into signing up for anything and give good advice about outside food and shopping. Breakfast included in the morning was great with delicious coffee. We love walking everywhere, but you can take a short tuk-tuk or taxi ride to the central sights of the city if you prefer. Highly recommend this place to treat yourself, enjoy the pool, the food, the ambiance, and relax!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank monkeyjelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have you back next time you visit Cambodia.
Best regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2010

Room
Big, nice minimaliste decoration.... Flat screen TV with DVD player, and MP3 speaker for ipod/Iphone very clean
Staff:
Helpfull, very good english and some french for sophea ;-). Bus and taxi service very good no problem!
Location:
No direct to the river... But near the street 278 a street with some nice bar and restaurant and some local expat peolple... 5 mn to all the local attraction... 2$ each times or 10 to 15mm walking...
Restaurant: / Bar
Sooooo good! Try pasta 252 and chicken Salad and mojito....
I stay 3 times there during my stay in Cambodia... was the best hotel i have in asia this year!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ldubois_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your nice review on TripAdvisor. Some things have not changed since you have been here, we still have the best mojitos in town ;-), the chicken salad and the pasta 252 are still very popular, and the staff is still the same… We hope to have you back with us next time you are in Phnom Penh.
Best regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

I stayed at the 252 this August while working on a project. My experience there was wonderful! The rooms are gorgeous and decorated beautifully and the location is away from the touristy areas (but easy and quick to get to restaurants and other destinations). The hotel restaurant prepared fabulous Cambodian and other dishes, and the staff was lovely and very accommodating. Also the guests are a nice mix of people from all over the globe who were there for business or vacationing. The owner was incredibly generous with his time, helping me with travel plans and figuring out the city. I always felt very comfortable and enjoyed my time there very much. I of course plan on staying there again!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jttw27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your positive review on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, although being on a business trip. We hope to have you back with us next time you are in Phnom Penh.
Best regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2010

Very spacious room with air con and fan. The concrete furniture may be trendy but we find the atmosphere a bit cold. There was no shampoo, shower gel, etc. in the bathroom so make sure you bring your own. The shower was not strong and a bit fiddly even though it is only a few months old.
The best feature of this hotel is the swimming pool which is a good place to socialise.
The manager was helpful in recommending restaurants and places to visit. But we were let down by the receptionist on night duty. They forgot our morning call and neglected to inform us when the mini bus came in the morning even though they confirmed the tickets for us the night before. The hotel's tuk tuk driver is very reliable and efficient and speaks good English so we will definitely recommend using him for getting around. Unfortunately there was a lot of building work going on next door so it was very noisy in the restaurant area.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for your review and your comments. We are always glad to receive feedback from our guests in order to improve our services. All the points you have mentioned have been taken into consideration. The bathrooms have been equipped with shower gel and shampoo, and a pump has been added to improve the water pressure. With regard to the building works, today we are in the lucky situation that there are none in the neighborhood. We hope to welcome you again next time you visit Cambodia.
Best regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baden, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

We stay 5 day there with me wife.

The staff is fabulous and the Swiss/french Manager as well... always present to help you to prepare your itinery.
The room are cosy, with a nice decoration, we change the room while the hotel was fully book, and we have the chance to look the wood and the concrete fllor, 2 diferrent view of a very nice Hotel. We prefer the concret one, more design, more trendy for us! I think for 55$ for the deluxe room you can really not have better in this city.
The pool area wqas really nice, and the bar restaurant serve a very good food, don´t forget to try the Pasta 252... delicious with the Kim Mojitos!!!!
The hotel is located close to a nice area 5 mn walk, wit h a lot of bar and restaurant! In a few minutes with a tuktuk you will join all the touristik place like S21, Royal palace etc... I dont unterstand the other people witch are dissapointed for the location!!! Do you can´t walk 5mn? We are in Holiday... no stress!!!!
The breakfast jam was incredible.... and the cofee too....
We will stay again next year at the 252... And this time we will try the Jean Michel tour... We miss it this time, Jean Michel was in Kep!
Paolo and sarah

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paolo_and_Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Owner at the 252, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Sarah and Paolo,
Thank you for your nice review here on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed you stay with us. And yes, the hotel is conveniently located to discover Phnom Penh by walking, which is the best way to spot all the curiosity of the city. We are looking forward to welcome you again here at the 252.
Best regards,
Stéphane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.6 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#9 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,376 reviews
1.1 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#2 of 265 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#6 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#22 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
0.2 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the 252? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the 252

Property: the 252
Address: Street 252 #19, Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#13 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — the 252 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Phnom Penh and the 252, the boutique hotel in the heart of Phnom Penh, the Pearl of Asia – step in, lean back and relax. With 19 spacious and stylish rooms decorated by Tendance Khmère©, the swimming pool surrounded by a leafy tropical garden, the bar and restaurant, we aim to make your stay extraordinary and unforgettable. The 252 is conveniently located in a quiet area close to the striking Independence Monument and within walking distance to the popular Street 278 with its shops, restaurants and bars. The Quay Sisowath, the Royal Palace, the Central Market and the National Museum are within 5 minutes drive by tuk tuk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your the 252 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 252 Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing