We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying in Phnom Penh.”
Review of Hang Neak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hang Neak Hotel
Ranked #126 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Sedgefield
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Staying in Phnom Penh.”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Stayed here in Jan 2014 . Booked on the internet before we arrived
$22 a night with breakfast. Arrived from Battambang and took tuk tuk to it.
Decent hotel, little way out $3dollars into town
Roof terrace where you can have breakfast, eggs, toast, coffee.
Staff really friendly and helpful.
As it was Chinese New Year gave us $1 drinks token for good luck.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room as better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PatsySedgefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    35
    20
    6
    7
See reviews for
11
30
9
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed there 2 nights and the hotel it Self is clean and good for the prize but not in the best location. The staff there can't help you at all because they hardly speak any English for example we were trying to get the room key and they didn't understand the number 8 so it took us a little time to explaine it to them and they say that there is a breakfast included and it is almost not possible to call it a breakfast that have a small menu with juice,toast,French toast , fruits, pancake with syrup, and eggs when we asked for the toast they didn't have it same with the French toast, fruits, and syrups so we ended up having egg and pancake with no syrup in breakfast so I would no recommend having breakfast there but the room was really good and cosy bed :-)

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank YrsaIvarsdottir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salinas, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We enjoyed the friendly staff who treated us like family. The restaurant serves excellent quality Asian food at low prices. The tuk run drivers outside r friendly and offer good rates without much hassle. It is conveniently located by city mall and Olympic market. They also have an electrix kettle in your room, which was very thoughtful for foreign travllers. We miss the staff and would go back.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jubacath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We travel to Cambodia on a regular basis so we have tried many different hotels Hang Neak is now our only hotel we stay at when we arrive in Phnom Phen the staff are very helpful the rooms are clean and it is close to a lot of good places to eat as well as the stadium,markets and other attractions it is about a 2 dollar tuk tuk ride to the riverside much the same to sorya market and royal palace great hotel and value for money in quiet very safe location keep us coming back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank bernie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis023, Manager at Hang Neak Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear Our Oz Friends,

Thank you very much for once again choosing to stay with Hang Neak on your trip to Phnom Penh. We strive to provide your family with best services and hope to see you guys soon. Keep warm and enjoy this winter back home and say hi to the children for me. Thanks.

Regards,
Vanak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
203 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013 via mobile

Other reviews state the location is poor but all attractions are a $2 tuk tuk ride away so didn't bother us.
The rooms are really clean with good wifi, fridge, air-con, tv and nice bathrooms with plenty of hot water. The hotel itself is 5 star in its category and the staff have a good level of English and are friendly. The only reason I deducted a star is because of the restaurant. It is located on the 8th floor with a nice view of the city but both the food and the service were terrible. Given the standard of the rest of the hotel I hope they improve this aspect but doubt it!
We would definitely stay again for the rooms and the value.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis023, Manager at Hang Neak Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Dear James119,

Thank you for providing us this helpful review. We hope you had a wonderful stay. We are working on improving the restaurant menu and facilities. Thank you for your suggestion.


Regards,
Vanak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2012

This hotel only suits local business or tourist clienteles. You get what you pay.. It is a cheap hotel.
Hot water was too hot and difficult to control. Internet services are poor and very slow. Their 2 desktop PCs were too old. Whilst the staffs were extremely polite, there was absolutely no tourists brochures and maps. Tourists did not know where to go. The hotel should sponsor a few reliable tuktuks that can speak a little English. I had given some feedback to the hotel.
The roof top restaurant was very good.....

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis023, Manager at Hang Neak Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Dear our Aussie Travel,

Thank you very much for your recent feedback, we do appreciate your time and effort. Hope you have a great experience in our country.

Regarding to your comments made on the 28th of July, we do want to apologise for the inconvienient cause by our hot water system. This is a long term issue involving our green solar energy. We could not get the equal amount of sun light each day which make the hot water unstable.
In addition to your concerns about the internet speed, this is a country wide issue as our internet infrastructure can't be compare with the internet speed in developed country. We have tried to switch from serveral internet service providers from broadband to fibre optic, but there is no significant improve and does not gurantee to get all of our internet users on the same speed.

In the future, we will attempt to install a water temperature control mechanism and upgrade our two desktops computer. There is nothing we can do about sponsoring Tuk Tuk, as this is a cultural issue, the more competence the drivers are, the better chance they are being hire, so there is no incentive for them to stay in one place just to get that little subsidy. It is just a matter of luck when you travel around Asia countries, you don't hold high expectancy for people to speak fluent English. Regarding the tourist brochures, we used to stock plenty of them, however due to the unforseen demand from our guests, we haven't been able to order some new maps. Again, we do apologise for the inconvienient and hope you have had a pleasant experience with our service.

Hope I answered most of your concerns and provide some inherent cultural issues.


Regards,

Vanak Kit


The roof top restaurant was very good.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
64 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I cant really fault this hotel.
Staff very friendly.
Free internet.
Nice roof-top restaurant with views over the city.
Walking distance to some attractions.
Nice rooms with good TV selection.

Only downside is its a long way from "downtown" or near the water etc. But in PP city, everything is a $1 or $2 tuk tuk drive away so who cares?

I wholehartedly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank booyeahSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis023, Manager at Hang Neak Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Gudday our valued Sydney traveler guest,

Thank you so much for taking time to load your review and hope you have had a good time in Phnom penh. We are looking forward to see you again on your next trip to the city. If you have any suggestions that might improve our service, we are delighting to hear any responses from you with great effort to enhance our customer's satisfaction.

All the best for your study or work.


Cheers,

Vanak Kit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
1.7 mi away
Sovanphum Guesthouse
Sovanphum Guesthouse
#111 of 267 in Phnom Penh
101 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Mou Hotel
The Mou Hotel
#219 of 267 in Phnom Penh
68 reviews
0.5 mi away
Salita Hotel
Salita Hotel
#82 of 267 in Phnom Penh
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Phkar Chhouk Tep Monireth Hotel
#171 of 267 in Phnom Penh
5 reviews
1.8 mi away
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
#74 of 267 in Phnom Penh
198 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rose Emerald Hotel
Rose Emerald Hotel
#93 of 267 in Phnom Penh
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hang Neak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hang Neak Hotel

Property: Hang Neak Hotel
Address: 14, Street 201 | Khan ChamkarMorn, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Hotel Class:3 star — Hang Neak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hang Neak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing