We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go unless you want to loose money”
Review of Kriss Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kriss Guesthouse
Ranked #182 of 321 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't go unless you want to loose money”
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Turned up for our reservation to be told they had no record of it. Despite having various confirmation emails and a 10% deposit being taken out of our bank account by the hotel, the staff refused to give us our booking.

We ended up having to get a more expensive, worse room than the one we had originally booked. They wanted us to pay there and then so we tried to pay by card, however after much under the desk activity we were told it hadn't worked and we could pay upon check out.

When we to check out we paid cash, without receiving the pre paid deposit off our bill as "they had no record on their end of our booking." We cut our losses, paid and waited for our taxi.

While we waited we checked our online banking and realised we HAD been charged for the hotel and had therefore paid twice!!! Despite showing the staff the proof, they refused to give us our money back! Absolutely shocking customer service, the staff refused to listen and despite us trying to explain politely we were shouted at in return.

The hotel is also in a bad location, near absolutely nothing and you are required to get a tuk tuk everywhere you want to go.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    21
    25
    10
    10
See reviews for
Families
0
23
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We arrived late from our scheduled time of arrival (because of the trouble inside the bus we rode from Siem Reap) and they refused to honor our bookings.

We were too tired and would not want to waste time to argue. Perhaps, it was already late at night an we were in an unfamiliar place.

We looked for other rooms available and paid US$7 for a non-AC twin room. That room wasn't bad and is comfortable even without A/C. We wasted the few bucks we paid from the deposit.

We checked out early in the morning (4:30) AM to catch our bus to Ho Chi Minh. My other two companions who were on the other room upstairs went down first (30 minutes earlier) and told the caretakers that we were going to check-out. At that time, I just got out from the shower and still had some loose stuff to pack. The caretaker then knock my door really hard, he told me that he is going to check the room. I told him to wait since I wasn't done yet. After 10 minutes, he knocked again - he was there the whole time and was impatient. I kept the door wide open and had him watch what I was doing.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms in the lower level because the don't have any elevator. And, by the way, there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sole_iAn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

The staff was everything but friendly. When they did something for you which was usually some kind of natural,- they wanted extra money for it. When you had questions and they know they won't get anything for answering they are unfriendly and want to get rid of you ASAP. Traveling alone as a girl I felt very unsafe. The room was dirty but not too bad and for 6$ I didn't have any expectations anyways but I was shocked by the overall atmosphere and how I was treated as a guest.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirabelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

The place looked good from the outside, but actually we would not book again.

The staff was not too passionate about helping the guests. They responded when approached, and did their job, but that's it.

We had a 11$ room, which felt not too new, which is okay for the price.

The absolute nogo: The condom packagings of former guests left in the bathroom!! This gave us an absolutely disgusting feeling about this place.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Markus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights because it suited our budget. It was a lot of uneven stairs to get to our room. There was a bit of a smell in the hallway but the room was ok. It was quite small but clean and comfortable bed. The window looks out at the wall of the building next door where there was a crying baby in one of the rooms for about 3 days. Reception sold a few things like noodles, drinks, chips and there are always tuktuks outside. Not a whole lot in the area restaurant wise but its cheap to get a tuk tuk anywhere. This hotel is not bad and provided what we needed but nothing memorable or making me want to stay there again.

Room Tip: Try not to be up too many floors because its all uneven stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

The location of this hotel is pretty good but the staff don't care about the customers and is not friendly at all. The room was clean but i had to ask to have soap or towels. Internet was very slow and 2 of the four computers available were broken...

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank louloulyon126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We booked a private room, it was about 9 USD a night, which isn't bad for two people but it was filthy. It looked like the sink and toilet had never been cleaned. The two nights we were there our 'fresh' towels had crusty something on them and we had to return them and ask for new ones. The new ones were still a bit damp from the previous wash. AC was 2 dollars extra [to get the remote]. Everyone was friendly but it didn't make up for the grossness.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hhruhling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
Capitol Guesthouse
Capitol Guesthouse
#109 of 267 in Phnom Penh
119 reviews
0.7 mi away
Good Morning Guesthouse
Good Morning Guesthouse
#17 of 321 in Phnom Penh
150 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#9 of 267 in Phnom Penh
2,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,114 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,618 reviews
1.4 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 267 in Phnom Penh
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kriss Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kriss Guesthouse

Property: Kriss Guesthouse
Address: #34, Street 111 | Sangkat Boeng Prolet, Phnom Penh, Cambodia (Formerly Spring Guest House)
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 321 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kriss Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing