We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Top Banana Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Top Banana Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

This has to be ones of the cleanest hostels I've seen on my travels so far.
Rooms have a modern twist, big beds!
Shared bathroom with is kept very clean.
Dorm got cleaned every day including moping!
Good atmosphere

Room Tip: Always chose the bottom bunk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny-star1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    115
    55
    12
    16
See reviews for
3
70
131
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Top Banana has everything you could want in a guesthouse. Affordable, clean rooms; amazing and very helpful staff; good food; a brilliant rooftop bar for partying and meeting other travellers, locals and expats; and the perfect location. Even if they are fully booked and you can't stay there, you should go there for a drink.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nell1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

my first visit to top banana was on my first solo visit to south east asia and i have never been made to feel more welcome! by the end of my first night i was joining staff and other guests on a night out! and by my departure a week later i left having made friends for life. the atmosphere in top banana bar and restaurant is always fantastic with excellent drinks promotions and the food is delicious! the comfy been bags and sofas make it the perfect spot to chill out and meet other travellers, and the DVD area on the first floor has plenty of movies to choose from, perfect to chill out and recover from all the partying fun. Since my first visit I have returned to top banana several times and have been impressed by the expansion of the food menu, and renovations to the accommodation. Top Banana is now not only a great budget option for those looking for good value rooms to share with friends (either with or without A/C) but also has a good choice of mid range options with large comfortable ensuite rooms which are beautifully furnished. I have lived and travelled extensively through south east Asia and cannot express enough what a fantastic place Top banana is and the happy memories it has given me. The only problem is you will have so much fun you may be in danger of not leaving! Be sure to leave your mark like other travellers by writing a note on the walls, as Top Banana will leave its mark on you for ever. X

Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank saraowen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

This is a super convenient place to stay that puts you in the middle of everything. Lots of great places to eat close by and short distances to get to riverside or tourist places. However, it was the worst two night's sleep I may have ever had. I didn't last the 5 days I had been planning on spending there.

I got attacked by some sort of bed bug in the night and the music was unnecessarily loud. I know hostels can get rowdy and loud, and the vibe at the bar is alright, but this took it to another extreme in excessiveness. On a block full of hotels and guesthouses you could hear the music 2 blocks away--kind of disrespectful to anyone trying to sleep, for both people at Top Banana and for what is probably a hundred other people staying nearby.

It is an easy place to mingle and meet people, and that counts for something and definitely cheap, but music blaring till 2am every night is a bit much, I don't think there's a room in the place you can actually get some sleep in. The insects in the night didn't help with that either.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Top B, General Manager at Top Banana Guesthouse, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
We are very sorry that your stay with us was not what you expected. We do take bed bugs seriously in our hostel and take all precautions to try and keep them out but unfortunately sometimes this is brought into the hostel. In the 13 years Top Banana has been open, we have had issues with bed bugs just three times and all in the last 2 years. Each time we have spent a great deal of money using professional services to clean and de-bug the rooms. Please could you email us (topbanana.guesthouse@gmail.com) and let us know which room you stayed in so that we can check the room, we have had no other complaints recently and had a check of the rooms with no sign of bed bugs or other insects, so unsure which room it could be.

The bar can get quite lively but we close at 1am every night so if music was keeping you up until 2am, it wasn't us. We do enjoy a good party and so do most of our guests. but we understand this is not for everyone and we apologise for disrupting your sleep, come for a drink next time you're in Phnom Penh and we'll be happy to recommend great places in the area that might suit you better, until then enjoy the rest of your travels and be safe on the road, thanks again for your review, take care x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Room price was reasonable and the room was pretty nice, spacious, and comfortable, with A/C optional for more money, and hot showers. Would encourage them to offer at least a towel to guests - only guesthouse I stayed in Cambodia that didn't offer one.

Fantastic location right in BKK1, super close to a lot of great restaurants and bars. A quick ride to the riverside or Russian Market as well. Step out of your room onto the street and there's tons of great food and drink within walking distance.

Staff was young, cool, and helpful. Great place to base my travels from as they had solid info on buses and motorcycle rental. Knowledgeable and friendly drivers seemed to congregate outside the guesthouse, definitely had better luck with them than other tuk-tuk drivers elsewhere in the city.

Beer was cheap and cold, food was good as well. Lots of Western selections for the homesick traveler.

Only caveat is that the Top Banana is a really, really popular night spot for the backpacker crowd, and rocks all night with people and music. It was fantastic for meeting and mingling, but my room was right below the bar, and the one night I hit the sack early it was pretty hard to sleep with all the noise. So if you're looking for a quiet spot to base your adventures, probably not the best option.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Joshua R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

I'm living in Phnom Penh for a couple months. My house was under construction so I needed to stay somewhere, I chose top banana. I came here a couple of times before for a beer.
The dorms are nice and cool with the ac.

The staff is great! Very relaxed and open to all kinds of conversations.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sophie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

A good location for hitting the bars and restaurants. The staff was helpful but seemed a bit distracted. The food in the bar/restaurant was really good, try the bagels for breakfast! The room was fine, but noisy at night, as it was not possible to close the top windows.
A classic backpacker hostel with lots of opportunities to meet other travelers.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Patio Hotel & Urban Resort
Patio Hotel & Urban Resort
#20 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
1.6 mi away
Eighty8 Backpackers
Eighty8 Backpackers
#6 of 210 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.7 mi away
SLA Boutique Hostel
SLA Boutique Hostel
#3 of 210 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
One Up - Banana Hotel
One Up - Banana Hotel
#1 of 332 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.3 mi away
Envoy Hostel and Tours
Envoy Hostel and Tours
#5 of 210 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aura Thematic Hostel
Aura Thematic Hostel
#12 of 210 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top Banana Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Banana Guesthouse

Property: Top Banana Guesthouse
Address: #9Eo Corner St 278 & St 51 | BKK1, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 210 Speciality Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Top Banana Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Banana Guesthouse Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing