We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice new hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra
Ranked #6 of 270 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Nice new hotel”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The location was alright but not really within walking distance to anywhere. Staff were all very polite and service was good. The club room was spacious, clean and nice. I do agree with a previous review that the lobby felt slightly empty as it was very big but there were not many guests. Overall, I had a very satisfied stay and will probably choose to stay here again for my next trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gnaix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,008
    282
    47
    23
    10
See reviews for
189
485
97
407
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

As you would expect from Sofitel there is nothing wrong with this place, it's just a little out of the main area and surrounded by new builds which means not great views.
Staff were helpful and attentive - there just isn't any WOW factor here.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cleo1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FDeman, Resident Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, 19 July 2011
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your genuine positive feedback and we are glad you chose Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards,
Frederik Deman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold coast australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Remarkable hotel that opened earlier this year. Staff have been trained to the highest level what has been a challenge in this kind of countries. Fine dining restaurants but not at the level of the European standards of Michelin but very good indeed.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahbens0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FDeman, Resident Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your genuine feedback, it really makes the team feel good when their contributions are recognized. With regards to our restaurants I shared your comments with our Fod & Beverage team as there is always room for improvement, however thank you for your comments and we look forward to your next visit.

With very best regards,
Frederik Deman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Staff is excellent, more remarkable the people at the club millesime, as butler Vuthy and Vicheka. They were very kind and make my stay memorable.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuisnessTraveller62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FDeman, Resident Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, 8 July 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback!
We appreciate the opportunity to serve you, and are delighted to hear your desire to return. Our Ambassadors really enjoys it when we get a positive review because it reinforce that they did a good job and like working here.

Thanks again for your review.
Frederik Deman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I booked this hotel almost by accident, another older hotel in Phnom Penh used to carry the Sofitel badge but this one opened apparently earlier in 2011.
Downside is its a bit off the beaten track but Phnom Penh isnt that big so its not a big deal.
The lobby is amazing, it looks like it is a well kept French Colonial building but of course its all new build.
I havent seen a hotel for quite a while that has so many staff. the staff are all attentive and very friendly. All will take the time to talk to you and ask you about your stay and how they can do better.
The French Colonial style is echoed into the guest rooms which are clean and spacious.
The bathroom is magnificent.
Restaurants in the hotel are good if a little pricey. BUT the Italian restuarant staff need a bit of training. I asked for a menu and spent 5 minutes reading it and decided to eat there only to be told by the lady at the door "we are full!"
It might have been nice to tell me this before I wasted my time and whetted my appetite.
Breakfast buffet is outstanding and the variety is staggering.
I just hope this hotel can make it and that they work hard to keep the very pale white and pastel decor clean or its going to look very tired very quickly

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FJB774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FDeman, Resident Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, 18 June 2011
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

Thank you for your genuine feedback and we are glad you chose Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra for your stay in the capital of Cambodia.
Our Ambassadors really enjoys it when we get a positive review because it reinforce that they did a good job and like working here. In response to your comments, we shared your feedback with our Food & Beverage team and continue to adjust and improve on a daily basis.

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards,
Frederik Deman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level 4 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This is probably one of the most luxurious hotels I have ever seen. The lobby is so elegant, the rooms beautiful, you will be impressed.

My only complaint is that they charge $$$$$ for everything - restaurants, internet, phone calls, etc. It is a bit overpriced and you just feel like they are trying to extract as much money from you for everything. Restaurant food quality was okay - at this level of resort, you may expect a bit more.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kauai1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FDeman, Resident Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, 18 June 2011
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

I am delighted to know that you fond your stay at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra memorable and we thank you for giving us the opportunity to improve. I have shared the details of your experience with the entire hotel, including our executive committee, and have taken immediate action to focus our hotel efforts in providing the best service experience our guests are accustomed to.
Thank you again for your very important feedback. We value your business and look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

With very best regards,
Frederik Deman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
2.3 mi away
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
#16 of 270 in Phnom Penh
1,953 reviews
0.8 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 270 in Phnom Penh
804 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#11 of 270 in Phnom Penh
2,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
InterContinental Phnom Penh
InterContinental Phnom Penh
#30 of 270 in Phnom Penh
574 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
La Rose Suites
La Rose Suites
#3 of 270 in Phnom Penh
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra

Property: Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra
Address: 26 Old August Site, Phnom Penh 12101, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#2 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#4 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#4 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#5 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra 5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Hotel Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra is set riverside amongst landscaped gardens in the old quarter of the city, neighbouring the largest Mall in Cambodia, Aeon Mall. This stunning well located 12-storey colonial style hotel is close to key attractions, embassies and the central business district. Along with 201 luxurious rooms and suites with Mekong or Bassac river views, this 5-star hotel offers an array of chic restaurants and bars, an upscale spa, two swimming pools, a sports club and the finest conferencing facilities in Cambodia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing