We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good staff. Impressive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra
Ranked #6 of 277 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2012

High ceiling reception welcomes you when u enter the lobby. Airy, quite and charming. It is a new hotel. Along the main road the entrance to the hotel is not impressive at all. But upon entering and driving through 200 meters, you will arrive at a grand building.
Overall it was a very good stay and wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,018 - 1,024 of 1,453 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2012

The Sofitel Phokeethra is a great business hotel located about 20 minutes from the Phnom Penh airport. It has all of the conveniences of any modern hotel and everything you need for a successful business trip.

The hotel staff were very warm and friendly and the overall service was excellent. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with very a very nice bathroom. The hotel is quite new and everyrthing in the hotel and my room seemded to be in excellent condition. The hotel is a little further away from the city center than other comparable hotels which is one of the only negatives. I ate at two of the restaurants during my stay and both had excellent food and great service. The hotel is a little on the expensive side especially for Cambodia but you can be confident that you are getting a clean, comfortable, and safe hotel with top notch service and all of the business amenities you need for a successful trip.

I would recommend taking a "tuk tuk" from the airport for a real Cambodian experience. It will take about 30 minutes on a tuk tuk in normal traffic and will cost about $7-10 USD.

Room Tip: Great business hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

The hotel has an excellent infrastructure but the service levels are far below what is expected from Sofitel. We have experienced Sofitels in other parts of South East Asia and elsewhere in the world and have never complained before.
The executive club in particular was very poor. Service was minimal; it took 15 minutes or more each time a coffee was requested, drinks were rarely offered during the evening and after waiting 25 minutes for a breakfast order we were told that the food was not available. Perhaps the hotel management should visit the Sofitels in Hanoi or Ho Chi Minh City to see how a club should be run. Service in the bar was also poor.
On the plus side the Italian restaurant was excellent.

We do not recommend this hotel until it improves its staff training and service levels.
We do recommend all other Sofitels we have used in Asia!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saas888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Dear Saas 888,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us.

Firstly, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed our Italian restaurant, Do Forni. However we are naturally very regretful to hear about the poor service you experienced during your stay. We completely understand your frustration of having to wait for 15 minutes to be served in Club Millesime, that you had to wait even longer at breakfast, and that you also experienced poor service in the bar. This is of course far below our standards, and certainly not acceptable. Just as our sister properties in Hanoi and Ho Chi Minh, we at the Sofitel Phnom Penh also take great pride in consistently providing a high service level. I can assure you this was a rare exception. I also will personally see to that your feedback gets passed on to our Director of Food & Beverage and the service team.

Once again, thank you very much for your constructive feedback; it is highly appreciated as it helps us to ensure constant improvement.

We sincerely hope that you will return to us during your next visit to Phnom Penh, in which we will prove to you that our service can exceed what you have experienced during your last visit.

Yours Sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Sofitel honestly does not need any reviews since they have maintained and improvised their service quality and hotel standards worldwide. I obviously elected to stay here during my first business trip to PNH and continue to stay there everytime. The location is fantastic, it is central, the hotel staff are always courteous and very knowledgeable about PNH. They even share quick tourist tips to accommodate tight business schedules (very helpful for 2-3D trips). Check in/ check out is a pleasant and very efficient. I would highly recommend Sofitel in PNH not only because of the Accor advantage but the staff and systems are in place to ensure an extra special experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruddervator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Stayed one night with my partner in July 2012. We had a room on the 6th floor which had amazing views of the city and the pool.
We were wondering how this hotel could possibly impress us after an incredible 5 night stay at the Sofitel in Siem Reap, however upon entering the foyer we were blown away.
Refreshing towels and ice cold drink while we were checked in by the lovely front desk staff. Such a luxurious hotel with very accommodating staff, exquisite food and great location. I was a very big fan of the insanely comfortable king size bed. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NES55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Stayed 10 nights July 2012 with my family. We had 2 rooms on the 11th floor. Great city view.
I fell a little out of place due to the luxurious nature of the hotel. Several VIPs checked in (with red carpet) during my stay. Upon my check-in, I was presented with a cool refreshing scented towel for my hands and face. My family waited comfortably in the grand lobby while the porters attended to our luggage. There was always a door man (sometimes 2) at the 2 large glass doors. The hotel is very clean and always a nice scent in the air. The staff were very attentive and friendly. They all spoke English. My kids enjoyed the 2 large swimming pools, even late in the evening when we returned from our excursions. No late service at the pool, but the head of security brought us towels for our swim. The hotel was gated and a little distance from the busy downtown, but a short cheap tuk-tuk ride solved that problem.

Room Tip: For a great sun rise, ask for 11th floor facing the East. Don't mind the empty lot next to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Overall a very contemporary and clean hotel. We felt it lacked a bit of "soul" due to its location being a fair way out of town and overlooking numerous construction sites. Additionally its large internal voids felt unfriendly and, although the friendliness and warmth of the local staff made up for this, the ambivalence of the western staff in the restaurant and reception was a major detraction.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the construction sites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lenny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles-Henri C, General Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Dear Lenny V,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us.

We are happy to hear that you found enjoyed our modern hotel and found our staff warm and friendly. However, it is with regret we read that you felt dissatisfied with some of our staff in the restaurant and at the reception. Our aim is always to provide service that exceeds our valued guests expectations at every point of contact. I will make sure to pass on your feedback to both our Director of F&B and Front Office Manager. Furthermore, we are aware of our location in the excitingly rapid developing city of Phnom Penh, and we always aim to provide seamless transportation to and from the city.

We genuinely hope that you will stay with us during your next visit to Phnom Penh, for which I will personally see to that your stay will nothing short of spectacular.

Yours sincerely,

Charles-Henri Chevet
General Manager Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
2.3 mi away
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
#15 of 277 in Phnom Penh
2,028 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
0.8 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 277 in Phnom Penh
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
InterContinental Phnom Penh
InterContinental Phnom Penh
#30 of 277 in Phnom Penh
599 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Rose Suites
La Rose Suites
#2 of 277 in Phnom Penh
498 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 277 in Phnom Penh
2,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra

Address: 26 Old August Site, Phnom Penh 12101, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#2 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#4 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#4 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#5 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: £152 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra 5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Hotel Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra is set riverside amongst landscaped gardens in the old quarter of the city, neighbouring the largest Mall in Cambodia, Aeon Mall. This stunning well located 12-storey colonial style hotel is close to key attractions, embassies and the central business district. Along with 201 luxurious rooms and suites with Mekong or Bassac river views, this 5-star hotel offers an array of chic restaurants and bars, an upscale spa, two swimming pools, a sports club and the finest conferencing facilities in Cambodia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelbag, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing