We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Do Not Hesitate, Stay Here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
Ranked #15 of 275 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
593 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“Do Not Hesitate, Stay Here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

Every now and then by chance you come across a fantastic hotel deal which turns out to be a lot more than you expected. For us, staying at The Plantation Resort & Spa in Phnom Penh turns out to be such an event.

Selected because it was within walking distance of The Royal Palace, checking into The Plantation was such a pleasant surprise. Beyond the entrance gate you walk by a beautifully landscaped area with a water garden and wall mounted artwork before you even get to the check in desk.

A smiling and friendly check in staff and I know we have made the right choice. Our room is about US$40 per night and includes free breakfast which is served poolside.

Although our room does not have the best view it is well appointed and nicely decorated in some very cool colors.

Having breakfast by the pool hardly makes one want to leave for sightseeing. A return trip to the pool in the afternoon to relax and or to enjoy a bucket of ice cold Angkor Beer is a must.

To top off your experience have a massage at unbelievable prices and you will know for sure you have made the right choice in staying at The Plantation Resort & Spa.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DMBTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,027
    493
    98
    17
    11
See reviews for
244
697
161
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
176 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

We loved this hotel. Phnom Penh is busy to say the least, but the instant feeling of calm as you walk through into the outer courtyard is extraordinary. Some traffic noise is inevitable, but it is very quiet. The staff are all attentive, and helpful. The pool area is beautiful. The rooms are modern and stylish. All those things and it's a 20 min walk from the Palace and the national museum, and about a $2 tuk tuk ride to the market or the river front, so perfectly situated.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are very pleasant. Block 4 has an outside staircase to access the poolside restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

We arrived here after having taken the long long hot and dirty bus journey from siem reap and I don't think my husband has been more thankful of a hotel choice of mine!

Unassuming from the street we walked in to the peaceful courtyard with trendy art on the walls and large pond in front of a French colonial building. We checked in very quickly and easily and were shown to our first floor delux room with pool view. The pool is amazing, located at the back of the hotel away from the street noise, surrounded by palm trees and other foliage with sunbeds and cabanas all round. It really is a gorgeous sanctuary where we could have stayed for 3 days ignoring sights...

The room was modern and minimalist but warm and comfortable. The bed huge. The bathroom has a walk in shower, not great water pressure but better than that of our other hotel in Cambodia.
All the first and second floor pool view rooms have good views and lots of light. The other rooms appear to be a bit pot luck. Some terrace rooms have a lot of trees and shrubbery so may be a little darker or face the wall on outside border of hotel, so I'd recommend pool view delux room with balcony.

The breakfast was great, huge variety as a lot of different nationality guests. Chinese, English, French, German... So there was bacon eggs, noodles, congee, croissants, fresh fruit, cold meats and cheese etc. breakfast is served by the pool which is super nice. We ate lunch and dinner once in the hotel during our 3 night stay and can say that all the food we ate was very good.

One day we decided to go to the killing fields the hotel suggested a taxi rather than tuk tuk because the journey is very dusty, this was a good call! it took around 10 mins from us booking for the taxi to arrive and take us. They also arranged us a transfer for the airport leaving at 5pm for a 7pm flight which we found out was very silly because it's rush hour and they failed to take that into account so we nearly missed our flight. It's not half an hour to the airport at 5pm! Apart from that blip I'd say the service was great. No problem on the English but then we didn't ask the staff anything too difficult.

The location of the hotel is great for palace etc. it's easy to get anywhere and there are always tuktuks outside waiting for people. The hotel lists out suggested tuk tuk prices for you too to make it easy.

I'd definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family, our stay was fantastic.

Room Tip: Take a delux room with pool view and balcony to ensure good light and nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank want_need_a_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

This hotel is a renovated French building and it still has that French colonial charm about it. The location is perfect, within walking distance of the major city attractions; the Royal Palace, the Silver Pagoda, the National Museum, and the river for restaurants and bars. Tuk tuk’s are just outside the gate for the longer trips and the hotel gives you recommended rates.
The pool area is lovely with cabanas on either side for lazing in the shade, and at breakfast it is a calm outlook for the start of the day. There is a small pool and bar off the main reception courtyard for an alternative location for spending a quiet time reading a book.
My room was on the ground floor with a private patio facing the pool. The bed was very comfortable with a mosquito net. The bathroom was basic but the shower itself was good – very good water pressure.
The hotel Spa also gave a 30% discount for the first hour of any treatment which was perfect for foot reflexology after a day walking around town.

Room Tip: I enjoyed the pool side room with the private patio. Walk through the plants to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

We stayed as a couple at the Plantation for two nights while visiting Phnom Penh. It is a very smart establishment converted from what had been French administrative buildings during the colonial days; the place has a classy “Poirot” feel to it with an abundance of tropical plants.

We had a pleasant room on the first floor with a balcony overlooking the pool and garden. It had a comfortable bed with mosquito net, TV, minibar, and safe. The bathroom had a good, walk-in shower. There are also ground floor poolside rooms if you want to maximize the resort experience.

Food was good with an excellent choice for breakfast. There is a pleasant bar/café for lunch and the dinner restaurant on the upper floor served us a good meal.

The location of the Plantation is fantastic so you can get to many of the key sights on foot. The Royal Palace and the National Museum are just along the road and the river is just a bit further. There are always tuk-tuks outside the gate so longer journeys are no problem.

Room Tip: We had a second floor room overlooking the pool, I would not think having one of the poolside rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DLPtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

This was an island of peace and quiet, very close to the Palace and the Museum. Crossing the roads on foot is really hard so it was great to get back to a very peaceful hotel. They were very friendly we were well looked after. We stayed tree twice. Well done.

The only weakness was the Breakfast and their service was sow sometimes at the bar.

Room Tip: Get a room over looking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rpennie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

I stayed a few nights and the pool was amazing and location fantastic but don't expect to get too many answers if you have any questions

The buffet was simple and could improve considering what you pay and the tour desk you are better off googling stuff because he didn't have a clue and could barely speak English

That said the hotel experience was greet if you want a few relaxing days and the pool area is to die for but don't expect 5 star service if you like being spoil

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deewannasee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#9 of 275 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,302 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#6 of 275 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,820 reviews
1.6 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#2 of 275 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 275 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
0.5 mi away
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
#17 of 275 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.4 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#19 of 275 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa

Property: The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
Address: 184 28, Street, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#8 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#9 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#11 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plantation Urban Resort & Spa is a seventy-room charming and colonial style hotel, located behind the Royal Palace and National Museum, in the heart of Phnom Penh. It is set up in a lush and exotic garden with a main 20 meter natural stone swimming pool and red pool & bar. Facilities include restaurant, two bars, spa, fitness and a shop exclusively dedicated to Cambodian products. An art gallery is surrounding a lotus pond in front of the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plantation Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing