We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in a metropolis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
Ranked #14 of 272 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Totally amazing. Staff everywhere yet quiet and impeccably trained. Nice food, comfy room....hot shower!! Fantastic pool and great discounted massage. We really needed a rest & pamper and for all that we paid (£100 including room, food, drink & massage for 2) I would say this is the best we gave had on our trip into Cambodia by a long chalk!
Royal Palace only a stones throw so perfect for our 24 hr stop over.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank hilary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,795)
There are newer reviews for The Plantation - urban resort & spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

883 - 889 of 1,795 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

I was very happy with my stay in The Plantation. The private driver picked me up from the airport, which was very convenient after a long flight. Staff in general was very nice and helpful and made me ride away feel at home. Breakfast served at the pool is an extra ordinary experience and the fact that one can sleep with open windows, instead of an airco room, where everything is closed, is a big + for this hotel. In the garden at the pool, it was always very, very quiet. It is a very romantic place mainly visited by couples.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed over the last weekend.The staff were very friendly and helpful especially the doorman, he even helped us to locate our driver while we were waiting at the lobby. The setback of the hotel was the mattress was too soft and affected the sleeping quality. Besides it seemed that the swimming pool was not well maintained as the shower for the swimmer to use before plunge into the pool was faculty and we found that the water in the pool was not that clean (may be this was one of the reasons) however I liked the landscape surrounding the pool. Also we were provided with a table cloth with dirt stain on it in one of the morning breakfast. I think the staff should carry out a check before put it into used. Our room has a baloney but we couldn't sit there to relax at all as it faced a empty plot and it was so dusty. So dusty that we couldn't even dare to open the curtains. It was really a very bad view room.

Room Tip: Request a room not facing the empty plot.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKYONG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

we visited for work and therefore my company paid for the hotel. What a beautiful place hotel.

Pros:
Beautiful hotel. delicious breakfast. excellent location. great service

Cons:
crummy cold and lukewarm shower

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shreyahmehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Great hotel! Great design! Great concept!
The rooms might be a little bit small, but the beds are really comfortable and I loved the design.
The breakfast was good and the service was also very helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glueckskrieger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We had a great stay in Phnom Penh using this hotel as home base. It is a very crowded, bustling, and somewhat dusty/dirty city, especially if you're coming from the tourist mecca that is Siem Reap (as we were). The Plantation was a wonderful oasis from the craziness outside. The inside has plenty of courtyard common areas for rest and relaxation. The majority of the staff speaks enough English to get you around, and the place was filled with Western guests (seemed like a lot of Australians).

The check in staff was great, as were the bellmen and concierges. They were not too intrusive, but certainly got us everything that we needed. A very comfortable level of service.

Our room came with breakfast. It was certainly a very hearty breakfast buffet to get the day started, with good presentation. The quality of food was very good; the fruit was a favorite, and the open outdoor dining area was quite pleasant. We went in January and everything was perfect, however, I'm not sure how this would fare in the rainy season or the really hot season.

Some things to be aware of:

1. The bathroom and shower in our room were open to the bedroom. The toilet was closed off... but the lack of shower privacy may be an issue for those who are not quite as intimate with each other =).

2. From a distance, the facility looks great... there are a few details that could really use a fresh coat of paint. (paint peeling here and there, some mildew stains on the OUTSIDE of the building). Now, I'm sure it's really hard to maintain the outside of a building in humid and hot SE Asia, but I think it would be worth the investment.

3. As a courtesy, they have suggested rates for Tuk tuks in the lobby to various destinations. This is really helpful. Be firm with the drivers... there are also a number of drivers who are "friends of the Plantation" and have polo shirts embroidered with that title...

4. We didn't find the hotel's restaurant suggestions very helpful. They would, of course, try to sell you on the hotel restaurant. But, if you want to adventure out, look at TripAdvisor for restaurant suggestions. When we would ask for restaurants OUTSIDE the hotel, they often pointed us to mediocre places... when we went to TripAdvisor, we found this AMAZING place called Pan'am (French Cambodian food) right around the corner to this place. Highly recommend these...

Room Tip: We did not opt for a room with a view, and it was fine. The windows looked out onto more foliage, b...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunapee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Absolutely brilliant!

We stayed on our honeymoon two weeks ago, and they took wonderful care of us, from an upgraded room at check-in to an unexpected "happy honeymoon" dessert delivered to us just after arrival.

The main courtyard pool is excellent, with free cabanas all around, and a quality hot, western-breakfast buffet included in our room.

Our only unhappy note is that the water temperature in the showers is wildly unpredictable, from boiling to freezing and back at random intervals.

Room Tip: Ground floor, facing the pool, is a bit lacking in privacy.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnFromVancity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 272 in Phnom Penh
2,508 reviews
1.6 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 272 in Phnom Penh
823 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#8 of 272 in Phnom Penh
1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#22 of 272 in Phnom Penh
1,647 reviews
0.5 mi away
G Mekong Hotel
G Mekong Hotel
#3 of 272 in Phnom Penh
207 reviews
1.0 mi away
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
#13 of 272 in Phnom Penh
1,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plantation - urban resort & spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plantation - urban resort & spa

Address: 184 28, Street, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#6 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#7 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#9 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#11 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: £58 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plantation - urban resort & spa 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plantation Urban Resort & Spa is a seventy-room charming and colonial style hotel, located behind the Royal Palace and National Museum, in the heart of Phnom Penh. It is set up in a lush and exotic garden with a main 20 meter natural stone swimming pool and red pool & bar. Facilities include restaurant, two bars, spa, fitness and a shop exclusively dedicated to Cambodian products. An art gallery is surrounding a lotus pond in front of the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your The Plantation - urban resort & spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plantation Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing