We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely but noisy”
Review of Europe Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Europe Guest House
Ranked #2 of 325 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely but noisy”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The rooms are clean, the beds rock hard foam, and the showers are good. The owners kids are very noisy in the mornings and as of late, they have construction going on next door that is extremely loud.

If you can tolerate hard beds and noise, I'd definitely recommend it. The employees are very helpful and nice.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jetsfan1457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    266
    57
    27
    12
See reviews for
77
326
149
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago. Good location near the river and rooms good value given your in tourist-town. Hostel doesn't looking amazing from the outside and there was building work going on whilst we were there but none of that mattered as the owner is a gem and made us feel so welcome. I would go back just to see him!! He kindly gave us a little discount too for the noise from the building work, a real gent.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wollebmurc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Really good service from the staff at this guesthouse.
Only problem we found was the building work that was going on but they didn't start until 8/9am so we were awake anyway.
Quite a noisy area of town but didn't cause us any bother.
I would definitely recommend this place for its location near the sights, the very helpful and friendly staff and the value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deanpenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

This guesthouse has it all - for the older (read: not the gap year traveller who just wants to get drunk and make noise) but still adventurous traveler on a shoestring this is perfect budget accommodation. A family run and oriented, clean, spacious guest house a 5 minute walk from the river and all its cafes and restaurants, a 10 minute walk to the Royal Palace and surrounded by bakeries and food vendors.The place doesn't look like much from the outside, but the rooms are the cleanest I have seen in SE Asia and very sunny and large (we got a room with an outward facing window).
a couple caveats: As I said, the place has rules and they do not want loud or intoxicated travellers staying here. Also, there are a few "red light" type locales on the same street so if that bothers you... well, you probably aren't considering budget travel in Asia. Go to the Hilton! Another is the stairs - if you have a problem climbing you may want to consider another hotel as the stairs are quite steep. All in all a great place!

Room Tip: Get a window room for a view of the bustling street below
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monicalups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Glad that I have found this place as Phnom Penh was the first city I visited in Cambodia. Location is good, nearby to some tourist attractions. The owner and staffs were very helpful and have gave me a lot of advices on my trip. They have arranged for me the tuk tuk driver and bus ticket to Batttambang, and recommended to me good restaurant, and also the night market to visit. Great to have a chance to visit the night market, as you will get to meet all the local people there. It was really great to stay there.
The only drawback is the tuk tuk driver. Too bad I just can't remember his name anymore, but I get ripped-off. Charged me high prices with empty promises, and he has left once he dropped me off at the Royal Palace. Not the fault of the guest house though but just think that the guest house needs to be more careful when finding tuk tuk driver for their guest.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YYCheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hangzhou, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2013

The location is very good , not far away from the river and The Royal Palace . All staff are very friendly and helpful , and the food they recommended was very good . The rooms are clean and this guesthouse is perfect for backpackers .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yunjuan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

Couldn't recommend this place more we're so glad we found this on trip advisor! There were four of us so we took the family room which was actually two double rooms adjoined by a door and each had separate ensuite. Fantastic stay. The staff were so welcoming and lovely, Seng the owner gave us so many wonderful tips and advice. The tuk tuk he arranged for us for the killing fields etc was great, he drove well and was patiently waiting for us and asking us where we wanted to go, was very transparent about the price. Actually the tuk tuk drivers who are allowed to park outside the guesthouse are their friends and we never got ripped off using them. The rooms were nice and clean, aircon worked well as did the fan too and TV. The shower was great and loads of hot water. When we returned to Phnom Penh we of course came back and Seng sorted out our Vietnamsse visas at pretty much cost price. Also make sure you eat at the street restaurant just 2 mins left of the guesthouse. Good noodle soup and pork buns, pork ribs on rice for cheap. For riverside make sure you eat at Karma restaurant - amazing Khmer and Western food. Most importantly stay at Europe Guesthouse!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripTommie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
#14 of 267 in Phnom Penh
550 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
#26 of 267 in Phnom Penh
382 reviews
1.0 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 267 in Phnom Penh
2,463 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,624 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europe Guest House

Property: Europe Guest House
Address: 136 No 51 Eo Street | Street 13 ┴ street 136 at 1 bloc near QUAY SISOWATH, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 325 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the cleanest and most conveniently located guesthouses you can find.Flat TV,solar Hot shower,free WiFi,Visa services,airport pick up, bus and Boat tickets reservation. French, English and Chinese spoken.Family room for 4-6 people possible .Room without windows are very quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Europe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europe Guesthouse Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing