We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mosquitoes Galore”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eureka Villas Phnom Penh
Ranked #44 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mosquitoes Galore”
Reviewed 25 January 2011

We stayed at Eureka Villas for 2 nights.

Based on the previous reviews, I was really looking forward to our stay, but was very disappointed. Now, I never write reviews, but this hotel affected me so much that I felt a need to write something.

When we checked in, we noticed that there were one or two mosquitoes flying around in our room. We figured it wasn't a big deal since it was just one or two, and figured that we could just turn on the air conditioner later to keep them away. Then we went out and returned late at night. We turned on the air conditioner, but it was not strong enough. We set it at 16 degrees and it felt like an air conditioner set at 28 degrees. Then there were a lot of mosquitoes flying around. My husband spent at least an hour killing them. We counted about 20. On top of all that, the front office was closed. Then it was a night of sweating it out under the covers (we wanted to keep covered not to get bitten) with a weak air conditioner.

The second night was better. The air conditioner seemed stronger (possibly because less people were staying at the hotel that night) and we only saw one mosquito.

Yes, breakfast is included, however, both days while we were having breakfast, we noticed ants in the napkins used to wrap the utensils. Now, I am not talking about one or two ants, but at least 15-20 ants crawling on one cloth napkin.

The location is great, but I would not recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GlobeTrekker33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eurekavillas, Owner at Eureka Villas Phnom Penh, responded to this review, 29 January 2011
Hi

Thanks for your review of Eureka Villas. My sincere apologies that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our rooms all come with insect spray, and mosquito coils are available from the bar as there is an occasional influx of Mosquitos in Phnom Penh. Please feel free to contact me directly paul@eurekavillas.com to let me know which room you stayed in so I can ensure we get the air conditioning checked asap as our air conditioners are less than 12 months old and are the best systems available in SE Asia.
Once again my apologies that you didn't enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    149
    43
    10
    4
See reviews for
91
136
58
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2011

The Eureka Villas offer lovely rooms, a friendly and helpful staff, a swimming pool and a great location within easy walking distance of the Royal Palace, National Museum and waterfront, at a reasonable price. There was free wireless internet available in all rooms. Phone calls within Cambodia were all free.

The hotel is Australian owned and is associated with an Australian firefighting organization. The managers, Chivorn and Hen, were extremely helpful and very friendly. Both speak fluent English and can help you arrange anything in Phnom Penh. The rest of their staff is also very friendly and helpful.

There was plenty of food at breakfast. It is included in the price, and is generally eggs cooked to order, toast, coffee/tea, juice and fruit every day. This can get a little old if you're staying for a long time, but smaller hotels don't usually offer huge buffet's like big ones do.

The swimming pool is well maintained and they have a nice little bar poolside with $1.00 Angkor drafts.

In addition to the hotel being well run and comfortable, it happens to be within half a block of a street that runs directly to the waterfront, between the National Museum and the Royal Palace, and which is closed off to traffic. The street is tree lined and shaded. What a relief to not have to battle all the traffic!

There isn't much not to like here.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulChiangMai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2011

We had a great stay here. The room was large and clean. Bathroom the same. Wi Fi and safe worked well. The staff were friendly and informative. We enjoyed the pool and a drink after a day of touring. Location was good, close to river and restaurants. Enjoyed our stay immensly.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cocky2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2010

We chose this place because of the other reviews. Booked for one night and ended up extended for two more. The place has a freindly staff and a welcoming atmosphere, clean, has a cozy pool.

Like everything else, location is key, and this place is right in the center. I didn't enjoy Pnom Penh that much, but that had nothing to do with the hotel. A tip, (we learned the hard way), it's a new hotel so it's not very known to the local tuktuk drivers. Carry around the hotel's card, or address or you will be roaming around the streets for hours looking for the place.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fay_fay4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2010

The staff is absolutely charming and friendly!
Also, the location of this hotel is great, very close to the royal palace making it ideally situated to start visiting the city. Rooms were very clean even if the staircase to get there is considerable steep.
There is also an iPad available for guests to surf on the free WiFi if you have no means to do so.

Breakfast service is quite slow but then again serviced so nicely that it is hard to complain.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoMaSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyberjaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

4 of us stayed 2 nights there in a family room. This is the best room we stayed throughout our stays in Cambodia. 5 star rating room with affordable price. The room are very clean, comfortable and secure. Environment are superb with a nice pool and delicious breakfast. The location is good, near to Royal Palace and walking distance to tourist spots.

Staffs are very friendly and helpful. First of all, thanks to Chivorn, as we requested pick up service and replied the very last minute. We're worried that they couldn't make it, and surprisingly once we reach the bus station, the tuk-tuk driver is already there waiting for us. Furthermore, special thanks to Paul as one of my friend lost the key and we needed his help to cut the luggage lock for us. They really provide us excellent service and really warm us like they're always there to take care of us.

We really enjoyed our stay there, felt like being at home. We start to miss the comfy room once we checked out. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeeNing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2010

Spent a week here as a base with colleagues. Really friendly staff - nothing was too much trouble. Sorted out all our complicated arrangements with no problems including organising additional people for breakfast or dinner. Clean and secure - and great for a cold beer after a long, hot day! Thanks guys - will certainly use again if I come back.

Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jonnyjampot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#35 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Kabiki
The Kabiki
#17 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#22 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
0.2 mi away
VILLA Silk Road Hotel
VILLA Silk Road Hotel
#55 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
#27 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eureka Villas Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eureka Villas Phnom Penh

Property: Eureka Villas Phnom Penh
Address: 24 Street 184 | (Behind the Royal Palace), Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#13 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#25 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Eureka Villas Phnom Penh 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eureka Villas Phnom Penh is a boutique hotel, restaurant, and pool bar catering for all your holiday and business needs in Cambodia. Our friendly staff, quality rooms, and selection of additional specialist services make Eureka Villas the perfect place to relax and enjoy your time in Phnom Penh. Eureka Villas is located right in the heart of Phnom Penh, providing easy access to all the sights and attractions the city has to offer. Less than a five minute walk to the Royal Palace, National Museum, and the popular riverside dining and entertainment precinct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Eureka Villas Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eureka Villas Phnom Penh Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing