We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, would stay again.”
Review of Cardamom Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cardamom Hotel
Ranked #36 of 325 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Cork
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, would stay again.”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Beautiful very modern large rooms, with wifi and English channels. Buffet style breakfast which was yum and I ordered room service which was good too although did have ring twice as didn't remember my room no. First time. Little bit of walk from main area but not too bad.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monamahony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    142
    81
    19
    10
See reviews for
29
105
47
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Englander
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I've stayed here a couple of times now and the rooms at Cardamom continue to be a good value. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the amenities are all fairly new. I especially enjoy the breakfast ... the fresh fruit is outstanding (papaya, mango, dragon fruit, etc.). The staff are attentive and helpful. I will certainly stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeteranPuckster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

The lower levels look out to the buildings next door. On one side this is literally about 30cm away. The top levels facing away from the river have great views of the city. I feel the rooms (excluding the issue just mentioned) are quite acceptable for a 3 star hotel in Cambodia.

One thing to be aware of is that the fridge will turn off when you remove the room key! So its only really good for keeping things overnight.

Coffee available in the foyer area is not good. Had some issues accessing the wifi consistently.

Location is good with the markets and other attractions within walking distance. The hotel is on a side street so there is not to much traffic.

There tends to be a couple of tuk tuk drivers waiting across the road and should be able to get anywhere in around the city for $2 USD or less if you know how to bargain.

Room Tip: The top 3 floors facing the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Challis89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu HI
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

I have stayed in many Phnom Penh 2 and 3 star hotels over the past 15 years and decided to try the Cardamom primarily based on its location.

I got a large room on the 7th floor that was rather overpriced. I checked in on a Friday afternoon on the lunar New Year. There is a building of same height immediately outside the window under construction. I asked if the construction noise would be a problem and was told no. Friday – Monday all quiet however on Tuesday morning at 7AM Armageddon broke out next door with high decibel concrete sledge hammers pounding away. The construction noise continued daytime until I checked out on Thursday.

Other than the construction noise it’s a pretty good 2/3 star hotel. Well constructed building but low end fixtures and furniture. Breakfast buffet was pretty good. Get there early before the food has sat out for hours. I twice ordered room service for dinner and both meals were excellent and fairly priced. Lighting in the room is typical of Cambodia 2-star hotels and is quite poor. BYOB (bring you own bulbs). My room had a few maintenance issues but staff fixed them quickly. Staff were friendly and courteous throughout. At checkout I had the SOP false minibar charges and someone’s elses laundry charges but all was resolved.

The best thing about this hotel is the location. On quiet street 174 between 63 and 51 it’s a short walk to amazing nightlife, dining and waterholes on St 51 and about a 20 minute walk to the riverfront.

If the building to the east (to the right from the street) of the Cardamom is still under construction do not accept a room with any wall to the east and you will have a fine stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlonMaor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

A comfortable hotel, well-located for local restaurants (including an excellent one in the "Friends" chain opposite - training former street kids to work in the hospitality industry). It is also within easy walking distance of the Royal Palace and National Museum.

Friendly, helpful staff and an excellent, very varied buffet breakfast - including both Asian and western dishes.

Good value and definitely worth considering.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UKMALETRAVELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrowford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Satisfactory hotel in the middle of Phnom Penh, spoilt by a poor breakast offering and the inability to cope with two busloads of residents. We went for breakfast at 7am and there was no where to sit, by 7.30 few spaces appeared and we managed to sit down but the buffet was empty. Slowly replaced, but no more croissants and some dishes not replaced. however close to the night clubs and drinking places.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockyRobin70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

fairly new hotel in pp rooms were spacious and clean with a balcony the price we paid was ok and breakfast was included, situated in a quiet street near to lots of eating places and nightlife. a decent hotel in phnom penh.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mac8156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
Pacific Hotel Phnom Penh
Pacific Hotel Phnom Penh
#122 of 267 in Phnom Penh
161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Asia Hotel
Asia Hotel
#196 of 267 in Phnom Penh
101 reviews
0.4 mi away
Silver River Hotel
Silver River Hotel
#49 of 267 in Phnom Penh
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Asia Tune Hotel
Asia Tune Hotel
#224 of 267 in Phnom Penh
161 reviews
0.5 mi away
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
#14 of 267 in Phnom Penh
550 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mito Hotel
Mito Hotel
#62 of 267 in Phnom Penh
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardamom Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardamom Hotel

Property: Cardamom Hotel
Address: No. 69, Street 174, Sangkat Phsar Thmey III | Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 855, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 325 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cardamom Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carddamom hotel opened August 2010. Suitable for all business and traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cardamom Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing