We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still my hpotel in Phnom Penh”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cardamom Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cardamom Hotel
Ranked #45 of 318 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Still my hpotel in Phnom Penh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

In 2011 I visited Cardamom hotel.I was very pleased in 2011.In September 2013 I was back 11 nights.All was the old-so I had great satisfaction
with the hotel.Still friendly staff, good (not crazy, but lacked something) breakfast.Now they build new hotel next of.There was no construction noise that bothered me.I stayed at 6 floor overlooking the front of the hotel.This once picked up and brought to the airport, everything worked perfekt.the same tuk-tuk 3.4 pieces in front of the hotel, so for 1 or 2 U.S. dollar will be brought wherever you want.But you can go the most place.Riverside 10-15 minuts.Swimmingpool I go to Riverside and pay 6 US dollers for one days in a big hotels
Still my hotel in Phnom Penh

Room Tip: I have a superior room with balcon .A very googd room (610)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank preben1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    137
    79
    19
    10
See reviews for
29
104
46
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

This hotel was at a disadvantage as I left Raffles to join my Intrepid group here. However, the lifts worked, the rooms (although very small) and bathroom was very clean, the pillows were comfortable and there was free wifi. The cocktails were also very cheap as was the wine. The hotel was a short walk to Central Market and was opposite the very good restaurant Romdeng. Once you got off the main "hotel" topics the hotel staff didn't speak much English but that was ok.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EBoultbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
415 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

There is nothing that makes this hotel stand out from the crowd.
It's in a fairly central location.
It's clean.
Service was the usual Cambodian standard - polite and friendly.
Large selection of food at breakfast with omelettes cooked to order.
If you're just looking for somewhere to lay your head for a few days then this hotel is acceptable.
It is used by Tour Groups which I assume must mean that it meets there standards.
Luckily there were not many groups in when we stayed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
343 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

I stayed in the Carbamom Hotel for two nights during my tour of Thailand and Cambodia. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. They did have a good buffet breakfast and the staff were helpful and friendly. The location was nice with several small restaurants, bars and mini-markets nearby.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broseley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

There is nothing particularly wrong with this hotel, but it is no better than average.

Service - staff were very helpful when we needed advice, e.g. I needed to find a supermarket, a pharmacy, a bank and the Vietnam Airlines office during a short stay - on all occasions staff gave correct directions and things were where they needed to be!

Rooms - a large bed with a hard mattress, a handy fridge and a decent shower (although it took an age to warm up). The smell in the room was slightly stale as if it had been a smoking room at some point in the past. My one major criticism was that this was supposed to be a superior room and yet our window faced a building site; the sound of angle grinders and steel rods being dropped at 7am was enough to wake you up with a start!

Location - fairly central and only a short walk from the palace, I think it would perhaps take at least 20 minutes to reach the S21 museum. The Cardamom Hotel does seem to be in a seedy area with gentleman's clubs close-by.

Breakfast - completely woeful apart from the egg-cooking station where the omelettes were decent. However, everything else, I hate to say it, but vile.

Overall, the staff, like all Cambodians, wear a smile and will do their best to address any issue/query. This served a purpose for our short stay in Phnom Penh, and I'm sure our stay would have been an improved one without the noise emanating from the building taking place next door.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of an Intrepid tour. The hotel is clean, room was a good size, wifi was reasonably stable, aircon worked well, staff were pleasant. This is not a 4 or 5 star hotel but a good quality 3 star hotel, so don't expect perfection unless you're paying for it elsewhere.

The Good:
- Room and bathroom were a good size. I stayed on floor 9 so each room had a private balcony.
- The bed was firm (which works for me but may not be a positive for others).
- Aircon worked brilliantly
- Wifi was fast and steady
- Room safe was a good size (able to fit a tablet comfortably)
- Good location near the Central Market and close to cafes and restaurants
- The beef salad on the room service menu was excellent!

The Average:
- Staff were friendly and polite but didn't go out of their way to help beyond the basic level of service.
- Breakfast was just average, nothing wrong with it really just nothing great either and fairly restricted in options.
- Bar fridge and aircon in the room turned off when the room key was removed, so don't expect a nice cool room or drink of cold water when you get back to the hotel.
- Some minor scuffs and cracks on the walls - nothing major and to be expected in 3 star hotels.

The Bad:
- The area seems a bit dodgey at night so wouldn't suggest walking alone after dark.
- There is currently construction going on next to the hotel so don't expect much of a view or to sleep in.

Overall a nice enough 3 star hotel if you're not fussy about small details. Would happily stay there again if travelling on a budget.

Room Tip: Rooms on floor 9 have balconies
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank weetbix75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed for 2 nights before visiting angkor wat. Cute small hotel away from the city centre.Rooms were clean and aircon was functionally well. Linen changed on daily basis.A small bar near the reception with well stocked drinks and bites can be orderded upto 11pm. A few friends had some drinks in the bar and it was reasonably priced.Staff very friendly and approachable. A few bars and restuarants are situated a few doors away.As this is a tourist hotel there is no pool for swimming. However breakfast was very disappointing as there was not much variety to choose.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows, mine did not have one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moon4906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
Mito Hotel
Mito Hotel
#62 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Grand Palais Boutique Hotel
Le Grand Palais Boutique Hotel
#53 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Asia Tune Hotel
Asia Tune Hotel
#222 of 265 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
VMansion Boutique Hotel
VMansion Boutique Hotel
#9 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mondulkiri Boutique Hotel
Mondulkiri Boutique Hotel
#58 of 318 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Town View Hotel Khan Daun Penh
Town View Hotel Khan Daun Penh
#88 of 218 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardamom Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardamom Hotel

Property: Cardamom Hotel
Address: No. 69, Street 174, Sangkat Phsar Thmey III | Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 855, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 318 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cardamom Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carddamom hotel opened August 2010. Suitable for all business and traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Asiatravel.com Holdings, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cardamom Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing