We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden House International
Ranked #66 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona City, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Best Location in Phnom Penh, walking distance to everything you need including clubs ect. There are plenty of Taxis and Tuk Tuks right outside of the hotel if needed. The hotel staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: Use their airport pickup service for $15.00, well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank typeApersonality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    75
    13
    7
    1
See reviews for
11
45
62
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Euless, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I recently spent 5 nights at the Golden House International in Phnom Penh. The hotel is in a great location on Street 136 just off of Sisowath Quay so getting around the city is a breeze. The hotel offers pick-up/drop-off at the airport ($15 each way) and a complimentary breakfast.

Room was good size, well furnished and clean with great fast internet connection free of charge. The staff was extremely kind and helpful and offer a number of services to assist tourists, such as bus and boat tickets, tour information, maps, etc. A/C worked great and bathroom was spacious with plenty of (very) hot water.

The street itself (Street 136) is a bit seedy with lots of bars and cheaper backpacker hotels but I felt safe in the area. There's also a great old market just a few minutes from the hotel along with some excellent restaurants along the waterfront and convenience stores nearby. I had a very pleasant stay and would recommend the hotel to other travelers.

Room Tip: Rooms with and without windows are available. While I highly recommend a room with a window, try to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olsztyn, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

This hotel might be small, with small rooms and no luxury but it is a very good choice if you have little time to see Phnom Penh. It is conveniently located allowing a walking tour of everything interesting in town. The fact that it is in the middle of the red lights district and "girls" are everywhere arround is not a problem. Breakfast served in the morning is nice, freshly made and sufficient. The staff is very helpful. A good choice for the price.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerzy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This is a pleasant enough hotel and it's clean with friendly staff. I didn't think it had much to it though and it never seemed to be very social. It's also on an very seedy street so if your going with kids I'd definitely avoid this place. That said, if your after seedy bars stay here as they're right on your doorstep.

I hope this review doesn't seem harsh as the place was very clean but it's let down by it's location for me. They were also meant to do an airport pick up for me and never arrived but that's no biggie as there's plenty of taxis about the airport.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This is quite a new hotel only 3 years old. Very clean well decorated and modern. The rooms are nice and have nice bathrooms. The only thing is my room did not have a window and I found the corridor quite noisy it seemed to echo when someone came back late or slammed their door. Other than that the hotel is very nice and well located on 136 street and only about a minute walk to the Ton Le Sap River.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJT1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights. The manager and staff were very hospitable.
Breakfast was limited but around the corner were many restaurants to please even the fussiest eater.
We had a front facing room but noise was not a problem and I consider myself to be an extremely light sleeper. Whilst this place ticked all the boxes we probably would not stay here again as we found a bigger room nearby which was also cheaper.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

sure the location (not in a posh area) is convenient. You are in the midst of nightlife, average to fine dining restaurants,the central market, a mall and even a local wet market - phsar kendal which is active during the morning . the vendors sell all kitchen requirements and a walk through this market gives some insight into the khmer food range.

the staff are hard working and well motivated and despite working long hours are always ready to attend to guest needs.

the breakfast is freshly prepared according to one of the three options, with minor variations to suit people with special needs ( not medical) like vegetarian. Not luxurious but a good starter with freshly squeezed orange juice, tea or coffee, eggs to order and french bread of toast.

at first sight the guests get the impression that the building is not elderly or invalid friendly but there is an access to the lift through the ground floor which is currently being used as a garage.
guests with heavy luggae may use this access to the lobby and to their rooms from there.the normal access to the lobby area is via a flight of steps which are definitely challenging for the elderly to climb.

there are many other similar kind of accommodation properties around this place but this hotel is way above in terms of cleanliness and resonse to client need.

good wi-fi connection (including the rooms) is an additional asset,

good for families.

my only wish is that the bathroom be fitted with a shower curtain as the whole floor tends to get wet while a person is having the shower and locate the towel rack near to the shower area.

Room Tip: request for a room away from the roadside as nightlife activities go on into early hours of morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rajamanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
Lux Riverside Hotel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Bougainvillier Hotel
Bougainvillier Hotel
#64 of 267 in Phnom Penh
415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
#26 of 267 in Phnom Penh
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
#72 of 267 in Phnom Penh
198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Grand Mekong
Le Grand Mekong
#103 of 267 in Phnom Penh
226 reviews
0.0 mi away
Point Boutique Hotel
Point Boutique Hotel
#77 of 267 in Phnom Penh
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden House International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden House International

Property: Golden House International
Address: Building 23-25 St.136, Phsar Kandal 1, Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#23 Best Value Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden House International 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Golden House International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden House International Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing