We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden House International

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Golden House International
Ranked #68 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Saiki, Japan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Convenient location and friendly staff. Everything is really clean and comfortable.The front rooms facing the street are noisy, but we asked to have our room changed and they gladly accommodated us. Our new room was very quiet. The complimentary breakfast is simple, ask for the french bread toast rather than the regular toast.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kate Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    75
    13
    7
    1
See reviews for
11
45
60
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

A very nice budget hotel in Cambodia. Our stay with my family here at the Golden House International while having our flight back home cancelled was very comfortable. The staff was able to assist us and followed through with some special requests that I had for the kids. They were really accommodating and made us feel at ease. Maybe they just felt sympathetic about our situation at that time, nonetheless, the employees were really nice and friendly. We had such a stress free stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseDRossiemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

This hotel is exceptional value for money, breakfast included in daily tariff , spotlessly clean staff very helpful, organizing ongoing travel requirements, 200 metres from the waterfront barstools
& resturaunts, possibly some of the best coffee in Phnom Penh. No hesitation in recommending this Hotel , will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank don p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
177 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Just stayed 8 days only across road from where I've stayed before, when I arrived the staff were sitting at the bar with bear feet on the the bar and other staff just laying around the staff need hotel training, my room was very nice very pleased could do with kettle and cups but large tv good bedding and a good size en suite and was clean, next day I was surprised when my room was not serviced on the 3 rd day I was ask would you like your room cleaned ? And this was ask every day after, all in all was ok maybe little expensive at 40$ for room with no windows and very little service ,but was ok and I'm back there in April

Room Tip: In the heart of bars and 50 mts from water front good location
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adelphi-hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
384 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Many hotels in SE Asia are prone to having an email address but never answering any emails! I booked this hotel while sitting at Bangkok airport and did not hold out much hope when I emailed them to ask for a taxi pickup in just 3 hours time. Imagine my surprise when they replied within 30 minutes and said no problem! Great service.

Sure enough my driver was waiting and he dropped me to the front door. Check in was quick and thew room was on the 3rd floor and very clean. I had a window looking out onto the rather bizare happenings on the street below. It was better entertainment then the TV but was a little noisy.

I was only in Phnom Penh for a total of 15 hours so can't really comment any more on this place as I missed breakfast but they were fine to give me a late check out.

Once last comment on their service. For the first time ever I used a hotel safe. Big mistake as I forgot my passport! Remembered when trying to check in. I called them and gave them the combination and sure enough 40 minutes later a staff member turned up at the airport with it. I hope he liked his big tip as he and the hotel deserved it!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeMock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights and was actually quite surprised at the quality and cleanliness of my room. It was very spacious and the amenities were modern - not what I expected for the affordable price I was paying per night.

In regards to its proximity to the bars, restaurants and market - I felt comfortable walking everywhere and rarely had to use a tuk tuk to get home (only when I was a little drunk and lost =D). The only minor let down was that there were a few ants that made their way into my bathroom... but this is probably because I had left an open drink by the sink and forgotten about it. I would also like to mention that I had travelled to Phnom Penh during the riots and protests in early January of this year, but still felt incredibly safe around the area this hotel is located.

Room Tip: I got a room on the third level and it was relatively quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona City, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Best Location in Phnom Penh, walking distance to everything you need including clubs ect. There are plenty of Taxis and Tuk Tuks right outside of the hotel if needed. The hotel staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: Use their airport pickup service for $15.00, well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank typeApersonality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
Bougainvillier Hotel
Bougainvillier Hotel
#62 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lux Riverside Hotel & Apartments
0.0 mi away
Paragon Hotel
Paragon Hotel
#133 of 274 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Grand Mekong
Le Grand Mekong
#102 of 274 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.0 mi away
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
#82 of 274 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
#28 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden House International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden House International

Property: Golden House International
Address: Building 23-25 St.136, Phsar Kandal 1, Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#22 Best Value Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden House International 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Golden House International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden House International Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing