We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the price, good location, decent breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden House International
Ranked #75 of 277 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed here for just a night and it was just nice. The room was a tad bit smaller than we expected, but it was sufficiently clean. The room came with a fridge (a life saviour on super hot days) and a safe (which we were extremely thankful for). The location was a bit surprising as it was nestled in between several bars with girls waiting outside to pull unsure visitors in. It was rather noisy at night but it didn't bother us as we were extremely exhausted and passed out almost immediately.

The location was great as every thing that was on our site-seeing list was nearby. The breakfast was pretty good too (although limited) and they brought it up to our room, which was just perfect as we were in a hurry to get ready in the morning.

Room Tip: Hot water in the bathroom kicks in when you run the water for about 10 minutes. Ask the staff for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

The location near the riverfront excellent all the bars restraunts etc nearby
Altough some 24 hour bars (possibly girls ) we were not at all disturbed and
Did not hear any noise in the rooms so felt safe
Extremely spotless room and full bathroom sheets towels changed daily
Nice big room with flat screen tv with international channels
The grand palace possibly 10 min walk and evening walk on riverfront
heaven.
If u want good clean room and do without razzmatazz of swimming pools
Beauty hairdresser and all other glams which u don't get round using
Then this is the place. Would go back anytime

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelerak53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

On the surface this hotel seemed pretty reasonable. Room was clean and tidy and staff were helpful. I booked the double deluxe with window. The room in deed had Windows that looked out on an uncompleted roof decking and a wall.in the morning people were hanging their washing outside my window as I was showering.
All the previous comments around no shower curtain and the bathroom floor permanently being wet were exactly what I experienced also, the bath also seemed to be a badly fitting replacement that did not fit it's surround properly.
The biggest issue for me though was the noise, and I don't mean from the numerous bats immediately outside the hotel but the noise from other guests coming and going, not that the were noisy in themselves but more just a case of the hotel seeming to transmit every sound.
With all of the above coupled with someone using a hammer drill just after 8 a.m. was enough to get me to check out early and find another hotel.
This hotel could be good but in my honest opinion it just isn't right now.
In the defense of the hotel they did refund my payment in full for the nights not used and were very accommodating in this respect.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank jaydee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

The absolute best thing about this hotel is its location. Everything is at your front door from transportation ,bars, internet cafe, laundry, tour bookings and restaurants. The staff speaks English and is more than willing to help you with everything. The property is very clean and well maintained.Additionally they do offer transportation from the airport which I highly would not recommend because of its price. Taking a taxi from the airport is about 9 US dollars and really does not require you to change money from US dollars. Room 25 was a bit noisy although it was not facing the street. The hot water didn't did not work. I informed the staff member whom informed me to allow the water to run around 5 minutes but this did not correct the problem. Minus these two issues I still would recommend this hotel because of the friendly staff ,great location, and great value

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank solodrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Great location in a lively area, super friendly and helpful staff who helped us book tours, buses, and made up delicious freshly squeezed lime juices at any hour. And comfy rooms. We had read a few reviews that mentioned noise from the street but we had no problem with this. We stayed in the front room on the first floor - if any room was going to be affected by noise it would be this one - but we were not disturbed at all - we slept like logs in these comfy beds. There was aircon which we would turn on for an hour or so before we went to bed and turn it off before going to sleep. The room stayed a reasonable temperature all night which was nice as we could avoid feeling dried out or freezing with aircon on overnight. We also liked that the hotel had a strong and super fast wireless connection - its not like some hotels where you have to keep logging back on all the time, or where you can only connect if you stand on a table - it was easy to connect to, and once we had logged on it kept working fast for our entire stay, in our rooms and in the lobby. The hotel owner Millan is awesome too, we had some great chats about mountain biking (he is one of the few people I met in Cambodia who was into mountain biking) and he also has a cool RC coptor! A really interesting and friendly guy who helped make our stay in Phnom Penh memorable!

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have an interesting view of the lively street action. Some reviewers mentione...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

stayed at the golden house for 5 days staff went out of there way to help me i needed to print they used there own laptop and would not take a tip. room was clean and quit i took room without window was easy to sleep beds good

Room Tip: if you want to sllep in teh day take a room without wondows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sockman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in Feb. By day the street seems like any other in the area but by night it is pretty lively (seedy yes!) but I never felt in any danger.

Our room was at the front of the hotel and I am a light sleeper but with earplugs it was fine, and actually quite interesting looking out of the window at the happenings in the street below!

I thought the staff were very helpful and friendly but the lobby area did need a little bit of a tidy up.

The room and bathroom were good and the location excellent. I would probably stay here again if I could be guaranteed a quieter room.

The hotel arranged airport pick up and were easy to get hold of before our stay.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JuBlakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0 mi away
Lux Riverside Hotel & Apartments
0 mi away
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
#91 of 277 in Phnom Penh
202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Grand Mekong
Le Grand Mekong
#107 of 277 in Phnom Penh
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vacation Boutique Hotel
Vacation Boutique Hotel
#29 of 277 in Phnom Penh
169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angkor International Hotel
Angkor International Hotel
#60 of 277 in Phnom Penh
605 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silver River Hotel
Silver River Hotel
#54 of 277 in Phnom Penh
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden House International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden House International

Address: #23-25 St.136 | Phsar Kandal 1 Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12204, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#22 Best Value Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: £27 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden House International 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden House International Hotel is a brand new hotel in the heart of Asia's most exciting city, Phnom Penh, Cambodia. The hotel soars above the famous Street 136 bustling with colorful restaurants, cafes, bars and nightclubs. It affords spectacular views across Cambodia's two rivers; the mighty Mekong and the mysterious Tonle Sap. Completed in March 2010, Golden House International Hotel was built with great attention to detail using the highest quality fittings and attention to detail. We offer a unique combination of Western and Khmer hospitality and decor. From the impressive street entrance leading up to the graceful lobby, to the well-appointed bedrooms and the private garden area. Golden House International Hotel offers second-to-none facilities for tourists discovering the delights and secrets of Cambodia's capital city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden House International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden House International Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing