We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but clean and comfortable room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden House International
Ranked #68 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This small hotel, which is family-run, is strategically located within Phnom Penh and is a walking distance to the riverfront, central market, and other business establishments. However, it is also situated within the notorious red light bar area of the city. Bars are literally at your door steps!

Checking into the hotel was relatively easy, with the checking-in procedures completed within 5 minutes. The rate quoted by the hotel is not inclusive of any breakfast. However, meals could be ordered from a wide range of choices offered by the hotel. Nevertheless, better meal choices could be found at the numerous restaurants situated along the river front.

I was given a room on the third floor of the five storey building. The first impression that greeted me upon entering the room was that the room is much smaller than the usual standard double room that you will find in most hotels in Phnom Penh of similar standard. However, the bed was clean and comfortable. A standard size wardrobe, writing table, electronic safe, flat screen TV, and mini fridge is provided for in the room.

The bathroom is large and comes with hot water. However, the downside of the bathroom is that it is without any shower screen / curtains. The whole floor of the bathroom will be wet every time one takes a shower. The wifi speed at the hotel is horribly slow. The chair at the writing table is very shaky and gives you the feeling that you may be falling off the chair at any time. The vase on the writing table is an empty bottle of a local beer! Although there is a Mac computer at the hotel lobby, the air-conditioning at the hotel lobby is switched off all the time.

Overall, the service level at the hotel is minimal at most.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelNomadB28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

This is strictly a backpacker's hotel. Booked this hotel based on the reviews on TP, and also based on our strict budget.
They replied our emails promptly and politely, confirming our booking via their website. As our bus was running late, they also held our booking for us until we arrived at 8+ in the evening.
The hotel is located along a 'red light' street of Phnom Penh, within walking distance of the night market. Surrounded by bars & directly opposite a pub/disco. However we never felt threatened or uncomfortable, but if we hadn't already knew what it looked like in photos & without google map, we would definitely have walked past it. (Thank you google map!)
Check-in was a little slow and the staff seemed flustered until I asked them why. They explained that I didn't inform them there were 4 of us and they were afraid the room might be small. It was my fault as initially there was only 3 of us. After I explained that we do not need an extra bed etc, they finally gave us a room.
The room itself was supposed to be a family room, looked big in photos but turned out to be quite small. One queen bed tucked in a corner & one single bed. Clean & functional. One small wardrobe, Telly with cable & a fridge. Bathroom was clean & large with hot water. We had to stand in the tub to shower but with no curtains, water pretty much went everywhere during a shower.
It's within walking distance to the promenade and the central market. The streets are surrounded by eating establishments and pubs.
People have complained tambour the noise fm the pubs carrying on till late but the windows pretty much seals out the noise when they are closed. Free breakfast is simple fare. We checked out an hour later with no extra charge but the hotel kept our bags for us while we went to explore Phnom Penh sumore. The hotel drop off at the airport came on time with an experienced driver.
Overall a pleasant stay but only for a short time.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank happimie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We loved our stay in this charming hotel, it is in a particularly good location being close to the Riverside with all its restaurants, riverside walks, Royal Palace etc. The rooms were spotlessly clean and all the staff were English speaking and extremely friendly and helpful. They do a great breakfast which is freshly prepared and served up in no time. We were pleased we chose the Golden House International after researching many Phnom Penh hotels on Tripadvisor and elsewhere. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bluesails50Crawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed here for just a night and it was just nice. The room was a tad bit smaller than we expected, but it was sufficiently clean. The room came with a fridge (a life saviour on super hot days) and a safe (which we were extremely thankful for). The location was a bit surprising as it was nestled in between several bars with girls waiting outside to pull unsure visitors in. It was rather noisy at night but it didn't bother us as we were extremely exhausted and passed out almost immediately.

The location was great as every thing that was on our site-seeing list was nearby. The breakfast was pretty good too (although limited) and they brought it up to our room, which was just perfect as we were in a hurry to get ready in the morning.

Room Tip: Hot water in the bathroom kicks in when you run the water for about 10 minutes. Ask the staff for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The location near the riverfront excellent all the bars restraunts etc nearby
Altough some 24 hour bars (possibly girls ) we were not at all disturbed and
Did not hear any noise in the rooms so felt safe
Extremely spotless room and full bathroom sheets towels changed daily
Nice big room with flat screen tv with international channels
The grand palace possibly 10 min walk and evening walk on riverfront
heaven.
If u want good clean room and do without razzmatazz of swimming pools
Beauty hairdresser and all other glams which u don't get round using
Then this is the place. Would go back anytime

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelerak53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

On the surface this hotel seemed pretty reasonable. Room was clean and tidy and staff were helpful. I booked the double deluxe with window. The room in deed had Windows that looked out on an uncompleted roof decking and a wall.in the morning people were hanging their washing outside my window as I was showering.
All the previous comments around no shower curtain and the bathroom floor permanently being wet were exactly what I experienced also, the bath also seemed to be a badly fitting replacement that did not fit it's surround properly.
The biggest issue for me though was the noise, and I don't mean from the numerous bats immediately outside the hotel but the noise from other guests coming and going, not that the were noisy in themselves but more just a case of the hotel seeming to transmit every sound.
With all of the above coupled with someone using a hammer drill just after 8 a.m. was enough to get me to check out early and find another hotel.
This hotel could be good but in my honest opinion it just isn't right now.
In the defense of the hotel they did refund my payment in full for the nights not used and were very accommodating in this respect.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank jaydee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

The absolute best thing about this hotel is its location. Everything is at your front door from transportation ,bars, internet cafe, laundry, tour bookings and restaurants. The staff speaks English and is more than willing to help you with everything. The property is very clean and well maintained.Additionally they do offer transportation from the airport which I highly would not recommend because of its price. Taking a taxi from the airport is about 9 US dollars and really does not require you to change money from US dollars. Room 25 was a bit noisy although it was not facing the street. The hot water didn't did not work. I informed the staff member whom informed me to allow the water to run around 5 minutes but this did not correct the problem. Minus these two issues I still would recommend this hotel because of the friendly staff ,great location, and great value

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank solodrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
Lux Riverside Hotel & Apartments
0.0 mi away
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
#79 of 274 in Phnom Penh
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Grand Mekong
Le Grand Mekong
#106 of 274 in Phnom Penh
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
#30 of 274 in Phnom Penh
405 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bougainvillier Hotel
Bougainvillier Hotel
#67 of 274 in Phnom Penh
416 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Centre Hotel
City Centre Hotel
#100 of 274 in Phnom Penh
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden House International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden House International

Address: #23-25 St.136 | Phsar Kandal 1 Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12204, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: £27 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden House International 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden House International Hotel is a brand new hotel in the heart of Asia's most exciting city, Phnom Penh, Cambodia. The hotel soars above the famous Street 136 bustling with colorful restaurants, cafes, bars and nightclubs. It affords spectacular views across Cambodia's two rivers; the mighty Mekong and the mysterious Tonle Sap. Completed in March 2010, Golden House International Hotel was built with great attention to detail using the highest quality fittings and attention to detail. We offer a unique combination of Western and Khmer hospitality and decor. From the impressive street entrance leading up to the graceful lobby, to the well-appointed bedrooms and the private garden area. Golden House International Hotel offers second-to-none facilities for tourists discovering the delights and secrets of Cambodia's capital city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden House International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden House International Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing