We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple, comfortable and great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden House International
Ranked #70 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Simple, comfortable and great location.”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed for 3 nights last year March at this Hotel. Had a airport taxi Mr.Da whom is very efficient and punctual. Check in was a breeze and they did not ask for deposit (which is not a norm if you are not pre online or via credit card.) The receptionist (I think is owner) was very kind.
Got a bigger room than I expected and the cleanliness is a thumbs up.
Location wise is abit noisy as it is located along the Pub and Bar street. But not really a big issue.
The security was good and they monitor the people entering the premise.
Overall a wonderful choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YMCA24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    75
    13
    7
    1
See reviews for
11
44
61
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This small hotel, which is family-run, is strategically located within Phnom Penh and is a walking distance to the riverfront, central market, and other business establishments. However, it is also situated within the notorious red light bar area of the city. Bars are literally at your door steps!

Checking into the hotel was relatively easy, with the checking-in procedures completed within 5 minutes. The rate quoted by the hotel is not inclusive of any breakfast. However, meals could be ordered from a wide range of choices offered by the hotel. Nevertheless, better meal choices could be found at the numerous restaurants situated along the river front.

I was given a room on the third floor of the five storey building. The first impression that greeted me upon entering the room was that the room is much smaller than the usual standard double room that you will find in most hotels in Phnom Penh of similar standard. However, the bed was clean and comfortable. A standard size wardrobe, writing table, electronic safe, flat screen TV, and mini fridge is provided for in the room.

The bathroom is large and comes with hot water. However, the downside of the bathroom is that it is without any shower screen / curtains. The whole floor of the bathroom will be wet every time one takes a shower. The wifi speed at the hotel is horribly slow. The chair at the writing table is very shaky and gives you the feeling that you may be falling off the chair at any time. The vase on the writing table is an empty bottle of a local beer! Although there is a Mac computer at the hotel lobby, the air-conditioning at the hotel lobby is switched off all the time.

Overall, the service level at the hotel is minimal at most.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelNomadB28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

This is strictly a backpacker's hotel. Booked this hotel based on the reviews on TP, and also based on our strict budget.
They replied our emails promptly and politely, confirming our booking via their website. As our bus was running late, they also held our booking for us until we arrived at 8+ in the evening.
The hotel is located along a 'red light' street of Phnom Penh, within walking distance of the night market. Surrounded by bars & directly opposite a pub/disco. However we never felt threatened or uncomfortable, but if we hadn't already knew what it looked like in photos & without google map, we would definitely have walked past it. (Thank you google map!)
Check-in was a little slow and the staff seemed flustered until I asked them why. They explained that I didn't inform them there were 4 of us and they were afraid the room might be small. It was my fault as initially there was only 3 of us. After I explained that we do not need an extra bed etc, they finally gave us a room.
The room itself was supposed to be a family room, looked big in photos but turned out to be quite small. One queen bed tucked in a corner & one single bed. Clean & functional. One small wardrobe, Telly with cable & a fridge. Bathroom was clean & large with hot water. We had to stand in the tub to shower but with no curtains, water pretty much went everywhere during a shower.
It's within walking distance to the promenade and the central market. The streets are surrounded by eating establishments and pubs.
People have complained tambour the noise fm the pubs carrying on till late but the windows pretty much seals out the noise when they are closed. Free breakfast is simple fare. We checked out an hour later with no extra charge but the hotel kept our bags for us while we went to explore Phnom Penh sumore. The hotel drop off at the airport came on time with an experienced driver.
Overall a pleasant stay but only for a short time.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank happimie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We loved our stay in this charming hotel, it is in a particularly good location being close to the Riverside with all its restaurants, riverside walks, Royal Palace etc. The rooms were spotlessly clean and all the staff were English speaking and extremely friendly and helpful. They do a great breakfast which is freshly prepared and served up in no time. We were pleased we chose the Golden House International after researching many Phnom Penh hotels on Tripadvisor and elsewhere. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluesails50Crawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed here for just a night and it was just nice. The room was a tad bit smaller than we expected, but it was sufficiently clean. The room came with a fridge (a life saviour on super hot days) and a safe (which we were extremely thankful for). The location was a bit surprising as it was nestled in between several bars with girls waiting outside to pull unsure visitors in. It was rather noisy at night but it didn't bother us as we were extremely exhausted and passed out almost immediately.

The location was great as every thing that was on our site-seeing list was nearby. The breakfast was pretty good too (although limited) and they brought it up to our room, which was just perfect as we were in a hurry to get ready in the morning.

Room Tip: Hot water in the bathroom kicks in when you run the water for about 10 minutes. Ask the staff for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The location near the riverfront excellent all the bars restraunts etc nearby
Altough some 24 hour bars (possibly girls ) we were not at all disturbed and
Did not hear any noise in the rooms so felt safe
Extremely spotless room and full bathroom sheets towels changed daily
Nice big room with flat screen tv with international channels
The grand palace possibly 10 min walk and evening walk on riverfront
heaven.
If u want good clean room and do without razzmatazz of swimming pools
Beauty hairdresser and all other glams which u don't get round using
Then this is the place. Would go back anytime

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerak53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

On the surface this hotel seemed pretty reasonable. Room was clean and tidy and staff were helpful. I booked the double deluxe with window. The room in deed had Windows that looked out on an uncompleted roof decking and a wall.in the morning people were hanging their washing outside my window as I was showering.
All the previous comments around no shower curtain and the bathroom floor permanently being wet were exactly what I experienced also, the bath also seemed to be a badly fitting replacement that did not fit it's surround properly.
The biggest issue for me though was the noise, and I don't mean from the numerous bats immediately outside the hotel but the noise from other guests coming and going, not that the were noisy in themselves but more just a case of the hotel seeming to transmit every sound.
With all of the above coupled with someone using a hammer drill just after 8 a.m. was enough to get me to check out early and find another hotel.
This hotel could be good but in my honest opinion it just isn't right now.
In the defense of the hotel they did refund my payment in full for the nights not used and were very accommodating in this respect.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank jaydee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
Lux Riverside Hotel & Apartments
0.0 mi away
Paragon Hotel
Paragon Hotel
#133 of 269 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Grand Mekong
Le Grand Mekong
#102 of 269 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bougainvillier Hotel
Bougainvillier Hotel
#65 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.0 mi away
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
#77 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
#27 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden House International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden House International

Property: Golden House International
Address: Building 23-25 St.136, Phsar Kandal 1, Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#25 Best Value Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden House International 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden House International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden House International Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing