We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhere between 'Average' and 'Very Good'.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Circa 51

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Circa 51
Ranked #44 of 265 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Somewhere between 'Average' and 'Very Good'.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

A small, nicely-located hotel with a very friendly and helpful staff.

First, the positives.The rooms are of a good size - clean and well-maintained - and the swimming pool is lovely. The lighting is a little gloomy and our room could probably have done with a couple of bedside lamps for reading, though the overall feel was very relaxing, so that probably depends on your personal preference. The staff were very helpful and allowed us to check out a little later than usual to coincide with a late pick-up, which they also booked for us.

Negatives? I would say that the exterior of the hotel looks a little tired and didn't really fit in with my idea of a boutique hotel, though some new poolside furniture and a lick of white paint would sort that out quite easily. In addition, the swimming pool has signs dotted around prohibiting diving or jumping into the pool, however during our stay a group of guests were doing just that throughout our breakfast and the staff didn't do anything to enforce the prohibition. This was very annoying. Finally, the owners and staff are clearly animal lovers, as there was a large dog lounging in the reception area and at least one cat weaving between our legs at the breakfast table. This is probably fine for guests who are fond of animals, however for those of us who are not, cats and dogs can give the impression of dirtiness and it wasn't a great introduction to the hotel when we first arrived. This is something I would suggest the owners at least bear in mind for the future.

Overall, I'd say we were reasonably happy with Circa 51. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the swimming pool is very nice, and the hotel is in a very convenient location. I'm not sure that I would recommend the hotel to other people, but our overall experience was generally positive.

(NB I would prefer to rate the hotel as 'Good', but the TripAdvisor rating system only gives the option of 'Average' and 'Very Good', so I'm afraid it's a case of rounding down to 'Average'.)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phobophore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    123
    31
    13
    5
See reviews for
60
140
67
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

Very suitable for family,elderly couple ,business stay.Good place to move around town.need help?ask Sorya who will be there to attend to you....need to move around?look for Pol,the tuk tuk driver who will be at the foyer of the residence.good room,clean and worth to spend....nice breakfast and very nice swimming pool.must go again to visit circa 51.
This place recommend Saffron,a Pakistan restaurant,try this one and you will go again and again there

Room Tip: Room 2,at the corner and shades,u can wake up late....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shadowsvj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

This Hotel is fantastic has a pool that is very clean, great rooms that are well maintained,and a really good breakfast. There is a kitchen for snacks lunch and an early dinner, great smoothies very yummy. the location is very central near the Royal Palace Markets and Wats. I would recommend Circa 51 it is a small hotel 10 rooms that is in a compound great to escape from the business of the streets. The owners are hands on very friendly and the staff are so helpful I suggest you stay here for a positive experience in Phnom Penh

Room Tip: I had 2 different rooms and they were both good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April120449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

How often do we say we'll return to a fabulous restaurant or hotel and find ourselves less enchanted than we were the first time? That was not my experience with Circa 51 -- I was every bit as charmed the second time round. The house is marvellous, Maxie the dog and Mew & Mew the cats provided creature comforts, and the staff was simply outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FulltimeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

Our family of 4 (kids welcome here!) thoroughly enjoyed our recent 2 nights at Circa 51.
It is well located, behind high walls, a short walk from the Royal Palace and riverfront.
The hotel is a beautifully renovated '50s building, with large room, and windows, high ceilings, gorgeous en suites, fan, air conditioner. There is a large pool. Wi fi.
Breakfast is substantial, with hot options, in addition to the continental offerings.
Other meals and snacks available. We craved pasta and had a pasta carbonara, really excellent.
Lovely owners, friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ozzie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sana'a
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

Circa 51 is a great boutique hotel run by marvelous, warmhearted people. We have been here with our small daughters during 10 days in Phnom Penh and the Circa 51 felt immediately like our second home. Cosy, quiet, clean, beautiful, relaxing, with big, comfortable and stylish rooms, and a great pool. The position is perfect ( central but quiet) and among the trips we enjoyed the big pleasure of small things like eating the mangos directly from the tree, a glass of wine and good conversation with Majed and Ivy, the owners, who give a magical touch to your stay and insights into local life. Remarcable from all points of view, and our daughters ask again and again : when do we go back home to Cambodia ?

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw are great, stylish, comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fibifilm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

stayed here for two nights in august 2012 outstanding service cleanleness excellent value and location very good cant fault in any way and if you like criket ask the owner to bowl a couple of fiendish deliviers to you hmm say no more

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
0.1 mi away
VMansion Boutique Hotel
VMansion Boutique Hotel
#9 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.3 mi away
the 252
the 252
#11 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Balconitel Boutique Hotel
Balconitel Boutique Hotel
#40 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.5 mi away
Double Leaf Boutique Hotel
Double Leaf Boutique Hotel
#19 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.7 mi away
Diamond Palace Resort and Sky Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Circa 51? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Circa 51

Property: Circa 51
Address: #155, corner of Streets 51 and 222, Phnom Penh 0000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#14 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#18 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Circa 51 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Circa 51 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circa 51 Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing