We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money, but not centrally located”
Review of Salita Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Salita Hotel
Ranked #89 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Value for Money, but not centrally located”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed two nights in January and the 8th floor.The hotel is nice, peacefull, staff friendly, breakfast a buffet and nothing special. We arrived by boat from Vietnam and took a tuk tuk to the hotel which cost us 6$, we found out later it should have cost max 3$. There are always tuk tuks outside the hotel and for 15$ we had a tuk tuk for half a day to the killingfields , the genocide museum and the Russian market. It was an impressive day! We arranged a mini bus ride to Siem Reap through the hotel (11$) and were a little disappointed as the bus was full and the was little space to sit between all the lugguages.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KirstyKop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    116
    50
    13
    6
See reviews for
26
86
52
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hong kong
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Salita is a place to be if you are looking for a clean and safe place to be in the capital city of Cambodia. Helpful staff but the breakfast is not very attractive (like those served in the hotels in Mainland China). Having said that, it's great value for money (even on Christmas Day!!!) :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dearmaymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookings, South Dakota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed twice on this trip. Very friendly and helpful staff. Will certainly stay here again.
The breakfast was more than adequate. Twice we were sitting in the lobby waiting for friends and the staff brought us juice and fruit to enjoy.

Room Tip: Stayed on the higer floors (8 and 7)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeneBrookings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

They were very helpful with my transport wherever I wanted to go. (except the day i was leaving I ended up in wrong bus station but that was fixed quickly) They double booked me so I got a VIP room. A warning..Do NOT get the towels dirty. After spending all day sight seeing and cruising around in a tuk tuk I had a shower and there was dust grime on the towel (very little) they were going to charge me 20 USD for the towel and another 15 for face cloth. I asked to see the towel but they would not bring it down and eventually let it go. I tipped them for the laundry service but it was very minimal dirt I can tell you that. Other than that, its an ok location, clean premises and breakfast was hearty! Being on the 9th floor you can hear everything thats going on in the restaurant above and the kitchens. No street noise though. A 20 min tuk tuk ride cost 7$. Ill try walking next time. When I lifted the bedsheet up there were black hairs (curly ones) all over top of mattress. Just sayin....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

After a night in the noisiest hostel in asia, we booked a room at Salita for some peace and quiet.  Found a crazy low last-minute rate on booking.com and showed up at 10am the next day. 

The low rate caused some confusion at first, and after 2 weeks in other hotels in SE asia, we were sure we'd be tossed out or asked to pay the regular rate.  After 10 min, though, we were politely informed that our room was ready (3 hours before usual checkin) and asked to pay the rate that we booked at.  Great service!

The room is lovely. Clean, good AC, bathtub, pretty comfy bed, coffee and tea station, etc. A bonus was the view. the 10 story building is the tallest in the area. Even our room on the 5th floor has a nice city view.

The location may seem a bit out of the way for some, but we liked it a lot. Its a 10 min walk to the super-western area where we stayed the night before, but its in a much more local area, with cambodian shops and restaurants. An improvement, at least for us, on the overpriced tourist bar frenzy we came from. 

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBloomberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

sorry to disappoint but we did not like our stay in the hotel - A/C
was not effective. Electricity board was naked open with wiring coming out
Black smoke stains in the ceiling. One of the LED light on ceiling was broken
making reading difficult. Breakfast seemed stale. Pics will be coming soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Piyushmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Ok hotel, wouldn't race back. It's a $2 tuk tuk ride to the river front. However, the staff were helpful and the rooms very clean. It is just the location that let's the place down. The walls are pretty thin, we were woken every day by people talking in the corridors.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.8 mi away
Mito Hotel
Mito Hotel
#61 of 269 in Phnom Penh
172 reviews
1.5 mi away
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
#74 of 269 in Phnom Penh
199 reviews
1.3 mi away
Angkor International Hotel
Angkor International Hotel
#56 of 269 in Phnom Penh
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
New Midtown Hotel
New Midtown Hotel
#49 of 269 in Phnom Penh
157 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#65 of 269 in Phnom Penh
361 reviews
0.5 mi away
Orussey One Hotel & Apartment
Orussey One Hotel & Apartment
#55 of 269 in Phnom Penh
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salita Hotel

Property: Salita Hotel
Address: #70, St European Union 143 | Boeung Kengkang II, Khan Chamkamorn, Phnom Penh 00855, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salita Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Salita Hotel Phnom Penh, a brand new hotel that is designed to accommodate guests from all parts of the world. If you are looking for a comfortable home away from home, it's a reasonable choice. The 10-story hotel has 62 tasteful rooms with a panoramic city view. Salita Hotel is surrounded by many locals attraction such as: Historical Independent Monument, Olympic Stadium, S-21, and Russian Market; we are 5 mins from these locations. Start your day with complimentary coffee shop and a newspaper in our lobby with free Wi-Fi and join us at full breakfast buffet. Whether for business or pleasure, our friendly and proficient staff take pride in anticipating and satisfying your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Salita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing