We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, but in a not so good location.”
Review of Silver River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silver River Hotel
Ranked #55 of 277 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Hotel will arrange tours. Ask for tup tup driver Saswy. Hotels and restaurants along the Sisowath Quay are recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllaOco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

413 - 419 of 518 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2011

When my sister and I got out of the bus from HCMC, tuktuk drivers offered us several hotels.
Given the budget that we have, we were taken to this hotel.

It looks nice from the outside so we immediately decided to stay here since it's already getting dark.
We just booked for 1 night first to see how the hotel was.

We were amazed when we entered our room. It was very nice.
However, we had a problem with aircon and sockets (not working) but it was immediate resolved.

This hotel is just a short walking distance from most tourist attractions and the staff was accommodating and helpful.

We tried to search for a better hotel in the area but we can't find any with the same price!

We extended our stay for another night and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giahnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

Stay there 5 weeks, great deal, super clean, the mop the room very day whit clean water.
Sony flatscreen TV, hairdryer, koffie and thé free and 2 bottles water.
Water boiler, Safe in room big enouch to put laptop in.
Very friendly staff, and exellent security.
Fast room service and on the firts floor full massage parlor.
And last but not least an elevator.
Superdeluxe.
Have nice time over there,
Kiekeboe

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henri_Kiekeboe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

I love this hotel compared to The Regency Park, stayed there for 3 nights and LOVED IT, the location is great as its just within walking distance to the river-side. they have in-room massage.

The sheets are clean, does not smell funny - toilets are REALLY CLEAN, the services are great. I would recommend anyone to stay in this hotel if they going on a budget.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SW28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

This hotel would have been the most upmarket tha I stayed at on my trip, and the rooms/bathrooms were spotless clean and newly rennovated. The location is good, next door to a great travel agency/cheap massage, and also near the river is a short walk from Royal Palace/Silver Pagoda etc
I also left some luggage here for 4 days while i toured the south coast. Nothing was missing when i returned :)

The bad.... breakfast was bit dodgy, as is the case with all continental breakfast anyway in the world, any cafe on the street will do a better job for $2. At $30.night (for just 1 person) it is not good value by PP's standards (but obviously still very cheap by the rest of the world!!) and there is a terrible nightclub situated across behind the hotel which made a bit of noise till about 12 midnight, but this is only becuase I am a light sleeper that I noticed this....

overall i think you be happy.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dutchcookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

My friend and I stayed here our first night in Cambodia, and had such a nice stay, we decided to book it again for our second leg in Phnom Penh. The rooms are really nice and clean, we loved the balcony off our room, the staff was friendly and the location was great (a quick walk to the Palace, museum, riverfront, etc.). The ONLY thing were the obvious prostitutes in the hotel that were brought back there by men staying there. That bugged me a lot, to see them in the lobby, in the hallways, etc. But other than that, we had a great stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dscalifornia_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Found by chance on line, this is a gem of a place. With tremendous attention to details like high ceilings and crown moldings, real art on the walls and coffee in the rooms, free wi-fi and sparkling modern bathrooms, this fantastically located hotel also shares a lovely and helpful staff. The beds are comfortable, the furniture heavy wood, the lobby attractive and spacious, and the restaurant excellent value. At $30.00 USD per night, it feels like so very much more.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoppiewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Angkor International Hotel
Angkor International Hotel
#60 of 277 in Phnom Penh
605 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#85 of 277 in Phnom Penh
376 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eureka Villas Phnom Penh
Eureka Villas Phnom Penh
#44 of 277 in Phnom Penh
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vacation Boutique Hotel
Vacation Boutique Hotel
#29 of 277 in Phnom Penh
169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
#92 of 277 in Phnom Penh
202 reviews
0.7 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#16 of 277 in Phnom Penh
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver River Hotel

Address: #37, Street# 172, Sangkat Chey Chumneas | Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 277 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range: £21 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and enjoy the royal treatment at Silver River Hotel located in a bustling downtown called Kandal Market, where business and leisure travelers always make their first choice of the area for their hotels. Silver River Hotel is just a walk away from landmarks such as Royal Palace, National Museum and the spectacular view along Tonle Sap and Mekong rivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Silver River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing