We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than Expected” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Silver River Hotel
Ranked #55 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
singapore
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Better than Expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

I stayed 6 nights at this hotel and it turned out to be a really pleasant experience. The Hotel is located on a really busy, touristy strip with lots of restaurants, cafes, marts, massage parlours, pubs, etc. So you are never at a loss about what to do if you want to just step out and have a good time in the evening. The majestic Royal Palace, Riverside and National Museum are also within walking distance.

I had a double room on the fourth floor and was surprised by popping sounds one evening only to draw back my curtain and discover that I had a fantastic view of a half an hour display of spectacular fireworks. I later found out that it was Commemoration Day of King Norodom Sihanouk. The rooms and bathrooms are sparkling clean and well-maintained. Clean towels, free toiletries and drinking water bottles were provided daily. When requested, they even provided me with an extra bottle of drinking water free of charge. Aircon was super strong and effective, just the way I like it.

I also made use of the free wifi throughout the hotel and the speed was excellent. In fact, the supermarts and restaurants on that street also supplied me with free wifi whenever I requested for it. Service was always prompt. I had a slight problem with the wardrobe in my room and let them know. They immediately sent someone to fix it and the problem was resolved within 5 minutes. Just note that there aren't any choices for vegetarians in terms of food. And they don't have a gym or a swimming pool.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krishti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    254
    91
    14
    10
See reviews for
37
174
132
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
152 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Great hotel in a good location near to Royal Palace/Silver Pagoda, the Old Market, nNational Museum.

We had a lovely room on the 4th floor right at the back, very quiet. It was very clean and comfortable with good a/c. Staff always smelling and friendly; eager to help. The only slight letdown was the quality and selection of the buffet breakfast though we discovered on our last day they would cook scrambled eggs freshly for us.

Room Tip: Anywhere back from the street as there are a few noisy bars nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandRKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed here on three separate occasions ($40/night) during our visit to Cambodia - we were even upgraded to a suite the third stay!

Deluxe Double room was lovely with a spacious balcony complete with table and chairs overlooking Street 172.

Suite room was even nicer with an upstairs bedroom and bathroom, and downstairs bedroom and bathroom, both with balconies - the top one does in fact offer a view to the river, the neaby National Museum and the Royal Palace complex.

Bedrooms and bathrooms are extremely clean with plenty of room and hot water, fresh towels each day and toiletries provided.
Complimentary bottled drinking water every day. My reservation did however mention a complimentary welcome drink voucher but we never received this.
Free Wi-Fi all over the hotel with a good strong signal.
Massage is offered at a discounted rate - I think a Khmer Massage was $5 for 1 hour.
Breakfast included in the price - a good selection and you may order eggs how you want them.
Staff were very helpful, cheery and always busy - arranged our forward bus tickets and a tuk tuk day trip to the Killing Fields, S21 and Russian Market - $18.
Within ten minutes walking distance to the Riverside area but we tended to stay local - there are plenty of bars and restaurants in Street 172 to keep you entertained at a much lower price.
Air-conditioned car collected us from the airport for $10.

I would definitely stay at this lovely hotel again.

Room Tip: Another reviewer has complained about the rooms at the front overlooking the "dirty ugly street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwi_dude_39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Spent 3 nights in this hotel, the service was great, the location excellent and the facilities all we required. The only slightly critical comment is the breakfast is very ordinary.

However I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Phnom Pen.

Room Tip: Select a room with a balcony, they are light and more interesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomuPhuket_Thailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore River, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stayed in this hotel for a night as i need to take an early bus going to SR the next day. Hotel is clean, room got all the things you need from toothbrush, soaps and even razor blade! I got a room on the 5th floor and the wi-fi is still strong. Hotel staffs are very friendly. Every time I see them, they are always smiling. They also arranged for my transfer from the airport to the hotel. They sent me an aircon taxi which is very nice because it is too humid outside. Major sights are also nearby. The hotel is about 15 mins away from the royal palace, museum and silver pagoda. Make sure to go there early as they close by 5pm. Only thing i had issue with is their aircon. At times it feels like it becomes idle and does not blow cool air much. This last for few minutes though then goes back to life again after some time :).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonalostica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

I felt treated well at the Silver River. The staff is not that good at speaking english, but hey make up for that with their kind attitude. And the location is fine. Str 172 is rich in restaurants and bars and within walking distance to the Sisowat.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KnowWhereMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoi An
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Have stayed here twice (Jan 2012 & Sept 2013). Would definitely stay again. Clean comfortable rooms, friendly and helpful staff and conveniently about a 10 minute walk from the palace. Breakfast is not extensive but more than adequate and included in the room rate. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance as is the riverside.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claude T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Angkor International Hotel
Angkor International Hotel
#58 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mito Hotel
Mito Hotel
#62 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
2.4 mi away
New Midtown Hotel
New Midtown Hotel
#41 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#33 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bougainvillier Hotel
Bougainvillier Hotel
#66 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
#81 of 274 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver River Hotel

Property: Silver River Hotel
Address: #37, Street# 172, Sangkat Chey Chumneas | Khan Daun Penh (Phsar Kandal), Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and enjoy the royal treatment at Silver River Hotel located in a bustling downtown called Kandal Market, where business and leisure travelers always make their first choice of the area for their hotels. Silver River Hotel is just a walk away from landmarks such as Royal Palace, National Museum and the spectacular view along Tonle Sap and Mekong rivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Silver River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing