We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make it your local!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Local - Riverside
Ranked #120 of 322 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Make it your local!!”
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Spent a lovely four nights here. Rooms are super clean and spacious, fan and air con worked well and best of all its located about 30metres from the riverside which is host to many different eateries, bars etc. Central markets are also only ten minute walk. Food is also really good. Breakfast unfortunately not complimentary. Mika, the owner, is very helpful and friendly. Same goes for the other staff. If I was to visit PP again I'll certainly stay here again

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    15
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
2
20
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Myself and my partner have stayed 3 nights and have booked one more in advance. Mica (owner) is very helpful and friendly. The location is fantastic, right next to the river and many many restaurants and bars. I recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Nice place to stay. It is a small hotel, and the owner Mika is involved with the tourists staying there. Making sure they can get a decent driver for a tour around phnom penh or arranging bus tours to Ankor with the ibis company (good!). The only strange thing is that you have to ask the staff to clean your room (they do not do it by themselves). But if you ask them they do it very thoroughly. Because it is a small hotel there aren't many people walking in and out. Which is a pity. A bit more people would make it more than just a good place to stay but also a nice place to hang around the bar. There is enough room for more rooms so time to start building Mika!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CelineVDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I stayed eight marvelous nights in Loca Riverside in the middle of October. Nice stuff - they looked more like a family than persons who are working there. Clean, cosy and safe rooms. Rooms were well cleaned every day.
Local Riverside is stayed next to river :) and only 50 meters from the living and wonderful market area.
I really do recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ismo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I have been holidaying in Phnom Penh and moved from where I was staying to the Local and meet Mika who has taken over the guesthouse in July. The rooms [I stayed in the balcony] and as with all the rooms they have been renovated, were clean and serviced to a high level daily. It covered all the things that I required in a room, 20 meters from Riverside, in room safe, cold air-conditioning, a good fridge. The staff were polite and could not do enough for me, the restaurant food is good. An imported steak is $12.00 but you get what you pay for excellent quality.
As I visit PP regularly I have my new home for future visits. Well done to Mika and his staff.

AussieT

Room Tip: I came in person to The local Riverside and look at the room myself, however with the high season co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londra, Regno Unito
Level Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

I spent 4 nights in this cosy and friendly guesthouse and I've really enjoyed my time here. The price for a double room is 18$ but I menaged to have a little discount as I spent 4 nights.
They clean the rooms every day, which is not so common in Asia. Bedsheets and towels are clean too. The double bedroom is equipped with bath and shower (which comes with a big plate!), air con, fan, water, kettle and a safe, which was broken but it was fixed the same day. Meals are available as well but there are cheaper options around, however if you want to be safe and don't take a chance, eat here: they use filtered water to wash the vegetables and cook. The staff is really friendly and always happy to reply to any question. I would definitely come back

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank laurasuper79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights for my visit to PP. It was a very nice place to stay. Room and washroom are very clean.

I stayed in the middle room without any windows. The toilet is inside the room. It will be better if the toilet wall is build to the top to separate the room and toilet so that the air and sound from the toilet will reach into the room.

The location of the guesthouse is excellent. Just next to the riverside, restaurants can easily find just a few steps away.

Room Tip: Ask the GH if you need tuktuk service, they have some familiar good and safe tuk tuk driver can brin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BP_MOk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Paragon Hotel
Paragon Hotel
#148 of 267 in Phnom Penh
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cozyna Hotel
Cozyna Hotel
#130 of 267 in Phnom Penh
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tonle Khmer Guesthouse
Tonle Khmer Guesthouse
#79 of 322 in Phnom Penh
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Golden River Palace Guesthouse
Golden River Palace Guesthouse
#153 of 322 in Phnom Penh
68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Hibiscus Hotel
Red Hibiscus Hotel
#41 of 322 in Phnom Penh
44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nordic House
Nordic House
#95 of 322 in Phnom Penh
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Local - Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Local - Riverside

Property: The Local - Riverside
Address: 8 Street 144 Riverside, Phnom Penh 023, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 322 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Local - Riverside 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Local Riverside Guesthouse/bar/restaurant is conveniently located at Phnom Penh's popular riverside area (bars, restaurants, souvenir shops, markets, nightlife, parks) and is within walking distance to most major attractions in Phnom Penh- 5 minutes walk to The Royal Palace, National Museum, Silver Pagoda, Wat Phnom, Central Market and more... Only a 5 minute walk to the Night Market. Restaurant serves excellent Western and Khmer food and the bar serves coffee, tea, fabulous cocktails, draft beer, wine and all soft drinks and juices. The second level has three recently renovated (2011) guesthouse rooms complete with flat screen TVs, bathtubs, in room electronic safe, mini fridge, king sized or twin beds- fast wifi and room service is available. All rooms available to rent per night or on a short-term basis. Downstairs is also a lounge area with two 42" flat-TV's and 2m wide screen connected to cable TV and internet + music performance space with guitar and anyone is welcome to grab an instrument and have a go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Local - Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Local 2 Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing