We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure why this place rated so high?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Local - Riverside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Local - Riverside
Ranked #138 of 332 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not sure why this place rated so high?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

If I had to come back to this city, I wouldn't stay here. The room was OK - it had a small fridge and ac - but didn't have any windows. And the guesthouse just didn't seem very welcoming, or busy. The bar downstairs is a bit sleazy, but maybe that's the norm for phnom penh, especially near the river. We booked in bc we saw it had really good ratings on trip advisor, and while the stay wasn't exactly terrible, if we had a do-over I would look elsewhere.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mylesonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    14
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
2
20
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pirkkala, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

The hotel is located next to the riverfront (where everything happens). The most important sightseeing spots, the Silver pagoda, the Royal Palace and Wat Ounalum is at walking distance. The owner Mika greeted us at the door and made us immediately feel welcomed. We had learned by tripadvisor he was Finnish too, so thought staying the first couple of nights in the country at his place we could more easily ask him useful advice. (His English is good too) Stayed in the penthouse, which would have been excellent if not the building next door had been torn down a month earlier! The side of the balcony was missing, with an immediate drop three storeys down! Also had to endure sounds of renovation as a new building is being built atm. This will however not last forever and Mika will be able to to decorate the rooftop balcony again. Apart from that, excellent location, cheap, comfy, helpful staff! Would recommend

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mika S, Owner at The Local - Riverside, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Hi and thank's for nice review. Penthouse terrace has a new, nice and safe wall and noise of constructions do not disturb us anymore. Thank you for staying here, it was a pleasure:) Br, Mika.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

This is the second time we went here. And this is for a reason. Really good decorated rooms. Best shower I've ever had! Beds are comfortable and you've everything you need. You should try the food :-)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyvha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

After being scammed into our first night bin PP we walked into the Local and got the room for the next. Owner Mica is a decent man and open for arguments. We arrived next day and found the doors closed at 8 a.m. but the barkeeper opened us on using the doorbell so we could leave the luggage in the room. The safe and lockable drawer nice. High ceiling makes the room feel bigger. No window meant: absolute silence... Except for the neighbours, and as I'm overly sensitive to snoring, I still had to get my earplugs. You can also hear every move in the bath. Speaking of it: big plus for cleanliness, bathtub, huge showerhead and enough hot water pressure to make use of all.

Mica also tried to help us organise the onward trip to the Mekong Delta, but this showed he is still new to the business. But when we then had to suddenly cancel the second night, he did not complain the least.

Anyway, good and reliable place to stay. Thx.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Takuro K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Spent a lovely four nights here. Rooms are super clean and spacious, fan and air con worked well and best of all its located about 30metres from the riverside which is host to many different eateries, bars etc. Central markets are also only ten minute walk. Food is also really good. Breakfast unfortunately not complimentary. Mika, the owner, is very helpful and friendly. Same goes for the other staff. If I was to visit PP again I'll certainly stay here again

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Myself and my partner have stayed 3 nights and have booked one more in advance. Mica (owner) is very helpful and friendly. The location is fantastic, right next to the river and many many restaurants and bars. I recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Nice place to stay. It is a small hotel, and the owner Mika is involved with the tourists staying there. Making sure they can get a decent driver for a tour around phnom penh or arranging bus tours to Ankor with the ibis company (good!). The only strange thing is that you have to ask the staff to clean your room (they do not do it by themselves). But if you ask them they do it very thoroughly. Because it is a small hotel there aren't many people walking in and out. Which is a pity. A bit more people would make it more than just a good place to stay but also a nice place to hang around the bar. There is enough room for more rooms so time to start building Mika!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CelineVDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
Le Grand Mekong
Le Grand Mekong
#102 of 274 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paragon Hotel
Paragon Hotel
#132 of 274 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bougainvillier Hotel
Bougainvillier Hotel
#63 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lux Riverside Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Golden River Palace Guesthouse
Golden River Palace Guesthouse
#162 of 332 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaya Inn
Jaya Inn
#61 of 332 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Local - Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Local - Riverside

Property: The Local - Riverside
Address: 8 Street 144 Riverside, Phnom Penh 023, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 332 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Local - Riverside 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Local Riverside Guesthouse/bar/restaurant is conveniently located at Phnom Penh's popular riverside area (bars, restaurants, souvenir shops, markets, nightlife, parks) and is within walking distance to most major attractions in Phnom Penh- 5 minutes walk to The Royal Palace, National Museum, Silver Pagoda, Wat Phnom, Central Market and more... Only a 5 minute walk to the Night Market. Restaurant serves excellent Western and Khmer food and the bar serves coffee, tea, fabulous cocktails, draft beer, wine and all soft drinks and juices. The second level has three recently renovated (2011) guesthouse rooms complete with flat screen TVs, bathtubs, in room electronic safe, mini fridge, king sized or twin beds- fast wifi and room service is available. All rooms available to rent per night or on a short-term basis. Downstairs is also a lounge area with two 42" flat-TV's and 2m wide screen connected to cable TV and internet + music performance space with guitar and anyone is welcome to grab an instrument and have a go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your The Local - Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Local 2 Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing