We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great guesthouse on nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Local - Riverside
Ranked #128 of 334 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed 4 nights in this guesthouse and we had a really good time there. Beside the fact that the cheapest room has no window it's a nice one with good beds, airco and a good shower.
The riverside with nice restaurants and bars is around the corner.
The Blue Pumpkin has good breakfast as the guesthouse does't serve this.
Mika, the Finnish owner, is a really really nice guy. He gave us tips about Phnom Penh and tells about Cambodia. He and his girlfriend made Phnom Penh unforgetable for us!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Yvet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here for the rest of our trip for 3 days. It was a nice place to stay and relax. The room is quite small but clean and nice. The staffs were friendly to guide how to find good local restaurants. Good location, Just 10 minutes walk from Night Market, the Royal Palace, national Museum…We bought some special gifts from Central Market to keep unforgettable experience in Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank demetrius g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Great value in Phnom Penh. It's what you would expect from a room at this price. A/C works fine. Shower works fine. Located in the heart of all the tourist activities. The owner is super friendly. If you're expecting more, then pay more somewhere else. If you're looking to spend a few nights close to nightlife, river, tourist areas and markets at a good price, then stay here. Accidentally booked the wrong nights and showed up unexpected. Owner took care of it without any problems. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mybangkoklife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The location was perfect (around the corner of the Royal Palace and the National Museum). The owner was a very, very friendly guy. It was very clean and really nicely furnished. It was the best shower and sleep I had in weeks. I don't think you'll find another place on a location like this in Phnom Phen which is so nice for this price.
Rooms without the balcony don't have a window, but it's actually really nice, you don't hear the noise of the streets of Phnom Phen and it is nice and dark. There's good ventilation so for that you don't need the window.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emilie468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed here one night during a transfer in Phnom Penh. The owner is really nice and has great suggestions for activities and he also helps you with arranging tuktuk's, tickets etc. The location is fine. The street it's located in is filled with bars and hostels, but it's close to the main street and the river, which is very nice. The rooms are quite oke, also nothing special. We had a room with a bath, but I wouldn't go in because it was dirty. The 'double bed' were actually two single beds pushed together. I wouldn't go here if you plan to stay for a longer time. One night was enough for us.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GerwinKoppelaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed only 3 nights and booked a room with no window, nice and clean, so quiet to sleep as we really were looking for. Nice shower, really cooling air con... This place seems to have nice guests all the time as we talked with regular customers in the bar. Mica, the owner helped us a lot, thank you for that! He's truly gent, with lot of charisma (+handsome guy) is a big bonus. All major sight seeings are close as Sisowath Squae - Riverside, Royal Palace etc. We got excellent advise from the owner about local restaurants too. The Local's Bar is nice, try Margarita's:). A tip, If you want to see The Killing Field's, ask Mica or staff to arrange a Tuk Tuk for you. Definitely "we'll be back"!

Room Tip: When you make a booking, look the pictures and read room description!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Hi

Average bar style type place run by a pleasant Finnish guy. Most customers sat on terrace.Bar itself quiet.Area nothing special.Far more exciting and morw interesting bars on the waterfront. Some of the rooms were out of action and we couldn't look at others as they were occupied.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mister K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
#79 of 274 in Phnom Penh
199 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riverside Suites
Riverside Suites
#63 of 334 in Phnom Penh
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nordic House
Nordic House
#85 of 334 in Phnom Penh
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tonle Khmer Guesthouse
Tonle Khmer Guesthouse
#91 of 334 in Phnom Penh
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Velkommen Guesthouse
Velkommen Guesthouse
#11 of 334 in Phnom Penh
331 reviews
0.4 mi away
Good Morning Guesthouse
Good Morning Guesthouse
#18 of 334 in Phnom Penh
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Local - Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Local - Riverside

Address: 8 Street 144 Riverside, Phnom Penh 023, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 334 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range: £8 - £18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Local - Riverside 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Local Riverside Guesthouse/bar/restaurant is conveniently located at Phnom Penh's popular riverside area (bars, restaurants, souvenir shops, markets, nightlife, parks) and is within walking distance to most major attractions in Phnom Penh- 5 minutes walk to The Royal Palace, National Museum, Silver Pagoda, Wat Phnom, Central Market and more... Only a 5 minute walk to the Night Market. Restaurant serves excellent Western and Khmer food and the bar serves coffee, tea, fabulous cocktails, draft beer, wine and all soft drinks and juices. The second level has three recently renovated (2011) guesthouse rooms complete with flat screen TVs, bathtubs, in room electronic safe, mini fridge, king sized or twin beds- fast wifi and room service is available. All rooms available to rent per night or on a short-term basis. Downstairs is also a lounge area with two 42" flat-TV's and 2m wide screen connected to cable TV and internet + music performance space with guitar and anyone is welcome to grab an instrument and have a go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Local - Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Local 2 Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing