We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to meet people, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Eighty8 Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good place to meet people, good value”
Reviewed 25 November 2012

This is a good place for solo travellers. The restaurant area downstairs always has a few people milling about, so it's very easy to make friends. There is a pool table and a swimming pool, and a party every Friday night, so plenty of oppotunity to make friends. The dorms are also very clean and quite spacious, with ensuite bathrooms. I stayed in the female dorm, 6 beds, one bathroom, and it was great, good AC and clean. The staff are also very friendly and are able to help you with anything you need, including giving you many options for onward travel (it's about $1-2 cheap if you go to the bus station and buy your tickets), laundry service and helping you to organise your Vietnamese visa. The only problem is the tuk tuk drivers outside, constantly there and waiting for you. If you choose to go with one of them, bargain hard, because they do charge a bit more than other drivers. Pay no more than $15 for the Killing fields and prison (one girl was quoted $25!), and no more than $2 (you can sometimes get it down to $1) for a short ride anywhere in town.

It's also within walking distance to many sights around Phnom Penh, such as the markets, temples and palace. Overall a great place to stay to meet people

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    218
    88
    29
    26
See reviews for
17
151
174
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Pinas, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Good place to stay, but do check where you end up. The room above the bar is certainly not a good idea to take. The dormitory look good, depends who the other guests are of course. A shared bathroom isn't so much of a good idea for the lets say elderly guests unless you hate washing anyway. The food is so-so and a bit overpriced. Go out for food (please, so many better places to eat, also western food) The swimming pool, ah well, go to the beach in other place. Huge bathroom in several rooms, Wifi not every available and guys, find another keyword. this is stupid.

Room Tip: don't take the room above the bar. unless the music choice of the bar happens to be yours
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shawbaws, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
All future guests the room above the bar is the cheapest room at $5 a night. Our prices range from $5 - $7 for dorms, and yes these are shared bathrooms, with A/C, fans and hot showers.

All private rooms come with on suite, these range from $18 - 24.

We have rooms that suit all budgets.

The password changes weekly for our wifi and we like to have fun with it, so future guests be ready for a smile when you get the wifi password!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

I passed one week at this hostel, the staff are really friendly and helpful. Sometimes you can play with us at pool. I have slept on a dormitory, cleanliness are good and food exelent. Try the malaysian meal "Me Goreen".
Good value for money and swimmingpool!! Don t hesitate it is the place to stay when you are in Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Laure V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karratha, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

A friend booked this hostel for us on the night of our arrival into Phnom Penh airport. We stayed here one night. There is no point in sharing a room in asia when having a private room to yourself and your friends is the same price. Nothing about this place stood out to me. I arrived late at night and left before lunch the next day.

Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Globe1Trotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2012

The hostel is good, nice and clean and at a good location. Walking distance from the river and all the popular bars and restaurants. The food and drinks are a bit pricy and you cannot bring anything to eat or drink from outside. Not in the rooms nor in the common room. Also didn't like the hostel staff. Everyday they would ask us where we were going and tried to make us book any of their trips. I want some peace an quiet in the hostel, especially in a busy and hectic place like phnom penh!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruben s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2012

This is one of the worst hostels I stayed in. The pool lookes nice on pictures but the water is just dirty. The aircon in the dorm didnt cool, so it was hot and dump there. Internet almost rarely works properly and stuff dont speak good English so its really hard to communicate.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karitravell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shawbaws, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Thanks for the feedback!

How long did you stay here at 88? The pool is maintained on a daily basis, we have 2 pumps which are only ment to run for 12 hrs a day but we actually run them 24hrs a day to keep the water in the pool clean and safe for swimming. Occasionally the company we employ to maintain the pool add too much chlorine which clouds the water for a day max!

You were in a dorm, you should have got the remote and turned the temp down to the level you wanted, and hope the other guests are ok. Never had a problem with this before. I would assume that someone else in your room has turned the temp up to their comfort level.

The "stuff'" speak good English, but do remember that its a second language, so you have to be slow with spoken English and they understand almost 100%! Please remember Cambodia is a third world country with low levels of education.

"Stuff", I am assuming you mean "staff"! Communication!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

I have to say the overall layout and concept of the hostel is good. Having a pool is a nice unique feature, and the rooms are some of the most spacious I've seen. The staff are great, and very friendly and empathetic, regularly checking if you're ok. With free wifi, hot showers, and a nice social area, this place I'm sure has the potential for people to have a great time here...

... as long as you're in the company of decent guests. I had the unfortunate experience of being woken up several times as guests were stumbling in from the bar downstairs. This would be fine, and understandable in a shared room, had it not been for 3 extremely disrespectful guests who decided to carry on their party in the room for more than an hour at 3am. Finally, after snapping, and not having them quiet down when asked, I went to speak to management, who's offer was to sleep in another room in the hostel. I suppose this would be fine, if it didn't involve having to disturb yet another room of guests, which I had expressed as a concern initially. Because they had decided to quiet down when I went to get management, nothing was even said to them. Considering a bar's patrons are the bar's responsibility, and a hotel's patrons are also a hotel's responsibility, I don't see how it can be deemed acceptable to not have a common 'respect' etiquette in place, such as 'noise levels after midnight'...

Of course the guests behaviour does not reflect the hostel's staff or amenities, merely their policy for enforcing a common respect to their guests. I'm sure had I stayed a different night, or in a different room - sans jerks - I would have had a great experience.

My only other observation, which I've already seen brought up in here, is the over priced food served. The hotel has tried defending the prices to 'western standards of cooking, ingredients and preparation' - though anyone who has been in SE Asia before would know that this is merely an excuse. You can find similar quality food, prepared in a clean way, which will not make you sick, at nearly half the price around Phnom Penh. Being a western run hostel, it's not a surprise that they insist western prices on their food.

I would consider staying here again, though I've now found a much cheaper hostel with equal levels of service and a great social area on the rooftop. The only differences - no pool, cheaper food, and a better location.

Room Tip: I'd love to say choose a room without jerks, but clearly it's a hostel and that's luck o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WhereSidewalksEnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shawbaws, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Great feedback, thank you.

You make one point regarding our food prices: Again let me add that our choice to follow western food standards is not an excuse to make the prices higher.

We purchase meat from a butcher, who refrigerates the meat, and not from the local market.
Sterilized water, as opposed to tap water.
Fresh fish from farm, not the polluted river.

As you will have noticed as well, we serve western portions of food, ie much bigger than local portions.

we have about a $1 to $2 premium price over local food, this cannot be avoided due to the western standards we demand.

$4 for a big burger, chips and a salad is still great value for money.
$4 for a big portion of fish and chips. Farmed fish, safe meat, potato, expensive!

These are great value dishes.

Thanks again for the great feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
1.1 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 270 in Phnom Penh
1,639 reviews
1.4 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 270 in Phnom Penh
1,154 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 270 in Phnom Penh
2,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Billabong Hostel
Billabong Hostel
#4 of 243 in Phnom Penh
1,025 reviews
0.9 mi away
SLA Boutique Hostel
SLA Boutique Hostel
#3 of 243 in Phnom Penh
242 reviews
0.5 mi away
One Stop Hostel
One Stop Hostel
#9 of 243 in Phnom Penh
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eighty8 Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eighty8 Backpackers

Property: Eighty8 Backpackers
Address: 88 Street | Street 88, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 243 Speciality Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best hostel in the city complete with a swimming pool and now including an amazing FREE breakfast buffet per person. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Eighty8 Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
88 Backpackers
Eighty8 Backpackers Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing