We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eighty8 Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed at the 88 twice..our first stop was before heading to Siem Reap and the beaches, and then we loved it so much we made sure to stay when we passed back through Phnom Penh. Great looking guesthouse, like a massive white ibiza villa! The atmosphere in the big downstairs bar-restaurant-communal area was great with lovely little pool. Lush cocktails which were great value, I could drink passionfruit spritzers all afternoon long.

We had a double private room which was good for the price, air con, decent size and nice and light, and kept clean. Note the curtain on the bathroom! Staff were sweet and helpful. The 2nd visit we were there for the First Friday pool party which was awesome fun with a great crowd and DJs playing. The next day it was quiet again and it was sooo nice to be able to chill and recover by the swimming pool! Magic. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaL_8111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shawbaws, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

thanks for the great feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (749)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

510 - 516 of 749 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

We only intended to stay here for 1 night before heading up to Siem Reap, but decided to stay for a few more days as it is a perfect sanctuary in the hot city.

The common area is fantastic with lots of comfy seating and ample space relax in, plus the swimming pool is where you want to be at happy hour.

The rooms are basic, but really you would be mad to be spending any time in them with the common space downstairs.

The first friday party, i think its once a month, and not every weekend, was amazing, lots of cool people turned up to party, great great atmosphere and we managed by the hostel.

Room Tip: spend your time in the common area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laninlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shawbaws, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

We are glad you stayed longer than expected

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Nice hostel by day with pool, huge social area and bar. The wi-fi is ok.

However, Friday and Saturday nights this is a party hostel. At 9pm they double the prices, put ice in the beer and let in outsiders, all of whom were high as kites. The music is louder than any party would need and lying in bed you feel every beat until 3.30 in the morning when it was switched off. For our 6.30 wake up for an early bus this was hell.

We had unfortunate room mates who smashed in drunk, spilled drinks on my bag and preceded to have sex till I threw them out. I know this is not the hostels fault but they shouldn't let outsiders go back to hostel rooms when a large party like that is on. They should also at least turn the music down a bit at 12!

I understand its a party hostel, but if it is, learn to manage the guests/outsiders.

Food is overpriced for the smallest portions and pretty bad.

When booking a bus out, not only did they DOUBLE the price of the bus but told us to be ready an hour before departure. When we got up in the morning the staff didn't know when we would be picked up, earliest half an hour before departure. Shame, a friendly hostel but looking to rip you off at every corner.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Will A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This is what a backpackers should be. It has great dorm rooms, basic but clean. The common area is amazing, i spent far to long just hanging about the pool drinking beer and making new friends.

Do any more backpackers come with pools?

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimbobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shawbaws, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Clean room and private bathroom. Lovely friendly staff. The bar food is very good. Nice out door seating by the pool to relax in. Would be sure to come back and stay again.

The only gripe we have is the laundry price. It cost me $11 for one load. I just washed the same load again here in Siem Riep for $4.5. You are very over priced. We are now coming to the end of our trip having been to 6 different places in Cambodia and all are priced from 80 cent a kg to $1 a kg.

We will cmoe stay again but we'll be sure to do our laundry else where.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shawbaws, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

we machine wash the laundry, you can for a lot cheaper get your laundry hand washed next door.

Safe travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

The common area is really beautiful as well is the pool. The bar has some high class spirits at reasonable prices. During happy hours (until 9pm) you can get beer for 1$. After that it is 1,25$. The food is good as well. Nothing really special though. The staff is kind and helpful. You can book a bust rip directly at the reception where there is a list with all the bus stations and costs behind. Also it is possible to book tours there.

I stayed in a 8 bed dorm with bathroom ensuite. The room itself is spacious and clean. However, it was located right above the bar area. Meaning, that it was really noisy!

Even though i would totally recommend this hostel, do not book a room right above the bar area! You'll regret it.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank MeisterMumpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shawbaws, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

The reviewer booked the cheapest dorm room called 'Dorm above the bar', spent a bit more and you move up a floor away from all the bar noise :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed in June 2013. Reasonable price for absolutely amazing staff, big room (we had a private) and unbelievable food! The pool was also really great and we met some cool people in the common area. I would 100% recommend to stay here if ever in Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shawbaws, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Please do recommend :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.8 mi away
Billabong Hostel
Billabong Hostel
#3 of 257 in Phnom Penh
1,080 reviews
0.9 mi away
SLA Boutique Hostel
SLA Boutique Hostel
#4 of 257 in Phnom Penh
257 reviews
1.9 mi away
Envoy Hostel and Tours
Envoy Hostel and Tours
#6 of 257 in Phnom Penh
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Top Banana Guesthouse
Top Banana Guesthouse
#7 of 257 in Phnom Penh
413 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aura Thematic Hostel
Aura Thematic Hostel
#23 of 257 in Phnom Penh
214 reviews
1.3 mi away
Base Villa
Base Villa
#10 of 257 in Phnom Penh
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eighty8 Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eighty8 Backpackers

Address: 88 Street | Street 88, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 257 Speciality Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range: £8 - £19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best hostel in the city complete with a swimming pool and including an amazing FREE breakfast buffet for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Eighty8 Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
88 Backpackers
Eighty8 Backpackers Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing