We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE IT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eighty8 Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Hostels dont get much better than this...

We felt safe, well looked after, comfy, entertained, the pool is fantastic, and its all wrapped in a beautiful French colonial building. Great atmosphere, great spot to meet other flashpackers.

Will stay again.

Room Tip: Room 13 has windows all the way round.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RitchieRich123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shawbaws, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

:-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (730)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

491 - 497 of 731 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

This has got to be in the top 3 hostels I have ever stayed at in SE Asia.

The rooms are sparse, but well cleaned and the beds are huge. The building is big and airy with lots of balcony space upstairs to sit on and relax.

Downstairs the common area is incredible, it looks stunning, big big wide open spaces, its naturally cool due to the 2 floors of building above you. The swimming pool is well maintained and sets of the 'oasis' feel in the city perfectly.

We have read people complaining about the cost of services, we have no complaints, our washing while expensive came back smelling lovely, it was all folded and ironed, inc the underwear. We made the mistake of not using 88 visa services which came back to bite us in the bum, it cost way more to get to and from the Vietnamese embassy than the extra 88 charged for the service.

Its definitely not the cheapest here, but everything works, we felt safe and well taken care of.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellsylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shawbaws, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Exactly what we think as well :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This is a complete get money out of people every way they can type joint. It is a complete business in every element. You are there to spend money, not have a vacation. I was pretty disappointed in the place. I actually watch the manager straight up lie to people across the cost of things in Phnom Penh. Not cool for me.

However, this is Cambodia, a nation known for con artists.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shawbaws, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Your comments on the people of Cambodia being known as con artists is extremely disrespectful to the country and its wonderful people. You make such a generalization of the Cambodian nation when failing, clearly, to understanding the history, culture and daily struggles of its people.

We at 88 are very proud of our Cambodian team, they are always smiling and willing to help and when you consider their backgrounds and standards of education, this only compounds our love for them. We promote empowerment for women in the work place and support numerous local and national charities.
We are however, NOT a charity ourselves and are in fact a business, committed to the long-term development and support of our team, their families and our Cambodian business partners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed at the 88 twice..our first stop was before heading to Siem Reap and the beaches, and then we loved it so much we made sure to stay when we passed back through Phnom Penh. Great looking guesthouse, like a massive white ibiza villa! The atmosphere in the big downstairs bar-restaurant-communal area was great with lovely little pool. Lush cocktails which were great value, I could drink passionfruit spritzers all afternoon long.

We had a double private room which was good for the price, air con, decent size and nice and light, and kept clean. Note the curtain on the bathroom! Staff were sweet and helpful. The 2nd visit we were there for the First Friday pool party which was awesome fun with a great crowd and DJs playing. The next day it was quiet again and it was sooo nice to be able to chill and recover by the swimming pool! Magic. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaL_8111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shawbaws, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

thanks for the great feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We only intended to stay here for 1 night before heading up to Siem Reap, but decided to stay for a few more days as it is a perfect sanctuary in the hot city.

The common area is fantastic with lots of comfy seating and ample space relax in, plus the swimming pool is where you want to be at happy hour.

The rooms are basic, but really you would be mad to be spending any time in them with the common space downstairs.

The first friday party, i think its once a month, and not every weekend, was amazing, lots of cool people turned up to party, great great atmosphere and we managed by the hostel.

Room Tip: spend your time in the common area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laninlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shawbaws, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

We are glad you stayed longer than expected

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Nice hostel by day with pool, huge social area and bar. The wi-fi is ok.

However, Friday and Saturday nights this is a party hostel. At 9pm they double the prices, put ice in the beer and let in outsiders, all of whom were high as kites. The music is louder than any party would need and lying in bed you feel every beat until 3.30 in the morning when it was switched off. For our 6.30 wake up for an early bus this was hell.

We had unfortunate room mates who smashed in drunk, spilled drinks on my bag and preceded to have sex till I threw them out. I know this is not the hostels fault but they shouldn't let outsiders go back to hostel rooms when a large party like that is on. They should also at least turn the music down a bit at 12!

I understand its a party hostel, but if it is, learn to manage the guests/outsiders.

Food is overpriced for the smallest portions and pretty bad.

When booking a bus out, not only did they DOUBLE the price of the bus but told us to be ready an hour before departure. When we got up in the morning the staff didn't know when we would be picked up, earliest half an hour before departure. Shame, a friendly hostel but looking to rip you off at every corner.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Will A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This is what a backpackers should be. It has great dorm rooms, basic but clean. The common area is amazing, i spent far to long just hanging about the pool drinking beer and making new friends.

Do any more backpackers come with pools?

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimbobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shawbaws, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
1.1 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 277 in Phnom Penh
1,673 reviews
1.8 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#85 of 277 in Phnom Penh
376 reviews
0.8 mi away
Billabong Hostel
Billabong Hostel
#3 of 251 in Phnom Penh
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
SLA Boutique Hostel
SLA Boutique Hostel
#5 of 251 in Phnom Penh
251 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lovely Jubbly Villa
Lovely Jubbly Villa
#22 of 251 in Phnom Penh
292 reviews
1.6 mi away
Top Banana Guesthouse
Top Banana Guesthouse
#7 of 251 in Phnom Penh
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eighty8 Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eighty8 Backpackers

Address: 88 Street | Street 88, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 251 Speciality Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range: £8 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best hostel in the city complete with a swimming pool and including an amazing FREE breakfast buffet for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Eighty8 Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
88 Backpackers
Eighty8 Backpackers Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing